The difference between thrift stores and consignment shops

Consignment and antique shops are great, but they tend to be pricier because their collections are curated. These stores do all the hunting down and fixing up for you, and that service is offset via higher price tags. While consignment shops are more likely to have highly sought after antiques from pedigreed brands, you can still certainly find hidden gems at nearly any thrift store — you just may have to put in more effort to find what you’re looking for. Balance the odds of what you want being there with the price range you’re willing to pay when deciding where to shop.

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Getting what you need while giving back to the community

Many of your favorite causes run thrift shops to help fund their programs and services. Prime Thrift near Fair Park benefits American Veterans (AMVETS), Disabled American Veterans (DAV) and other local and national charitable organizations, while Out of the Closet in Oak Lawn benefits the AIDS Healthcare Foundation. Genesis Women’s Shelter, a nonprofit that provides safety, shelter and support for women and children who have experienced domestic violence, operates two thrift stores: one in Oak Lawn and another in South Oak Cliff. There are four Soul’s Harbor locations throughout the metroplex, with proceeds going toward its programs to help men break the cycle of homelessness and addiction. Some of these shops even have exclusive relationships with estate liquidators, increasing your chances of finding treasures among their wares.

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If you’re looking for a bit more than just decor, check out your local ReStore, which benefits Habitat for Humanity. There, you can find actual building materials, such as tile, cabinets, wood flooring, windows, doors or even vintage brick. In addition to these, they also have plenty of new and vintage home furnishings, large appliances and more. With 10 locations across D-FW, it’s a convenient alternative to big-box stores when shopping for your next home design project.

Choose your shopping days wisely

For donation-based thrift stores, Mondays and Tuesdays are typically the best days to shop, because most people tend to drop off items early in the week after spending the weekend cleaning. Signing up for emails is a great way to stay on top of the latest finds and deals, but there’s just no substitute for going in regularly. It works the same with searching online, whether it’s eBay, Craigslist, or Facebook Marketplace. “I’m a huge fan of Facebook Marketplace” says Whitney Marsh, an interior designer and business owner who furnished her Oak Cliff coffee shop, B-Side, with thrifted finds. “I also really love Souls Harbor in Waxahachie,” Marsh notes.

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Whitney Marsh, an interior designer and business owner, furnished her Oak Cliff coffee shop B-Side with thrifted finds, including this handmade tile she found for less than $100.(Whitney Marsh)

Have a strategy before you start shopping

There are two ways to go about hunting vintage pieces. Either have a piece or project in mind and know what you want to pay for it, or be able to spot a good deal. This can involve researching brands, pieces, and eras to be able to find your ideal mix of quality pieces that aren’t in demand. Marsh says that’s her strategy. “I know what I like, and I also know what brands are known for quality goods,” she explains. “I definitely have a style. I’m drawn toward leather furniture, solid wood, wool rugs and unique art.”

Marsh created this seating area using chairs thrifted from Soul’s Harbor and a unique brass ship she found through Facebook marketplace.(Whitney Marsh)

For example, you may love midcentury modern (MCM) pieces, but the popularity of decor from that era means there’s more demand, and unscrupulous sellers may assign that label to random items in order to get them to sell. You may find more success by researching some favorite brands or designers from the MCM era and looking for those specifically to avoid fake listings and inflated prices. Be aware that people will list items online with a famous brand name keyword to get more hits, such as saying a “Pottery Barn-style” rug or “MCM-style lamp.” If you’re shopping in person, don’t be afraid to ask the store’s staff about an item you’re looking for; they may have something similar that just hasn’t been put out yet. Or, they might be willing to take down your name and keep an eye out for items on your list — especially if you’re a regular customer.

Simple design rules to consider

In this area Marsh designed for a client, she paired a thrifted console with a modern lamp and abstract art to create balance.(Whitney Marsh)

Once you’ve found that unique piece you’ve been searching for, how do you style it? Thrifted pieces bring character into a space, but it is possible to have too much of a good thing, says Marsh. “I like to pair thrifted pieces with more high-end textiles. I love an old leather sofa that’s worn in against a very bold luxury wallpaper.” If you buy a well-worn piece and want to play up that lived-in aesthetic, try to surround it with items that are clean and modern. Too much rusticity can end up looking like neglect. Same goes for smaller items, such as pots, frames or books — space them out in designed vignettes throughout your home instead of clustering them all together. Also, keep in mind that pairing thrifted furniture is easier when they share some similar elements. For example, mismatched nightstands look more cohesive if they are roughly the same size and color.

Thrifting can be a way to save big, depending on when and where you shop, and what you’re looking for. “I definitely shop with a specific corner or space in mind. I also really only pull the trigger on things that seem like they’re good quality and the right price,” says Marsh. But if you’re patient, persistent and know what you want and what you’re willing to pay for it, it’s just a matter of time before you find it.

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Source: dallasnews.com

Apache is functioning normally

The number of people living paycheck to paycheck is rising, and not just among low-income workers. One-third of Americans with an annual income of $150,000 or more are struggling to pay their bills and have no money left over for savings. Reasons for this include high housing costs, a lack of financial literacy, and lifestyle creep.

So how do high earners end up living paycheck to paycheck, and what can you do to break the cycle?

What Does Living Paycheck to Paycheck Mean?

Most people expect to earn a “living wage.” The term refers to an income sufficient to afford life’s necessities, including housing, food, healthcare, and child care. That level of income should also allow you to save for an emergency, retirement and other goals to some degree.

When a person lives paycheck to paycheck, they can barely pay basic bills and have nothing left over to save for a rainy day. In the event of a pricey emergency — like a big medical bill or major car repairs — low-income families are financially wiped out.

High earners have more wiggle room. They have the ability to downsize their home or car and find other ways to cut back on expenses.

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Understanding the Paycheck-to-Paycheck Situation

According to a 2023 survey conducted by Payroll.org, 72% of Americans are living paycheck to paycheck, with Baby Boomers the hardest hit. When you are living paycheck to paycheck, as noted above, you have no ability to save. If you go into debt, you may not be able to afford to pay down the debt in a meaningful way.

According to research from MIT, the average living wage for a family of four (two working adults with two children) in the U.S. in 2022 was $25.02 per hour before taxes, or $104,077.70 per year. Compare that to the federal minimum wage of $7.25. Even in Washington, D.C., which has the highest minimum wage at $17, families make well below what is considered an adequate income.

But even households bringing in $200,000 or more say they feel the crunch. According to a Forbes study, 39% of those earning at least $200K described themselves as running out of money and not having anything left over after covering expenses. While they have the freedom to downsize their lifestyle, many people may not realize the precariousness of their financial situation until they’re locked into a mortgage and car payments they cannot afford.

Why Do Some Americans Live Paycheck to Paycheck?

The reasons why Americans live paycheck to paycheck vary. For lower-income workers, you can point to a higher cost of living and wages that have not kept up with inflation. For those with higher incomes, the issue is more about a lack of financial literacy and living beyond one’s means.

Rising Cost of Living

According to the Federal Reserve, 40% of adults spent more in 2022 than they did in 2021. They spent more because monthly expenses, such as rent, mortgage payments, food, and utilities had all increased.

Low Income

Low incomes are another reason some people live paycheck to paycheck. This is particularly the case for people who earn minimum wage or live in areas with a high cost of living.

Poor Budgeting

Another reason some people are living paycheck to paycheck is that they lack basic financial knowledge and budgeting skills. It’s easy to overspend and accumulate credit card debt, but difficult to pay down the principal and interest.
💡 Quick Tip: When you have questions about what you can and can’t afford, a free budget app can show you the answer. With no guilt trip or hourly fee.

Lifestyle Creep

Also known as lifestyle inflation, lifestyle creep happens when discretionary expenses increase as disposable income increases. In plain English: You get a raise and treat yourself to a new ’fit. And a fancy haircut. And a weekend at a charming B&B in the countryside.

Whether you can afford it is debatable. On one hand, you may be paying your credit card bill in full each month. On the other, you’re not saving or investing that money.

Factors Driving Financial Insecurity for Six-Figure Earners

Because of inflation, it is increasingly hard to buy a home, car, and other nice-to-haves. However, people may still expect and try to afford these things once they earn a certain amount. And if they have a taste for luxury items, they may struggle to maintain that standard of living and pay their bills.

It’s common for people to buy things on credit and then find that they cannot make the payments. Soon, they find themselves mired in high-interest debt.

How to Stop Living Paycheck to Paycheck

You can stop living paycheck to paycheck by living below your means rather than beyond your means. That requires earning more than you spend and saving the difference. The obvious steps to take are to increase your income and to live more frugally.

Once you have downsized your lifestyle, you can find relief quicker than you might think. And some changes may only be temporary. For example, you might have to work a part-time job for a short time until your debt is paid off.

Tips for Those Living Paycheck to Paycheck

Here are some changes you can make to get on the path to living below your means.

1. Create a Budget

You have to know where your money is going before you can cut back. By tracking your expenses, you can see what you are spending where. There are lots of ways to automate your finances and make it much easier to stay on top of things.

Then, create a budget where you subtract your non-negotiable expenses, or needs, from your net income. Non-negotiables are your housing costs, utilities, food, and transportation. Hopefully, you have some money left over to allocate to savings. If not, it’s time to look at how you can make your life more affordable.

Here are a few budget strategies to try:

•   Line-item budget

•   50/30/20 method

•   Envelope method

2. Cut Back on Nonessentials

Budgeting will help you find expenses that you can eliminate or reduce. For example, look closely at things that might seem insignificant. You are not necessarily bad with money just because you lose track of subscription services that you have forgotten about.

