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Whether it’s going to bed before midnight, eating broccoli, or dealing with your finances, doing the “right” thing can sometimes feel like a herculean effort.
Similar to an erratic sleep schedule or an aversion to eating green things, there are consequences to delaying wise financial moves. If you avoid creating a budget, putting your bills on autopay or learning how to invest, your financial life may become more stressful.
But knowing something is good for you isn’t always enough to make you do it. Many people have complicated feelings around money, and for good reason. Getting to the bottom of those feelings may be the most effective way to deal with avoidant tendencies.
Uncovering your financial beliefs
To get to the root of your financial anxieties, it may be helpful to learn about your “money scripts,” a term that’s a registered trademark of the Financial Psychology Institute. Money scripts are what financial therapists call the unconscious beliefs we hold about money. Often, these beliefs are rooted in our childhood and continue to shape our financial lives as adults.
Rick Kahler, a certified financial therapist and founder of the Kahler Financial Group in Rapid City, South Dakota, had one client who struggled to save despite being a high-earning professional. Through several interviews, Kahler learned that the client’s parents had filed for bankruptcy when she was a child, and in the process, she lost her own savings.
“She just knew that all her money that she worked hard to save disappeared. And so the lesson she took away from that was ‘don’t save money, because it will disappear,’” says Kahler.
Georgia Lee Hussey, a certified financial planner and founder of Modernist Financial, a B Corp wealth management firm in Portland, Oregon, says that taking what may seem to be a logical step, such as investing just a small amount, before unearthing your deeper emotions may sometimes do more harm than good.
“The small step to get closer to the logical action is actually a reinforcement of the mega story,” says Hussey.
Tools you can use
While uncovering your money scripts may feel daunting, there are a lot of tools out there that can help you get started. You can take the Klontz Money Script Inventory-Revised (KMSI-R), which is a free short quiz that helps you identify your dominant money scripts and offers actionable advice. The KMSI-R evaluation is offered by Your Mental Wealth Advisors, a financial advisor firm based in Burlingame, California, that focuses on overall financial health. Hussey’s firm offers a similar reflective experience you can download for free that can help you facilitate a conversation about your money history.
And if you’re able, it may be worth working with a financial therapist in conjunction with these tools.
“Working with a financial therapist can really help,” says Kahler. “But if a person doesn’t want to do that, they may want to employ journaling or mindfulness meditation that is specifically geared to money scripts. But typically, people can make pretty good progress in really focusing on their personal situation, and a financial therapist can help with that.”
Be ok with baby steps
After doing some deep work on your money story, and on how your long-held beliefs came to be, you may be feeling ready to take some small steps toward a better financial future.
A few baby steps you can consider could include moving your money into a high-yield savings account instead of a standard savings account. If you have a 401(k) with an employer match, you could also look into contributing enough to receive that match.
But be ready for those old stories to come up, because even an account type like a 401(k) may become an emotional stumbling block.
“One of my favorites from the Great Recession is, ‘I’m not going to invest in a 401(k) because my uncle lost all of his money in his 401(k),’” says Hussey. “It wasn’t the 401(k) that was the problem. It was your uncle, who in the middle of the night got freaked out and sold everything in his 401(k) at the bottom of the market. That’s actually what was wrong. It was the human making an emotional decision. The 401(k) itself is just a tax wrapper. It has no personality. It doesn’t do things to anybody. So let’s unpack what that story is about.”
Hussey encourages people to deeply investigate where the stories they’ve heard about investing came from.
“I think those kinds of questions like, ‘What am I telling myself? Where’s it coming from? Who told it? What was the location I heard that? Where do you think they heard that from?’ That’s how we start to unpack these stories about investing and saving,” says Hussey.
This article was written by NerdWallet and was originally published by The Associated Press.
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A home equity loan is a lump sum of money you can borrow at a fixed rate based on the equity, or ownership stake, in your home. If you already paid off 15% to 20% of your house, this one-time installment loan can be used to cover major expenses, from home renovations to paying off debt.
Home equity loans have fixed interest rates, so your monthly payments are predictable and easy to budget for. But because your home acts as collateral for the loan, you could risk foreclosure if you fall behind on repayments.
I’ve spoken with experts about the advantages and disadvantages of home equity loans, how they work and where to find the best rates. Here’s what I’ve uncovered.
This week’s home equity loan rates
Here are the average rates for home equity loans and home equity lines of credit as of March 27, 2024.