Be aware that a large cold brew on your way to work every morning can add up, and eating out or spending $30 on takeout each week adds up to over $1,500 annually. More consequential changes are downsizing your home, accepting a roommate temporarily, or finding a part-time gig to supplement your income.

3. Pay Off Your Debt

Debt is expensive. High-interest credit card debt and buy-now-pay-later (BNPL) schemes can eat up your income as you struggle to pay the minimum while the interest mounts up. Consider using a personal loan to consolidate debt and reduce the interest you’re paying.

4. Save for Emergencies

If you are living paycheck to paycheck, just one unexpected expense can cause you to spiral into debt. It’s important to have enough cash on hand. Once you have paid off your debt, start an emergency fund so that you don’t have to rely on credit if you experience an unexpected financial emergency. A rule of thumb is to have three to six months’ worth of expenses saved up.
💡 Quick Tip: Income, expenses, and life circumstances can change. Consider reviewing your budget a few times a year and making any adjustments if needed.

5. Hold Off on Big Purchases

While you are trying to reduce expenses and pay off debt, hold off on buying big ticket items. For example, forgo an expensive vacation for a year and start saving toward next year instead. As much as you might like new furniture or a new car, try to economize for a while until you are in a better place financially.

6. Ask for a Raise

Asking for a raise is not an easy thing to do when money is tight. However, it could be well worth it. According to Payscale.com, 70% of survey respondents who asked for a raise got one. You are in a particularly strong position if your skills are in demand and your employer values you.

The Takeaway

Many Americans are living paycheck to paycheck, even high earners. The reasons why are linked to inflation, lifestyle expectations, and the ease with which people fall into debt. The remedy is to live below your means, and that often means making sacrifices.

If debt is a concern, temporary steps such as downsizing while you pay off your debt or finding additional sources of income are options. Identify where your money goes and stick to a budget to reduce unnecessary spending. Also, getting rid of high-interest debt and cutting back on eating out and other nonessentials can free up a significant amount of cash each month.

Take control of your finances with SoFi. With our financial insights and credit score monitoring tools, you can view all of your accounts in one convenient dashboard. From there, you can see your various balances, spending breakdowns, and credit score. Plus you can easily set up budgets and discover valuable financial insights — all at no cost.

See exactly how your money comes and goes at a glance.

FAQ

Does living paycheck to paycheck mean you’re poor?

Living paycheck to paycheck does not necessarily mean that you are poor, but it does mean that you are living beyond your means. Even high earners can find themselves in a position where they are living paycheck to paycheck, often due to mounting debt and lifestyle creep.

Lifestyle creep is when people spend more whenever their income increases. According to a Forbes study, 39% of those earning $200,000 or more described themselves as running out of money and not having enough leftover to save after covering expenses.

Is living paycheck to paycheck stressful?

Yes. When you live paycheck to paycheck, you may constantly worry how you will afford to pay for an emergency. It’s important to have an emergency fund, so that you do not have to use a loan or high-interest credit card to pay for something unexpected.

How many americans are living paycheck to paycheck?

Close to 80% of Americans are living paycheck to paycheck and are struggling to meet their monthly bills, according to a 2023 survey by Payroll.org. That’s an increase of 6% from the previous year.


Photo credit: iStock/Jacob Wackerhausen

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Source: sofi.com

Apache is functioning normally

Tuesday marked the highest mortgage rates since November, capping a mini surge that began after last week’s inflation data. After a moderate improvement yesterday, rates moved back up toward (but thankfully not above) the recent highs today. 

Financial markets reacted to stronger economic data and comments from Federal Reserve officials regarding the possibility of no Fed rate cuts in 2024 and even a small chance of rate hikes.  Importantly, Fed members don’t see hikes as being likely and the economic data would have to accelerate enough to justify a change in strategy. 

We’re definitely not there yet, but we’re just as certainly not there when it comes to lower inflation readings required to validate the first rate cut.  At the March Fed meeting, officials still saw 3 cuts by the end of the year, albeit just barely.  Based on data that’s come out since then, markets are betting on only one cut.

Other news sources are running headlines regarding a big jump in mortgage rates to 7.10% based on Freddie Mac’s weekly survey results released today.  Keep in mind that’s a weekly number based on average of last Thursday through yesterday and that it doesn’t account for the impact of discount points.  In other words, rates are definitely not 7.1 today, and especially not without points.

Source: mortgagenewsdaily.com

Apache is functioning normally

Buying your first home can be tedious and overwhelming.

While it’s exciting to visit properties and daydream about your dream home, getting over the financing hurdles is another story. But don’t fret.

This comprehensive guide for first-time homebuyers will walk you through the entire process from start to finish.

Benefits of Being a First-Time Homebuyer

As a first-time homebuyer, you may feel a mix of excitement and apprehension. While the home buying process can seem overwhelming, it’s important to recognize the numerous benefits that come with this milestone.

Financial Assistance

First-time homebuyers have access to several financial assistance programs that can make homeownership more affordable. These include down payment assistance programs, low-interest mortgage loans, and grants specifically designed for first-time buyers. Some of these programs are offered by state and local governments, while others are provided by non-profit organizations or private lenders.

Lower Down Payments

Several loan programs offer lower down payment requirements for first-time homebuyers. The FHA loan, for example, requires as little as 3.5% down if your credit score is 580 or higher. The USDA and VA loans even offer zero down payment options in some cases.

Access to Educational Resources

There’s a lot to learn when you’re buying a home for the first time, but fortunately, there are plenty of resources available. Many organizations offer homebuyer education courses that can help you understand the process and make informed decisions. Some lenders and assistance programs require you to take one of these courses, but even if it’s not mandatory, it can still be a valuable resource.

Check Your Credit

Not only will your credit score play a considerable factor in whether you’re approved for a mortgage, but it will also determine your interest rate.

A small increase or decrease in interest rates may not seem like a big deal. However, mortgage loans are for a hefty sum and for an extended period of time. So, a slight increase or decrease equates to thousands of dollars more spent or saved over the life of the loan.

To have the best chance of being approved for a home loan, you should aim for a credit score of at least 620. It’s possible to get approved for select home loan programs with a score as low as 580, but you may have fewer lenders to choose from.

Run the Numbers

It’s tempting for first-time homebuyers to start searching for homes when they know their credit score is up to par. But that’s probably not a good move until you determine how much home you can afford. Yes, the loan officer will give you a figure when you obtain a preapproval, but that amount isn’t always indicative of what you can afford.

Why so? Well, they focus on the debt-to-income (DTI) ratio to get an idea of a loan amount you qualify for. According to the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau, lenders prefer a DTI ratio of 43% or lower with your new mortgage payment. To illustrate:

CURRENT MONTHLY DEBT GROSS INCOME DEBT-TO-INCOME RATIO MAXIMUM MORTGAGE PAYMENT
(USING 43% RECOMMENDATION)
$1,000 $4,000 25% $720
$2,000 $6,000 33% $580
$3,000 $10,000 30% $1,300

Note: Debt-to-Income Ratio = Aggregate Amount of Monthly Debt / Gross Income

The problem is that it fails to consider any expenses unrelated to debt. And if you have hefty insurance, childcare, or even grocery bills, that could be a major concern.

So, your best bet is to look at your current budget and come up with a realistic figure for your new mortgage payment. But don’t forget to keep the recommended DTI ratio in mind.

Explore Mortgage Options

There are several mortgage options on the market for first-time homebuyers, but the most prevalent are:

Conventional Loans

A conventional mortgage is a type of home loan that is not insured or guaranteed by the government. It’s typically offered by a private lender, such as a bank or credit union, and is the most common type of mortgage used to purchase a home.

Conventional mortgages typically require a down payment of at least 3% of the purchase price of the home. Borrowers typically must have a credit score of 620 or higher and a DTI ratio of 36% or lower to qualify. If you have bad credit or are unable to make a large down payment may have a harder time qualifying for a conventional mortgage.

If the loan amount is over $726,200, it becomes a jumbo loan and requires a higher down payment.

FHA Loans

An FHA loan is a type of home loan insured by the Federal Housing Administration (FHA), a government agency within the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD).

FHA loans are designed to make it easier for people to buy homes, especially for first-time homebuyers. They offer lower down payment requirements and more flexible credit guidelines than conventional mortgages.

The minimum credit score required for an FHA loan is 500. If your credit score is between 500 -579, the down payment is 10%. However, if you have a credit score of 580 or above, the down payment is 3.5% of the purchase price.

VA Loans

VA Loans are insured by the Department of Veterans Affairs. They don’t require a down payment and are easier to qualify for than conventional loan products. However, you must be an active-duty member of the armed forces. Surviving spouses also qualify.

USDA Loans

A USDA loan is a type of mortgage offered by the U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) to low- and moderate-income borrowers who are looking to buy a home in a rural or suburban area.

See also: 14 First-Time Home Buyer Grants and Programs

Check Out Our Top Picks for 2024:

Best Mortgage Lenders

Most mortgages have a 30 or 15-year term. The latter will cost you more per month, but you’ll save a load of cash on interest.

You can also choose from a fixed or adjustable-rate mortgage (ARM). Fixed-rate mortgages have the same interest rate for the duration of the loan. But ARMs typically start with a lower interest rate for a set amount of time. In fact, they usually span from five to ten years and then adjust depending on the housing market.

Some first-time homebuyers choose ARMs over fixed-rate mortgages because it gives them the option to make a smaller monthly payment in the first few years. It could also mean that you can qualify for a more expensive home. But, be careful not to get too overextended, as erratic market behavior could cause the rate to skyrocket.

Get Preapproved

This is one of the more time-consuming parts of the entire mortgage process for a first-time home buyer. The good news is you don’t have to settle for the first offer that comes your way out of fear that your credit score will take a hit.

“FICO Scores ignore [mortgage] inquiries made in the 30 days prior to scoring,” according to myFICO. So, you won’t be penalized for multiple inquiries.

So, start by researching mortgage lenders that you may be interested in working with. You could also solicit the help of a mortgage broker if you’re strapped for time or want someone to do the legwork for you.

Once you’ve settled on a few lenders, be prepared to provide the following to get preapproved:

  • Financial statements to confirm your assets, including retirement accounts and real estate
  • Recent bank statements
  • Last two pay stubs
  • W-2s from the last two years

They will also pull your credit report and credit scores. If you qualify, the mortgage lender will then provide you with a preapproval letter, valid for a certain time period, that specifies how much you’re eligible for.

Save Up for a Down Payment and Closing Costs

During the preapproval process, the lender should have discussed loan options that could be a good fit for you. They should also have communicated how much you will need for a down payment and closing costs.

While some sellers may be willing to cover closing costs, be prepared to provide earnest money to secure your offer. And you may need a large down payment if you’re taking out a jumbo loan, or don’t qualify for the FHA or VA loan program. If that’s the case, now’s the time to figure out a plan for it.

If the seller is not paying closing costs, expect to pay between 2% and 5% of the sales price. And if a hefty down payment isn’t required, it’s not a bad idea to bring money to the table. Doing so allows you to reduce the Loan-to-Value, which positions you as less risky to the lender.

You may also be able to avoid private mortgage insurance (PMI), which is required until you reach 20% in equity, and possibly qualify for a reduced interest rate.

How to Find the Perfect Home

Go Home Shopping

All squared away with a preapproval and planned to save up the cash you need? Now, it’s time to go home shopping. But before you go, you have to decide if you want to enlist the assistance of a real estate agent.

It’s possible to find a slew of listings within your price range on the web with minimal effort. However, real estate agents have access to a system that could expand your reach. Even better, they could be integral in helping you choose a home that’s a good buy and negotiating the final purchase price.

And the seller’s agent pays their commission, so no need to worry about forking over extra cash. Just be sure to hire a real estate professional that is seasoned and reputable.

Now for the fun part: home shopping. Be careful not to judge a home solely by its appearance. Some other important factors to keep in mind:

  • Taxes: are the property taxes affordable or beyond what you can comfortably afford? (You can roll property taxes and homeowners insurance into an escrow account, but they can easily make or break your budget if the figures are steep).
  • Location: is the home in an area that has historically held its value? Is the location optimal for your commute to and from work?
  • Crime: is it a high crime area or is it relatively safe?
  • Condition: how old is the property? Does it need tons of repairs, or is it close to being move in ready?
  • Floor plan: is the floor plan feasible or ideal for your situation? Would it be appealing to other buyers if you had to sell?
  • School district: how are the schools? Have they received a good rating, or do they struggle to stay afloat?

All of these factors can have an effect on the value of the property over time.

Submit an Offer

You’ve found the perfect home, and you’re ready to sign on the dotted. Before you can finalize the paperwork and move in, there’s one more important step. And that’s making the offer. Even if the sales price seems fair, you may need to make an offer that’s higher or lower to snag the home.

Why so? Well, there could be a slight or drastic bidding war going on, and the only way for you to win is to beat out the competition. Or maybe your real estate agent did some research and determined the asking price was a bit high based on similar properties in the area or the home’s current condition.

Either way, you want to submit an offer that stands out and gets accepted. Your real estate agent will be able to do so on your behalf. But if you don’t have a real estate agent, check out these letters from Trulia to get you started.

The Mortgage Process

Even after your offer is accepted, there’s still more work to do. You’re not done just yet! It’s time to move on to the mortgage process.

Remember that preapproval letter? The lender will make sure all the information you initially provided is accurate through a process called underwriting.

Depending on how long it’s been since you were preapproved, you may be asked to provide updated bank statements or pay stubs.

The faster you submit the requested information, the quicker you’ll get a response. So, don’t drag your feet if you want a closing date that’s sooner than later.

Home Inspections and Appraisals

Before you close on the home, you will need to have a home inspection and appraisal complete.

The home inspection shouldn’t cost you more than $500. It will give you an overall assessment of the property and identify any potential issues.

The appraisal also plays an integral role as it will give you a solid idea of the home’s fair market value. The lender will mandate it, but it’s not a bad idea to get an independent appraisal done to serve as a second opinion.

An inspection and appraisal may help you decide if you should lower your offer or walk away from the property.

Purchase Homeowners Insurance

Your mortgage lender will require that you take out homeowners insurance. So, you want to start shopping around for quotes and select a policy prior to closing.

Close on Your Loan

At last! You’ve reached the finish line, and it’s time to close on your loan. During the closing, expect to:

  • Sign a load of paperwork.
  • Provide any amounts owed for the down payment.
  • Pay closing costs, which could include property tax obligations, premiums for homeowner’s insurance and association dues, title insurance, and any other costs associated with finalizing the loan.
  • Pay discount points or prepaid interest that can reduce the interest rate.

But before you show up at closing, it’s a good idea to speak with the lender, so you’ll know what to expect. You can also request a copy of the final closing document, or Closing Disclosure, to see a detailed breakdown of expenses.

A Few More Tips

Here are a few more suggestions for first time home buyers to help you get approved for your first loan:

  • Refrain from applying for new credit before you close. This could throw off your DTI ratio, lower your credit score, and ultimately prevent you from closing on the loan.
  • State and local programs may be available to assist with down payments. If you’re low on funds, be sure to explore options that may be available to you.
  • Several builders offer buyer incentives, like allowances for upgrades and closing costs. So if you haven’t considered new construction, it may not be such a bad idea to take a look if the price points are within your budget.

Should You Rent, Instead?

Perhaps you’ve done a little legwork, ran the numbers, and are on the fence about home buying. You will typically find that it’s cheaper to make monthly mortgage payments than to pay rent.

You can also take advantage of tax deductions and build up equity as you’re making monthly payments. The equity can be borrowed against for a loan or put some extra money in your pocket should you decide to sell before the repayment period ends.

However, renting a home gives you the flexibility to move to a new location if the home isn’t quite what you expected, don’t like the neighborhood, or want something more affordable.

Furthermore, renting allows you to pass the costs of maintaining the home on to the owner. But as a homeowner, you’ll be responsible for costs associated with maintenance and repairs.

Another reason why some choose to rent over buying is the upfront costs. Most landlords require a security deposit. However, it could be substantially lower than the money you may have to bring to the table for the down payment and closing costs.

Ultimately, you have to decide which is the better fit: investing in an asset that could build wealth or continuing to pay rent until you feel the time is right. There is no right or wrong answer; it just depends on your personal preference and financial situation.

Bottom Line

By taking the time to learn about the home buying process, you’ll be well-prepared and save yourself time and headaches. Best of all, you’ll increase your chances of landing your dream home with the most competitive mortgage product on the market.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the process for buying a home?

The process for buying a home typically involves the following steps:

  1. Determine your budget and get preapproved for a mortgage.
  2. Find a real estate agent and start looking for homes.
  3. Make an offer on a home and negotiate the terms.
  4. Get a home inspection and address any issues that are found.
  5. Get a mortgage and close on the home.

How much house can I afford?

When determining how much house you can afford, there are several factors to take into account. You should consider your income, expenses, down payment, credit score, and mortgage type before making a decision.

A larger down payment can help you get a lower mortgage rate, and a higher credit score can qualify you for better rates and loan terms. Shopping around for mortgage rates and considering different types of mortgages, such as fixed-rate or adjustable-rate, can also help you find the best deal.

Keep in mind that owning a home involves more than just the monthly payments. You will also need to factor in property taxes, insurance, and maintenance costs. You should create a budget that includes all of these costs and leaves room for unexpected expenses.

How much money do I need for a down payment?

The amount of money you need for a down payment will depend on the type of mortgage you get and the price of the home you are buying.

Some mortgage programs, such as FHA loans, allow for down payments as low as 3.5%, while others may require a higher down payment. It’s a good idea to speak with a mortgage lender to determine how much you will need.

Can I buy a house if I have a low credit score?

It’s possible to buy a house with a low credit score. However, it may be more difficult to get approved for a mortgage, and you may have to pay a higher interest rate. Before applying for a mortgage, work on improving your credit scores, as this will help you qualify for a better loan and save you money over time.

How much will closing costs be?

Closing costs are fees that are paid at the closing of a real estate transaction. These costs can vary widely and may include things like mortgage origination fees, title insurance, and appraisal fees. On average, closing costs can range from 2% to 5% of the purchase price of the home.

What is a mortgage preapproval?

A mortgage preapproval is a letter from a lender that indicates how much you are qualified to borrow for a mortgage. The preapproval letter is based on a review of your financial information, including your credit score, monthly income, and debts. A mortgage preapproval can help you understand how much you can afford to borrow and can make you a more competitive buyer in the real estate market.

What is a mortgage rate?

A mortgage rate is the interest rate that you will pay on your mortgage. The mortgage rate will determine the amount of your monthly payments and the overall cost of your loan. Interest rates can vary depending on the type of mortgage you get and your credit scores.