Loan type
This week’s rate
Last week’s rate
Difference
10-year, $30,000 home equity loan
8.73%
8.73%
None
15-year, $30,000 home equity loan
8.70%
8.70%
None
$30,000 HELOC
9.01%
8.99%
+0.02
Note: These rates come from a survey conducted by CNET sister site Bankrate. The averages are determined from a survey of the top 10 banks in the top 10 US markets.
Current home equity loan rates and trends
Though home equity loan rates will vary depending on the lender and loan type, their rates are generally lower than personal loans or credit card annual percentage rates.
Home equity loan rates aren’t directly set by the Federal Reserve, but adjustments to the federal funds rate impact the borrowing cost for financial products like home equity loans and home equity lines of credit, aka HELOCs.
Since March 2022, the Fed has hiked its benchmark rate a total of 11 times in an attempt to slow the economy and bring inflation down, driving home equity loan rates up alongside. Though the Fed has kept interest rates steady since last summer, home equity loan rates have remained elevated for borrowers. Home equity rates are likely to stay high until the central bank begins cutting interest rates, projected for later this year.
With home equity loans, you tap into your equity without giving up the rate on your primary mortgage, making them a popular alternative to cash-out refinances. If you use a home equity loan to install solar panels or renovate your kitchen, you get the added benefit of increasing your home’s value.
“Most homeowners with mortgages in 2024 are choosing home equity loans or HELOCs, instead of a cash-out refinance, to avoid losing their attractive interest rates,” said Vikram Gupta, head of home equity at PNC Bank.
Best home equity loan rates of March 2024
Lender
APR
Loan amount
Loan terms
Max LTV ratio
U.S. Bank
From 8.40%
Not specified
Up to 30 years
Not specified
TD Bank
7.99% (0.25% autopay discount included)
From $10,000
5 to 30 years
Not specified
Connexus Credit Union
From 7.20%
From $5,000
5 to 15 years
90%
KeyBank
From 10.29% (0.25% autopay discount included)
From $25,000
1 to 30 years
80% for standard home equity loans, 90% for high-value home equity loans
Spring EQ
Fill out application for personalized rates
Up to $500,000
Not specified
90%
Third Federal Savings & Loan
From 7.29%
$10,000 to $200,000
Up to 30 years
80%
Frost Bank
From 7.3% (0.25% autopay discount included)
$2,000 to $500,000
15 to 20 years
90%
Regions Bank
From 6.75% to 14.125% (0.25% autopay discount included)
$10,000 to $250,000
7, 10, 15, 20 or 30 years
89%
Discover
6.99% for 1st liens, 7.99% for 2nd liens
$35,000 to $300,000
10, 15, 20 or 30 years
90%
BMO Harris
From 8.84% (0.5% autopay discount not included)
From $25,000
5 to 20 years
Not specified
Note: The above annual percentage rates are current as of March 1, 2024. Your APR will depend on such factors as your credit score, income, loan term and whether you enroll in autopay or other lender specific requirements.
Best home equity loan lenders of March 2024
U.S. Bank
Good for nationwide availability
U.S. Bank is the fifth largest banking institution in the US. It offers both home equity loans and HELOCs in 47 states. You can apply for a home equity loan or HELOC through an online application, by phone or in person. If you want a loan estimate for a home equity loan without completing a full application, you can get one by speaking with a banker over the phone.
APR: From 8.40%
Max LTV ratio: Not specified
Max debt-to-income ratio: Not specified
Min credit score: 660
Loan amount: $15,000 to $750,000 (up to $1 million for California properties)
Term lengths: Up to 30 years
Fees: None
Additional requirements: Subject to credit approval
Perks: You can receive a 0.5% rate discount by enrolling in automatic payments from a U.S. Bank checking or savings account.
TD Bank
Good for price transparency
Primarily operating on the East Coast, TD Bank offers home equity loans and HELOCs in 15 states. You can apply for a TD Bank home equity loan or HELOC online, by phone or by visiting a TD Bank in person. The online application includes a calculator that will tell you the maximum amount you can borrow based on the information you input. You can also see a full breakdown of rates, fees and monthly payments. No credit check is required for this service.
APR: From 7.99% (0.25% autopay discount included)
Max LTV ratio: Not specified
Max debt-to-income ratio: Not specified
Min credit score: Not specified
Loan amount: From $10,000
Term lengths: Five to 30 years
Fees: $99 origination fee at closing. Closing costs only application to loan amounts greater than $500,000.
Additional requirements: Loan amounts less than $25,000 are available only for primary residence property use.