What is PMI?

PMI, or private mortgage insurance, is insurance that is required by lenders for certain types of mortgages when the borrower has less than a 20% down payment. PMI protects the lender in the event that the borrower defaults on the mortgage. The cost of PMI is typically added to the borrower’s monthly mortgage payment.

Source: crediful.com

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Today’s average refinance rates


Today’s average mortgage rates on Apr. 22, 2024, compared with one week ago. We use rate data collected by Bankrate as reported by lenders across the US.


Mortgage refinance rates change every day. Experts recommend shopping around to make sure you’re getting the lowest rate. By entering your information below, you can get a custom quote from one of CNET’s partner lenders.

About these rates: Like CNET, Bankrate is owned by Red Ventures. This tool features partner rates from lenders that you can use when comparing multiple mortgage rates.


Refinance rate news

A vast majority of US homeowners already have mortgages with a rate below 6%. Because mortgage refinance rates have been averaging above 6.5% over the past several months, households are choosing to hold on to their existing mortgages instead of swapping them out with a new home loan.

If rates fell to 6%, at least a third of borrowers who took out mortgages in 2023 could reduce their rate by a full percentage point through a refinance, according to BlackKnight.

Refinancing in today’s market could make sense if you have a rate above 8%, said Logan Mohtashami, lead analyst at HousingWire. “However, with all refinancing options, it’s a personal financial choice because of the cost that goes with the loan process,” he said.

What to expect from refinance rates this year

Mortgage rates have been sky-high over the last two years, largely as a result of the Federal Reserve’s aggressive attempt to tame inflation by spiking interest rates. Experts say that decelerating inflation and the Fed’s projected interest rate cuts should help stabilize mortgage interest rates by the end of 2024. But the timing of Fed cuts will depend on incoming economic data and the response of the market.

For homeowners looking to refinance, remember that you can’t time the economy: Interest rates fluctuate on an hourly, daily and weekly basis, and are influenced by an array of factors. Your best move is to keep an eye on day-to-day rate changes and have a game plan on how to capitalize on a big enough percentage drop, said Matt Graham of Mortgage News Daily.

What to know about refinancing

When you refinance your mortgage, you take out another home loan that pays off your initial mortgage. With a traditional refinance, your new home loan will have a different term and/or interest rate. With a cash-out refinance, you’ll tap into your equity with a new loan that’s bigger than your existing mortgage balance, allowing you to pocket the difference in cash.

Refinancing can be a great financial move if you score a low rate or can pay off your home loan in less time, but consider whether it’s the right choice for you. Reducing your interest rate by 1% or more is an incentive to refinance, allowing you to cut your monthly payment significantly.

How to find the best refinance rates

The rates advertised online often require specific conditions for eligibility. Your personal interest rate will be influenced by market conditions as well as your specific credit history, financial profile and application. Having a high credit score, a low credit utilization ratio and a history of consistent and on-time payments will generally help you get the best interest rates.

30-year fixed-rate refinance

For 30-year fixed refinances, the average rate is currently at 7.25%, an increase of 19 basis points compared to one week ago. (A basis point is equivalent to 0.01%.) A 30-year fixed refinance will typically have lower monthly payments than a 15-year or 10-year refinance, but it will take you longer to pay off and typically cost you more in interest over the long term.

15-year fixed-rate refinance

The current average interest rate for 15-year refinances is 6.76%, an increase of 15 basis points over last week. Though a 15-year fixed refinance will most likely raise your monthly payment compared to a 30-year loan, you’ll save more money over time because you’re paying off your loan quicker. Also, 15-year refinance rates are typically lower than 30-year refinance rates, which will help you save more in the long run.

10-year fixed-rate refinance

The current average interest rate for a 10-year refinance is 6.62%, an increase of 25 basis points compared to one week ago. A 10-year refinance typically has the lowest interest rate but the highest monthly payment of all refinance terms. A 10-year refinance can help you pay off your house much quicker and save on interest, but make sure you can afford the steeper monthly payment.

To get the best refinance rates, make your application as strong as possible by getting your finances in order, using credit responsibly and monitoring your credit regularly. And don’t forget to speak with multiple lenders and shop around.

Reasons to refinance

Homeowners usually refinance to save money, but there are other reasons to do so. Here are the most common reasons homeowners refinance:

  • To get a lower interest rate: If you can secure a rate that’s at least 1% lower than the one on your current mortgage, it could make sense to refinance.
  • To switch the type of mortgage: If you have an adjustable-rate mortgage and want greater security, you could refinance to a fixed-rate mortgage.
  • To eliminate mortgage insurance: If you have an FHA loan that requires mortgage insurance, you can refinance to a conventional loan once you have 20% equity.
  • To change the length of a loan term: Refinancing to a longer loan term could lower your monthly payment. Refinancing to a shorter term will save you interest in the long run.
  • To tap into your equity through a cash-out refinance: If you replace your mortgage with a larger loan, you can receive the difference in cash to cover a large expense.
  • To take someone off the mortgage: In case of divorce, you can apply for a new home loan in just your name and use the funds to pay off your existing mortgage.

Source: cnet.com

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The Fed expected to be able to cut rates 3 times in 2024 as recently as March. Financial markets agreed. But the data that’s come out since then has everyone singing a different tune.  This week’s data was more of an afterthought compared to last week’s.

The chart above pertains to Fed rate expectations, and that’s not exactly the same as longer term rates like mortgages and 10yr Treasury yields.  The latter saw a bit more volatility this week.

Monday’s Retail Sales data was much stronger than expected and markets reacted immediately.  Tuesday’s data was consequential, but it was followed by a speech in which Fed Chair Powell had an opportunity to provide some updated thoughts on the rate outlook.  After all, the Fed hadn’t seen the most recent CPI data (and several other strong reports) at the time the last round of rate projections came out in March.

As the market expected, the tone is evolving.  While Powell and the Fed repeat that the rate path depends on economic data, it’s no surprise to see recent comments acknowledging a surprising amount of strength in the recent data.  Stronger data means fewer rate cuts.  Powell went as far as saying there was new uncertainty as to whether the Fed will even be able to cut in 2024.

Two days later, NY Fed President John Williams struck similar tone.  Just last week, he had pushed back on the CPI data, saying the Fed wasn’t surprised by setbacks in the inflation data.  This week’s comments did more to acknowledge the other side of data dependency.  Specifically, Williams said the Fed could hike again if the data called for it.  

To be sure, these are not earth-shattering “ifs” and “thens.”  But the market hones in on the subtle differences with which the data dependency is communicated.  It didn’t help that Thursday morning’s Philly Fed Manufacturing Index moved up to the highest levels in 2 years or that the “prices paid” component of the same report moved up much more than economists expected.

Here’s how the entire week looked in terms of 10yr Treasury yields.

Friday’s reaction to the attacks in Iran is important because it shows us that some geopolitical news is indeed worth a reaction.  That was less clear earlier in the week as multiple batches of somewhat similar headlines failed to cause as much movement.  The difference on Friday was the uncertainty over the status of Iran’s nuclear sites as well as concern that it would be the catalyst for the outbreak of much more significant fighting.  The market calmed down quite quickly once it was clear the nuclear sites were not damaged and that Iran was not retaliating.  The correlation between stock prices and bond yields further confirms the “flight to safety” trading pattern commonly seen after such news.

In the bigger picture, the past 2 weeks have gone a long way toward making the end of 2023 look like yet another “false start” toward lower rates.  Up until then, we had sort of a sideways fighting chance.  While we have labeled late 2023 as the 3rd false start of this cycle, it wouldn’t meet the purest definition until rates rise back above last October’s highs.  We’re definitely not there yet and we won’t know if we’ll get there until we see the next round of big ticket economic data in May.

In the meantime, home sales remain constrained.

Next week’s economic data is fairly muted apart from Friday’s PCE price index.  This isn’t as much of a market mover as the Consumer Price Index (CPI), but it could certainly cause some volatility if it happens to send a different message.

Source: mortgagenewsdaily.com

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Key takeaways

  • A lower credit score doesn’t necessarily mean a lender will deny you a home equity loan. It does mean the loan will be more expensive, as you won’t get the lowest interest rate.
  • It’s possible to get a home equity loan with a fair credit score — as low as 620 — as long as other requirements around debt, equity and income are met.
  • Strategies for getting a loan despite your bad credit include taking on a co-signer, applying to a place where you currently bank, and writing a letter of explanation to the lender.
  • Alternatives to a home equity loan include personal loans, cash-out refinances, reverse mortgages and shared equity agreements.

Can you get a home equity loan with bad credit?

Yes, you can. A lower credit score doesn’t necessarily mean a lender will deny you a home equity loan. Some home equity lenders allow for FICO scores in the “fair” range (the lower 600s) as long as you meet other requirements around debt, equity and income.

That’s not to say it’ll be easy: Lenders tend to be stringent, even more so than they are with mortgages. Still, it’s not impossible. Here’s how to get a home equity loan (even) with bad credit.

Requirements for home equity loans

Not all home equity lenders have the exact same borrowing criteria, of course. Still, general guidelines do exist. Typical requirements for home equity loan applicants include:

  • A minimum credit score of 620
  • At least 15 percent to 20 percent equity in your home
  • A maximum debt-to-income (DTI) ratio of 43 percent, or up to 50 percent in some cases
  • On-time mortgage payment history
  • Stable employment and income

To learn the requirements for a home equity loan with a specific lender, you’ll need to do some research online or contact a loan officer directly. If you aren’t ready to apply for the loan just yet, ask for a no-credit check prequalification to avoid having the loan inquiry affect your credit score.

What are “good” and “bad” scores for home equity loans?

First, let’s define our terms. Here’s how FICO — the most popular credit scoring model — categorizes different scores:

Score

Classification

Source: MyFico.com
300-579 Poor
580-669 Fair
670-739 Good
740-799 Very Good
800-850 Excellent

When it comes to home equity loans, lenders set a high bar for creditworthiness — higher, even, than mortgages. That’s because they are considered riskier than mortgages: You, the applicant, are already carrying a big debt load. Should you default and your home get seized, the home equity loan — as a “second lien” — only gets paid after the primary (the original) mortgage.

Furthermore, home equity loans don’t have government backing, like some mortgages do. The lender bears all the risk.

So home equity lenders set stricter criteria, demanding scores squarely in the “fair” range. A score in the 500s – good enough for an FHA mortgage — will have a tough time qualifying for a home equity loan. Some lenders have loosened their standards of late and are approving applicants with scores as low as 620. But a “good” score, preferably above 700, remains the threshold for many institutions. It can vary even within one lender, depending on factors like the loan amount or other loan terms.

And of course — as with any loan — the lower your credit score, the less likely you will qualify for the best interest rates.

How to apply for a bad credit home equity loan

Before applying for a home equity loan, remember that it’s not just a question of getting the financing, but also how you can overcome a lower credit score to get the best possible rate. Here are some steps to take:

1. Check your credit report

While it’s possible to get a home equity loan with bad credit, it’s still wise to do all you can to improve your score before you apply (more on that below). A better credit score gets you a better rate. It can also help you get a bigger loan (up to the tappable amount of your equity, of course).

Check your credit reports at AnnualCreditReport.com to get a sense of where you stand. If there are any errors, like incorrect contact information, contact the credit bureau — Equifax, Experian or TransUnion — to get it updated as soon as possible.

2. Determine your equity level

To qualify for a home equity loan, lenders typically require at least 15 percent or 20 percent equity. The amount of equity you have, your home’s appraised value and combined loan-to-value (CLTV) ratio help determine how much you can borrow.

Home Equity
Bankrate’s home equity loan calculator can quickly estimate your potential home equity loan amount.

To estimate your home’s equity, take the value of your home and subtract the balance left on your mortgage. While lenders will only consider the official appraised value of your home when determining how much you can borrow, you can get an idea of your home’s value through Bankrate or a real estate listing portal or brokerage. Let’s say your home is worth $420,000 and you have $250,000 to pay on your mortgage:

$420,000 – $250,000 = $170,000

In this example, you’d have $170,000 in home equity. That doesn’t mean you can borrow $170,000, however. If the lender requires you to maintain at least 20 percent equity, you’d need to preserve $84,000 ($420,000 * 0.20). That leaves you with a home equity loan of up to $86,000 ($170,000 – $84,000).

Say you want to add a $60,000 home equity loan to the mix. That would increase your total mortgage debt — for both your first mortgage and the home equity loan — from $250,000 to $310,000.

That 20 percent equity requirement also means you’d need a CLTV ratio of 80 percent or lower. To calculate your CLTV ratio, divide the total mortgage debt ($310,000) by the value of your home ($420,000):

($250,000 + $60,000) / $420,000 = 73.8%

In this example, you’d be under the lender’s 80 percent CLTV requirement.

3. Find out your DTI ratio

The DTI ratio is a measure lenders use to determine whether you can reasonably afford to take on more debt. To calculate your DTI ratio, simply divide your monthly debt payments by your gross monthly income. For example, say you bring in $6,000 a month in income and have a $2,200 monthly mortgage payment and a $110 monthly student loan payment:

$2,310 / $6,000 x 100 = 38.5%

To make things even easier, you can use Bankrate’s DTI calculator.

For a home equity loan, most lenders look for a DTI ratio of no more than 43 percent.

4. Consider a co-signer

If your credit disqualifies you for a home equity loan, a co-signer with better credit might be able to help, in some cases.

“A co-signer can help with credit and income issues for an applicant who has a lower credit score, but ultimately the main applicant or primary borrower will have to have at least the bare minimum credit score that is required based on the bank’s underwriting guidelines,” says Ralph DiBugnara, president of Home Qualified, a real estate platform for buyers, sellers and investors.

A co-signer is just as responsible for repaying the loan as the primary borrower, even if they don’t actually intend to make payments. If you fall behind on loan payments, their credit suffers along with yours.

5. Try a lender you already work with

If your bank, credit union or mortgage lender offers home equity products, it might be able to extend some flexibility, or at least help with your application, since you’re an existing customer.

“A loan officer familiar with the details of an applicant’s situation can help them present it to an underwriter in the best possible way,” says DiBugnara.

6. Write a letter to the lender

Write a letter of explanation describing why your credit score is low, especially if it has taken a recent hit. This letter should matter-of-factly explain credit issues — avoid catastrophizing — and include any relevant paperwork, like bankruptcy documentation. If your credit score was impacted by late payments due to job loss, for example, but you’re employed now, your lender can take this context into consideration.

Lenders that offer home equity loans with bad credit

There are home equity lenders that offer loans to borrowers with lower credit scores. Here are some to consider, along with requirements:

Lender Bankrate Score (scale of 1-5) Loan types Credit score minimum Maximum CLTV Maximum DTI
Figure 4.37 HELOC 640 75%-90% Undisclosed
Guaranteed Rate 3.3 HELOC 620 90%-95% 50%
Spring EQ 2.7 Home equity loan, HELOC 620 for home equity loans, 680 for HELOCs Up to 97.5% 43%
TD Bank 4.0 Home equity loan, HELOC 660 Undisclosed Undisclosed
Connexus Credit Union 3.5 Home equity loan, HELOC 640 90% Undisclosed
Discover 4.4 Home equity loan 660 90% 43%

Pros and cons of getting a home equity loan with bad credit

Getting a home equity loan with bad credit has its benefits and drawbacks. You can tap your equity to help with expenses, but it’s also risky.

Pros

  • You’ll pay a fixed rate: Home equity loans are for a fixed sum at a  fixed interest rate, so you’ll know exactly how much your payment is each month. This can help you budget for and reliably pay down debt, which can help boost your credit score.
  • You could get out of costlier debt: If you have high-interest debt — like credit card debt — you could pay it off with a lower-rate home equity loan, then repay that loan, with one payment, for less.

Cons

  • You’re taking on more debt: If you’ve had trouble managing money in the past, it might not be wise to take on more debt with a home equity loan, even if you qualify.
  • It’ll be more expensive: A lower credit score won’t qualify you for the best home equity loan rates, meaning you’ll pay more in interest.
  • You could lose your home: If you fall behind on loan payments, you’ll further damage your credit. Even worse: If you’re eventually unable to pay back the loan, your home could go into foreclosure.

What to do if your home equity loan application is denied

If your application for a home equity loan is rejected, don’t despair. First, ask the lender for specific reasons why your application was denied. The answer can help you address any issues before applying in the future.

If your credit was one of the deciding factors, you can improve your score by making on-time payments and paying down any outstanding debt. If you don’t have enough equity in your home, wait until you’ve built a bigger stake (mainly by making your monthly mortgage payments) before submitting a new application.

Both these approaches may take a half-year to a year to make a significant difference in your credit profile. If you’re in more of a hurry, consider applying to other lenders, as their criteria may differ. Just bear in mind that more lenient terms often mean higher interest rates or fees.

And of course, you can consider other forms of financing.

Home equity loan alternatives if you have bad credit

If you need cash but have bad credit, a home equity loan is just one option. Here are some alternatives:

Personal loans

Personal loans can be easier to qualify for than a home equity product, and they aren’t tied to your home. This means that if you fail to repay the loan, the lender can’t go after your house. Personal loans have higher interest rates, however, and shorter repayment terms. This translates to a more expensive monthly payment compared to what you might get with a home equity loan.

Cash-out refinance

In a cash-out refinance, you take out a brand-new mortgage for more than what you owe on your existing mortgage, pay off the existing loan and take the difference in cash. Most lenders require you to maintain at least 20 percent equity in your home in order to cash out.

A caveat, however: A cash-out refi makes the most sense when you can qualify for a lower rate than what you have on your current mortgage, and if you can afford the closing costs. With bad credit, getting that lower rate might not be possible.

Reverse mortgage

Reverse mortgages allow homeowners over the age of 62 to tap their home’s equity as a source of tax-free income. These types of loans need to be repaid upon your death or when you move out or sell the home. You can use reverse mortgages for anything from medical expenses to home renovations, but you must meet some requirements to qualify.

Shared equity agreement

Home equity investment companies might work with you even if you have a lower credit score, often lower than what traditional lenders would accept. These companies offer shared equity agreements in which you receive a lump sum in exchange for an ownership percentage in your home and/or its appreciation.

Unlike with home equity lines of credit (HELOCs) or home equity loans, you don’t make monthly repayments in a shared equity arrangement. Some companies wait until you sell your home, then collect what they’re owed; others have multi-year agreements in which you’ll pay the balance in full at the end of a stated period.

Make sure you understand all the terms of this complex arrangement. Technically, you’re not borrowing money, you’re selling a stake in your home — to a financial professional who naturally wants to see a return on their investment.

How to get a HELOC with bad credit

Applying for a HELOC is pretty much the same as applying for a home equity loan, but if you have bad credit, a loan might have a slight edge over the line of credit. That’s because home equity loans have fixed interest rates and fixed payments, so you’ll know exactly what you need to repay each month. This predictability could help you better manage your budget and keep up with payments.

A HELOC, on the other hand, has a variable rate, which can cause unexpected increases in your monthly payments. For this reason, lenders often have higher credit score criteria for HELOCs than home equity loans.

Tips for improving your credit before getting a home equity loan

To increase your chances of getting approved for a home equity loan, work on improving your credit score well before applying — at least several months. Here are three tips to help you improve your score:

  • Pay bills on time every month. At the very least, make the minimum payment, but try to pay the balance off completely, if possible — and don’t miss that due date.
  • Don’t close credit cards after you pay them off. Either leave them open or charge just enough to have a small, recurring payment every month. That’s because closing a card reduces your credit utilization ratio, which can decrease your score. The recommended utilization ratio: no more than 30 percent.
  • Be cautious with new credit. Getting a higher credit limit on a card or getting a new card can lower your credit utilization ratio — but not if you immediately max things out or blow through the bigger balance. Treat the newly available funds as sacred savings.

FAQ on getting a home equity loan with bad credit

  • In general, it’s better to get a home equity loan with bad credit. A home equity loan often has a lower credit score requirement compared to a HELOC, and it comes with a fixed interest rate, so your payment will be the same every month, making it easier to plan for.

  • Yes — in fact, this is the rule for any type of loan, including a home equity product. The higher your credit score, the lower your interest rate.

Source: bankrate.com

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Cybersecurity, TPO, Verification Tools; Tech Tracking Whereabouts; Why Rates Are Where They Are

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Fri, Apr 19 2024, 11:33 AM

It is “Take Your Child to Work Day” next Thursday which, if you work from home, is probably like a day off from school for the tyke. (I won’t be bringing my son Robbie to work, who, as I write this, is pedaling from Chicago to New York and bunked down last night in Union Home’s Bill Cosgrove’s humble abode.) I do not track his exact whereabouts, but we all know that, in having a smart phone, one gives up pretty much all of their privacy. For example, a new working paper posted to the National Bureau of Economic Research sought to examine the polling data that indicates 22 percent of Americans reported attending religious services on a weekly basis. They did this by looking at geodata from smartphones of 2 million people in 2019, and found that while 73 percent of people did indeed step into a place of worship on a primary day of worship at least once over the course of the year, just 5 percent of Americans studied in fact did so weekly, significantly smaller than the data people reported to pollsters. (Found here, this week’s podcasts are sponsored by Optimal Blue. OB’s smart solutions automate critical functions like pricing, hedging, trading, and social media. More originators and investors rely upon Optimal Blue’s integrated solutions, data, and connections to support their unique business strategies, no matter how complex. Hear an interview between Robbie and me on a variety of topics in mortgage that are germane to the Daily Commentary.)

Lender and Broker Products, Software, and Services

Operations leaders! You don’t want to miss this event if you care about improving your operations! Join Femi Ayi, EVP Operations at Revolution Mortgage, Brooke Smith, Senior Manager, Loan Sourcing Digital Solutions at Fannie Mae, and Jodi Eberhardt, Strategic Integration Director at Freddie Mac, and Richard Grieser, VP, Marketing at Truv, as they highlight different strategies to provide customers with a more transparent, efficient borrowing experience. Freddie Mac’s Loan Product Advisor® asset and income modeler (AIM) and Fannie Mae’s Desktop Underwriter® (DU®) validation service play a critical role for lenders committed to streamlining origination processes and improving loan quality. However, the key to optimizing borrower verification workflows and ensuring compliance is partnering with the right provider that helps lenders improve loan quality and save hundreds of dollars per loan compared to traditional verification providers. Come join us! “Minimizing Risks with GSE Borrower Verifications”, April 24 2:00 PM ET Use code TRUV100 to participate FOR FREE, even if you are not an MBA member! Register now.

“AFR Wholesale® is thrilled to announce the renewal of our partnership with AIME for 2024, underscoring our commitment to the wholesale channel. As we continue our collaboration, we are committed to providing essential resources, comprehensive training, and robust support to independent mortgage professionals and the wholesale channel. This partnership will allow AFR to set new industry standards, promote best practices, and deliver exceptional services to our clients and partners. We also will look to spearhead innovative initiatives aimed at boosting operational efficiencies and enhancing customer experiences. Reflecting on a history of successful collaborations, we are excited about the potential for even greater achievements. This announcement is just the beginning, as AFR plans to unveil several exciting partnerships and updates in the coming weeks. Join us in driving change in mortgage lending. To get involved, contact us at [email protected], 1-800-375-6071, visit AFR.”

In the wake of frequent breaches within our industry, we are reminded of the precarious position mortgage lenders and their customers’ data are currently in. These repeated security incidents emphasize an undeniable truth: robust cybersecurity defenses are not merely an option; they are imperative. A breach can mean the difference between a thriving business and a devastating collapse. There is a very real risk to mortgage companies right now; you’re not just guarding data, you’re safeguarding trust, livelihoods, and the very integrity of the financial system. It’s a responsibility to take seriously, and it’s time to double down on cybersecurity. Richey May’s cybersecurity team is here to help: Check out the latest post detailing the often-overlooked risks in the industry.

Capital Markets

One can’t ignore the U.S. Federal Reserve’s role in interest rates. (The current STRATMOR blog is titled, “Relying on the Fed: How Did This Happen?”) The “experts” have been predicting multiple rate cuts in 2024. Sure enough, the much-awaited Fed pivot has materialized, but it’s not what investors had been expecting. The Fed change was supposed to signal a reverse of its contractionary monetary policy path, keeping rates high, which has been in place since March 2022.

But that is not the message, especially after three consecutive months of stronger-than-expected inflation readings. Fed Chair Jay Powell said, “The recent data have clearly not given us greater confidence and instead indicate that it’s likely to take longer than expected to achieve that confidence. Last year, rebounding supply supported U.S. growth in spending and also employment, alongside a considerable decline in inflation. The more recent data show solid growth and continued strength in the labor market, but also a lack of further progress so far this year on returning to our 2 percent inflation goal.”

As always, the Federal Reserve is watching the data as it comes out. But things will be higher for longer. At least the next rate move is still forecast to be a cut. Things could get rocky for lenders and borrowers if that shifts to a hike, which could happen if price pressures resurface and put a so-called soft landing into doubt. And now we have the yield on the benchmark 10-year U.S. Treasury note up at its highest level since November, above 4.6 percent versus a yield of 4.25 percent in the last week or two and starting the year at 3.88 percent, meaning that the 10-year is now nearing a full point rise for 2024!

As today’s podcast interview alluded, it’s been pretty quiet out there in terms of market-moving news. Weekly jobless claims showed no change from last week’s level and there was a better-than-expected Philadelphia Fed survey for April yesterday, which prompted some selling. Investors bought plenty of Treasuries to close 2023 and open 2024, betting on several rate cuts this year from the Fed. However, Fed speakers hammering home patient rhetoric on interest rates (several more Fed speakers reiterated yesterday that they do not feel urgency to cut rates at this time) due to a reluctance of the U.S. economy to cool, has forced investors to abandon bets on a rally, giving way to a wave of selling.

Accordingly, mortgage rates surged in the latest Primary Mortgage Market Survey from Freddie Mac, with the 30-year rate above 7 percent for the first time this year. For the week ending April 18, the 30-year and 15-year mortgage rates jumped 22 basis points and 23 basis points versus the prior week to 7.10 percent and 6.39 percent, respectively. Those rates are 71 basis points and 63 basis points higher than this time last year.

Inflation is back below 3 percent, but hotter-than-expected readings for the rental category of housing in the first few months of the year are a big reason the Fed has held back on the rate cuts that Wall Street has been hoping for. Markets seeing the biggest rent declines are the ones where there’s been the most construction. The Northeast and Midwest have experienced lingering high inflation, while the West and South have seen it moderate rapidly.

Existing-home sales fell 4.3 percent in March to a seasonally adjusted annual rate of 4.19 million, a widely expected decline given the recent slip in purchase mortgage applications and solid gains registered in the first two months of 2024 from increased supply and a temporary dip in mortgage rates. Sales were down 3.7 percent from the previous year. The median existing-home sales price rose 4.8 percent from a year ago to $393,500, the ninth consecutive month of year-over-year price gains and the highest price ever for the month of March. The inventory of unsold existing homes grew 4.7 percent from one month ago to the equivalent of 3.2 months’ supply at the current monthly sales pace.

There is no data of note on today’s economic calendar, though there is one Fed speaker, Chicago President Goolsbee. For capital markets folks, today is Class D 48-hours. We begin the day with Agency MBS prices better by .125-.250, the 10-year yielding 4.59 after closing yesterday at 4.65 percent, and the 2-year is at 4.96.

Employment

“At Evergreen Home Loans, our mission is simple: equip our clients with affordable strategies to not only buy a home but to make a winning offer. Our unique approach helps families secure their futures and build generational wealth. As we navigate a fluctuating housing market, Evergreen Home Loans remains committed to innovation and client success. Our tailored solutions emphasize stability and long-term prosperity, ensuring that homeownership is a reality for first-time buyers and seasoned investors alike. By fostering a supportive environment and providing strategic financial guidance, we empower our clients to turn their dreams of homeownership into tangible assets that benefit generations. We’re expanding our team and invite skilled loan officers and branch managers to explore the career opportunities we offer. Join us in making a difference and shaping the future of homeownership. To view all openings visit: Careers.”

Synergy One Lending continues to reemerge as one of the industry success stories in 2024. The addition of 12 new branches and the successful expansion of the company’s footprint into several new markets has provided an even stronger foundation of profitable growth as it prepares for even more ahead. A vision with a P&L structure built to grow market share, relentless execution and adoption of leading-edge technology and a culture that is focused on their 3 core values (delighted customers, inspired employees and a pristine reputation) are leading indicators of the company’s trajectory. Be part of it and Make Your Mark by reaching out to Aaron Nemec at (208) 794-7786 or Eric Kulbe at (303) 717-0293.

Geneva Financial, operating in 48 states, announced that Jessie Ermel has joined its leadership team as Chief Compliance Officer where Jessie will drive quality control and compliance for the company’s mortgage operations.

Our industry lost another veteran recently with the death of Alabama’s John Johnson. John was CEO and co-founder of MortgageAmerica, Inc. from 1978 to 2012. But John’s mortgage career began in 1966 at Colonial Mortgage Company and then Molton-Allen & Williams. He served as the Mortgage Bankers Association of Alabama President in 1980-1981 and chaired the organization’s Convention in 1982. John was awarded the Certified Mortgage Banker designation in 1982. was a member of the Board of Directors of the Mortgage Bankers Association of America from 1999-2003, served as Chairman of the Residential Board of Governors in 2001-2002, and was Chairman of the Board of Directors for MERS in 2006. Guys like this helped make our industry what it is today, and he’ll be missed.

 Download our mobile app to get alerts for Rob Chrisman’s Commentary.

Source: mortgagenewsdaily.com

Apache is functioning normally

Today’s mortgage rates

Average mortgage rates rose very slightly yesterday. I’m afraid it’s a sign that Wednesday’s moderate fall wasn’t necessarily the start of much happier times.

Earlier this morning, markets were signaling that mortgage rates today could barely budge. However, these early mini-trends frequently alter direction or speed as the hours pass.

Current mortgage and refinance rates

Find your lowest rate. Start here

Program Mortgage Rate APR* Change
Conventional 30-year fixed 7.29% 7.34% +0.03
Conventional 15-year fixed 6.744% 6.822% +0.04
30-year fixed FHA 7.129% 7.179% +0.21
5/1 ARM Conventional 6.682% 7.918% -0.01
Conventional 20-year fixed 7.15% 7.207% +0.07
Conventional 10-year fixed 6.607% 6.68% +0.02
30-year fixed VA 7.28% 7.324% +0.2
Rates are provided by our partner network, and may not reflect the market. Your rate might be different. Click here for a personalized rate quote. See our rate assumptions See our rate assumptions here.

Should you lock your mortgage rate today?

I reckon it’s likely to be some months before we begin to see consistently falling mortgage rates. The economy is currently too robust and inflation is too warm for a sustained downward trend. And there are few signs of that changing until the summer or fall — or perhaps even later.

So my personal rate lock recommendations remain:

  • LOCK if closing in 7 days
  • LOCK if closing in 15 days
  • LOCK if closing in 30 days
  • LOCK if closing in 45 days
  • LOCK if closing in 60 days

However, with so much uncertainty at the moment, your instincts could easily turn out to be as good as mine — or better. So, let your gut and your own tolerance for risk help guide you.

>Related: 7 Tips to get the best refinance rate

Market data affecting today’s mortgage rates

Here’s a snapshot of the state of play this morning at about 9:50 a.m. (ET). The data are mostly compared with roughly the same time the business day before, so much of the movement will often have happened in the previous session. The numbers are:

  • The yield on 10-year Treasury notes ticked lower to 4.62 from 4.63%. (Good for mortgage rates.) More than any other market, mortgage rates typically tend to follow these particular Treasury bond yields
  • Major stock indexes were mixed this morning. (Neutral for mortgage rates.) When investors buy shares, they’re often selling bonds, which pushes those prices down and increases yields and mortgage rates. The opposite may happen when indexes are lower. But this is an imperfect relationship
  • Oil prices decreased to $82.77 from $82.98 a barrel. (Neutral for mortgage rates*.) Energy prices play a prominent role in creating inflation and also point to future economic activity
  • Gold prices rose to $2,398 from $2,393 an ounce. (Neutral for mortgage rates*.) It is generally better for rates when gold prices rise and worse when they fall. Because gold tends to rise when investors worry about the economy.
  • CNN Business Fear & Greed index — nudged down to 32 from 35 out of 100. (Good for mortgage rates.) “Greedy” investors push bond prices down (and interest rates up) as they leave the bond market and move into stocks, while “fearful” investors do the opposite. So, lower readings are often better than higher ones

*A movement of less than $20 on gold prices or 40 cents on oil ones is a change of 1% or less. So we only count meaningful differences as good or bad for mortgage rates.

Caveats about markets and rates

Before the pandemic, post-pandemic upheavals, and war in Ukraine, you could look at the above figures and make a pretty good guess about what would happen to mortgage rates that day. But that’s no longer the case. We still make daily calls. And are usually right. But our record for accuracy won’t achieve its former high levels until things settle down.

So, use markets only as a rough guide. Because they have to be exceptionally strong or weak to rely on them. But, with that caveat, mortgage rates today look likely to be unchanged or close to unchanged. However, be aware that “intraday swings” (when rates change speed or direction during the day) are a common feature right now.

Find your lowest rate. Start here

What’s driving mortgage rates today?

Today

There are no economic reports scheduled for release today. And the words of the sole senior Federal Reserve official with a speaking engagement, Chicago Fed President Austan Goolsbee, are unlikely to affect markets. His boss, Fed Chair Jerome Powell, laid out the central bank’s position on future cuts to general interest rates as recently as Tuesday.

Of course, mortgage rates can still move on days like today. But they’re generally driven by market sentiment or occasionally by important news that affects the economy.

Next week

Next Monday is much like today: zero economic reports on the schedule. Tuesday’s purchasing managers’ indexes (PMIs) could produce some movement in mortgage rates. But that’s typically limited and temporary, a description that applies to Wednesday’s durable goods orders data, too.

Things could warm up next Thursday when the first reading of gross domestic product (GDP) for the January-March quarter is due.

And next Friday should bring the March personal consumption expenditures (PCE) price index. That’s the Federal Reserve’s favorite gauge of inflation. So, it can certainly affect mortgage rates.

Don’t forget you can always learn more about what’s driving mortgage rates in the most recent weekend edition of this daily report. These provide a more detailed analysis of what’s happening. They are published each Saturday morning soon after 10 a.m. (ET) and include a preview of the following week.

According to Freddie Mac’s archives, the weekly all-time lowest rate for 30-year, fixed-rate mortgages was set on Jan. 7, 2021, when it stood at 2.65%. The weekly all-time high was 18.63% on Sep. 10, 1981.

Freddie’s Apr. 18 report put that same weekly average at 7.1%, up from the previous week’s 6.88%. But note that Freddie’s data are almost always out of date by the time it announces its weekly figures.

Expert forecasts for mortgage rates

Looking further ahead, Fannie Mae and the Mortgage Bankers Association (MBA) each has a team of economists dedicated to monitoring and forecasting what will happen to the economy, the housing sector and mortgage rates.

And here are their rate forecasts for the four quarters of 2024 (Q1/24, Q2/24 Q3/24 and Q4/24).

The numbers in the table below are for 30-year, fixed-rate mortgages. Fannie’s were updated on Mar. 19 and the MBA’s on Apr. 18.

Forecaster Q1/24 Q2/24 Q3/24 Q4/24
Fannie Mae 6.7% 6.7%  6.6% 6.4%
MBA 6.8% 6.7%  6.6% 6.4%

Of course, given so many unknowables, both these forecasts might be even more speculative than usual. And their past record for accuracy hasn’t been wildly impressive.

Important notes on today’s mortgage rates

Here are some things you need to know:

  1. Typically, mortgage rates go up when the economy’s doing well and down when it’s in trouble. But there are exceptions. Read ‘How mortgage rates are determined and why you should care
  2. Only “top-tier” borrowers (with stellar credit scores, big down payments, and very healthy finances) get the ultralow mortgage rates you’ll see advertised
  3. Lenders vary. Yours may or may not follow the crowd when it comes to daily rate movements — though they all usually follow the broader trend over time
  4. When daily rate changes are small, some lenders will adjust closing costs and leave their rate cards the same
  5. Refinance rates are typically close to those for purchases.

A lot is going on at the moment. And nobody can claim to know with certainty what will happen to mortgage rates in the coming hours, days, weeks or months.

Find your lowest mortgage rate today

You should comparison shop widely, no matter what sort of mortgage you want. Federal regulator the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau found in May 2023:

“Mortgage borrowers are paying around $100 a month more depending on which lender they choose, for the same type of loan and the same consumer characteristics (such as credit score and down payment).”

In other words, over the lifetime of a 30-year loan, homebuyers who don’t bother to get quotes from multiple lenders risk losing an average of $36,000. What could you do with that sort of money?

Verify your new rate

Mortgage rate methodology

The Mortgage Reports receives rates based on selected criteria from multiple lending partners each day. We arrive at an average rate and APR for each loan type to display in our chart. Because we average an array of rates, it gives you a better idea of what you might find in the marketplace. Furthermore, we average rates for the same loan types. For example, FHA fixed with FHA fixed. The end result is a good snapshot of daily rates and how they change over time.


How your mortgage interest rate is determined

Mortgage and refinance rates vary a lot depending on each borrower’s unique situation.

Factors that determine your mortgage interest rate include:

  • Overall strength of the economy — A strong economy usually means higher rates, while a weaker one can push current mortgage rates down to promote borrowing
  • Lender capacity — When a lender is very busy, it will increase rates to deter new business and give its loan officers some breathing room
  • Property type (condo, single-family, town house, etc.) — A primary residence, meaning a home you plan to live in full time, will have a lower interest rate. Investment properties, second homes, and vacation homes have higher mortgage rates
  • Loan-to-value ratio (determined by your down payment) — Your loan-to-value ratio (LTV) compares your loan amount to the value of the home. A lower LTV, meaning a bigger down payment, gets you a lower mortgage rate
  • Debt-To-Income ratio — This number compares your total monthly debts to your pretax income. The more debt you currently have, the less room you’ll have in your budget for a mortgage payment
  • Loan term — Loans with a shorter term (like a 15-year mortgage) typically have lower rates than a 30-year loan term
  • Borrower’s credit score — Typically the higher your credit score is, the lower your mortgage rate, and vice versa
  • Mortgage discount points — Borrowers have the option to buy discount points or ‘mortgage points’ at closing. These let you pay money upfront to lower your interest rate

Remember, every mortgage lender weighs these factors a little differently.

To find the best rate for your situation, you’ll want to get personalized estimates from a few different lenders.

Verify your new rate. Start here

Are refinance rates the same as mortgage rates?

Rates for a home purchase and mortgage refinance are often similar.

However, some lenders will charge more for a refinance under certain circumstances.

Typically when rates fall, homeowners rush to refinance. They see an opportunity to lock in a lower rate and payment for the rest of their loan.

This creates a tidal wave of new work for mortgage lenders.

Unfortunately, some lenders don’t have the capacity or crew to process a large number of refinance loan applications.

In this case, a lender might raise its rates to deter new business and give loan officers time to process loans currently in the pipeline.

Also, cashing out equity can result in a higher rate when refinancing.

Cash-out refinances pose a greater risk for mortgage lenders, so they’re often priced higher than new home purchases and rate-term refinances.

Check your refinance rates today. Start here

How to get the lowest mortgage or refinance rate

Since rates can vary, always shop around when buying a house or refinancing a mortgage.

Comparison shopping can potentially save thousands, even tens of thousands of dollars over the life of your loan.

Here are a few tips to keep in mind:

1. Get multiple quotes

Many borrowers make the mistake of accepting the first mortgage or refinance offer they receive.

Some simply go with the bank they use for checking and savings since that can seem easiest.

However, your bank might not offer the best mortgage deal for you. And if you’re refinancing, your financial situation may have changed enough that your current lender is no longer your best bet.

So get multiple quotes from at least three different lenders to find the right one for you.

2. Compare Loan Estimates

When shopping for a mortgage or refinance, lenders will provide a Loan Estimate that breaks down important costs associated with the loan.

You’ll want to read these Loan Estimates carefully and compare costs and fees line-by-line, including:

  • Interest rate
  • Annual percentage rate (APR)
  • Monthly mortgage payment
  • Loan origination fees
  • Rate lock fees
  • Closing costs

Remember, the lowest interest rate isn’t always the best deal.

Annual percentage rate (APR) can help you compare the ‘real’ cost of two loans. It estimates your total yearly cost including interest and fees.

Also, pay close attention to your closing costs.

Some lenders may bring their rates down by charging more upfront via discount points. These can add thousands to your out-of-pocket costs.

3. Negotiate your mortgage rate

You can also negotiate your mortgage rate to get a better deal.

Let’s say you get loan estimates from two lenders. Lender A offers the better rate, but you prefer your loan terms from Lender B. Talk to Lender B and see if they can beat the former’s pricing.

You might be surprised to find that a lender is willing to give you a lower interest rate in order to keep your business.

And if they’re not, keep shopping — there’s a good chance someone will.

Fixed-rate mortgage vs. adjustable-rate mortgage: Which is right for you?

Mortgage borrowers can choose between a fixed-rate mortgage and an adjustable-rate mortgage (ARM).

Fixed-rate mortgages (FRMs) have interest rates that never change unless you decide to refinance. This results in predictable monthly payments and stability over the life of your loan.

Adjustable-rate loans have a low interest rate that’s fixed for a set number of years (typically five or seven). After the initial fixed-rate period, the interest rate adjusts every year based on market conditions.

With each rate adjustment, a borrower’s mortgage rate can either increase, decrease, or stay the same. These loans are unpredictable since monthly payments can change each year.

Adjustable-rate mortgages are fitting for borrowers who expect to move before their first rate adjustment, or who can afford a higher future payment.

In most other cases, a fixed-rate mortgage is typically the safer and better choice.

Remember, if rates drop sharply, you are free to refinance and lock in a lower rate and payment later on.

How your credit score affects your mortgage rate

You don’t need a high credit score to qualify for a home purchase or refinance, but your credit score will affect your rate.

This is because credit history determines risk level.

Historically speaking, borrowers with higher credit scores are less likely to default on their mortgages, so they qualify for lower rates.

So, for the best rate, aim for a credit score of 720 or higher.

Mortgage programs that don’t require a high score include:

  • Conventional home loans — minimum 620 credit score
  • FHA loans — minimum 500 credit score (with a 10% down
    payment) or 580 (with a 3.5% down payment)
  • VA loans — no minimum credit score, but 620 is common
  • USDA loans — minimum 640 credit score

Ideally, you want to check your credit report and score at least 6 months before applying for a mortgage. This gives you time to sort out any errors and make sure your score is as high as possible.

If you’re ready to apply now, it’s still worth checking so you have a good idea of what loan programs you might qualify for and how your score will affect your rate.

You can get your credit report from AnnualCreditReport.com and your score from MyFico.com.

How big of a down payment do I need?

Nowadays, mortgage programs don’t require the conventional 20 percent down.

Indeed, first-time home buyers put only 6 percent down on average.

Down payment minimums vary depending on the loan program. For example:

  • Conventional home loans require a down payment between 3%
    and 5%
  • FHA loans require 3.5% down
  • VA and USDA loans allow zero down payment
  • Jumbo loans typically require at least 5% to 10% down

Keep in mind, a higher down payment reduces your risk as a borrower and helps you negotiate a better mortgage rate.

If you are able to make a 20 percent down payment, you can avoid paying for mortgage insurance.

This is an added cost paid by the borrower, which protects their lender in case of default or foreclosure.

But a big down payment is not required.

For many people, it makes sense to make a smaller down payment in order to buy a house sooner and start building home equity.

Verify your new rate. Start here

Choosing the right type of home loan

No two mortgage loans are alike, so it’s important to know your options and choose the right type of mortgage.

The five main types of mortgages include:

Fixed-rate mortgage (FRM)

Your interest rate remains the same over the life of the loan. This is a good option for borrowers who expect to live in their homes long-term.

The most popular loan option is the 30-year mortgage, but 15- and 20-year terms are also commonly available.

Adjustable-rate mortgage (ARM)

Adjustable-rate loans have a fixed interest rate for the first few years. Then, your mortgage rate resets every year.

Your rate and payment can rise or fall annually depending on how the broader interest rate trends.

ARMs are ideal for borrowers who expect to move prior to their first rate adjustment (usually in 5 or 7 years).

For those who plan to stay in their home long-term, a fixed-rate mortgage is typically recommended.

Jumbo mortgage

A jumbo loan is a mortgage that exceeds the conforming loan limit set by Fannie Mae and Freddie Mac.

In 2023, the conforming loan limit is $726,200 in most areas.

Jumbo loans are perfect for borrowers who need a larger loan to purchase a high-priced property, especially in big cities with high real estate values.

FHA mortgage

A government loan backed by the Federal Housing Administration for low- to moderate-income borrowers. FHA loans feature low credit score and down payment requirements.

VA mortgage

A government loan backed by the Department of Veterans Affairs. To be eligible, you must be active-duty military, a veteran, a Reservist or National Guard service member, or an eligible spouse.

VA loans allow no down payment and have exceptionally low mortgage rates.

USDA mortgage

USDA loans are a government program backed by the U.S. Department of Agriculture. They offer a no-down-payment solution for borrowers who purchase real estate in an eligible rural area. To qualify, your income must be at or below the local median.

Bank statement loan

Borrowers can qualify for a mortgage without tax returns, using their personal or business bank account as evidence of their financial circumstances. This is an option for self-employed or seasonally-employed borrowers.

Portfolio/Non-QM loan

These are mortgages that lenders don’t sell on the secondary mortgage market. And this gives lenders the flexibility to set their own guidelines.

Non-QM loans may have lower credit score requirements or offer low-down-payment options without mortgage insurance.

Choosing the right mortgage lender

The lender or loan program that’s right for one person might not be right for another.

Explore your options and then pick a loan based on your credit score, down payment, and financial goals, as well as local home prices.

Whether you’re getting a mortgage for a home purchase or a refinance, always shop around and compare rates and terms.

Typically, it only takes a few hours to get quotes from multiple lenders. And it could save you thousands in the long run.

Time to make a move? Let us find the right mortgage for you

Current mortgage rates methodology

We receive current mortgage rates each day from a network of mortgage lenders that offer home purchase and refinance loans. Those mortgage rates shown here are based on sample borrower profiles that vary by loan type. See our full loan assumptions here.

Source: themortgagereports.com