Perks: You will receive a 0.25% discount if you enroll in autopay from a TD personal checking or savings account.
Connexus Credit Union
Good branch network
Connexus Credit Union operates in all 50 states, but it offers home equity loans and HELOCs in 46 states (excluding Alaska, Hawaii, Maryland and Texas). The credit union has more than 6,000 local branches. To apply for a home equity loan or HELOC with Connexus, you can fill out a three-step application online or in person. You won’t be able to see a personalized rate or product terms without a credit check.
APR: From 7.20%
Max LTV ratio: 90%
Max-debt-to-income ratio: Not specified
Min credit score: Not specified
Loan amount: From $5,000
Term lengths: Five to 15 years
Fees: No annual fee. Closing costs can range from $175 to $2,000, depending on your loan terms and property location. It has returned loan payments fees of $15, convenience fees of $9.95 (for paying by debit or credit card online) and $14.95 (for paying by phone) and a forced place insurance processing fee of $12.
Additional requirements: Because Connexus is a credit union, its products and services are only available to members. Member eligibility is open to most people: you (or a family member) just need to be a member of one of Connexus’s partner groups, reside in one of the communities or counties on Connexus’s list or become a member of the Connexus Association with a $5 donation to Connexus’s partner nonprofit.
Perks: Flexible membership options
KeyBank
Good online application user experience
Based in Cleveland, KeyBank offers home equity loans to customers in 15 states and HELOCs to customers in 44 states. Aside from a standard home equity loan, KeyBank offers a few different HELOC options. The KeyBank application allows you to apply for multiple products at one time. If you’re not sure whether KeyBank loans are available in your area, the application will tell you once you input your ZIP code. If you’re an existing KeyBank customer, you can skim through the application and import your personal information from your account.
APR: From 10.29% (0.25% client discount included)
Max LTV ratio: 80% for standard home equity loans, 90% for high-value home equity loans
Max debt-to-income ratio: Not specified
Min credit score: Not specified
Loan amount: From $25,000
Term lengths: One to 30 years
Fees: Origination fee of $295. Closing costs aren’t specified.
Additional requirements: Borrowers must be at least 18 years of age and reside in one of the states KeyBank operates in.
Perks: KeyBank offers a 0.25% rate discount for clients who have eligible checking and savings accounts with them.
Spring EQ
Good option for high debt-to-income ratio limits
Spring EQ was founded in 2016 and serves customers in 38 states. Spring EQ offers home equity loans and HELOCs. Spring EQ doesn’t display rates for its home lending products online — you must complete an application to see your personalized rate. The Spring EQ loan application process is simple though. Customers can see an extensive breakdown of their loan term and rate options without needing to undergo a credit check or provide their Social Security number.
APR: Not specified
Max LTV ratio: 90%
Max debt-to-income ratio: 50%
Min credit score: 640
Loan amount: Up to $500,000
Term lengths: Not specified
Fees: Spring EQ loans may be subject to an origination fee of $995 and an annual fee of $99 in some states.
Additional requirements: Spring EQ does not display rates for its home lending products online — you must complete an application to see your personalized rate.
Perks: Spring EQ has a higher maximum DTI ratio than most other lenders — compare 50% with the typical 43% average.
Third Federal Savings & Loan
Good option for rate match guarantee
Third Federal Savings & Loan first opened in 1938. Today, the bank offers home equity loans in eight states and HELOCs in 26 states. Third Federal offers a lowest rate guarantee on its HELOCs and home equity loans, meaning Third Federal will offer you the lowest interest rate relative to other similar lenders or pay you $1,000. You can apply for a home equity loan or HELOC on the Third Federal website. You won’t have to register an account to apply, but you’re still able to save your application and return to it later.
APR: From 7.29%
Max LTV ratio: 80%
Max debt-to-income ratio: Not specified
Min credit score: Not specified
Loan amount: $10,000 to $200,000
Term lengths: Five to 30 years
Fees: Home equity loans and HELOCs with Third Federal have an annual fee of $65 (waived the first year). There are no application fees, closing fees or origination fees.
Additional requirements: Specific requirements aren’t listed.
Perks: If you set up autopay from an existing Third Federal account, you’ll be eligible for a 0.25% rate discount.
Frost Bank
Good option for Texas borrowers
Frost Bank’s home equity loans and HELOCs are only available to Texas residents. You can apply for a home equity loan or HELOC on the Frost Bank website, but you’ll need to create an account. According to the website, the application will only take you 15 minutes.
APR: From 7.3% (0.25% autopay discount included, only available for 2nd liens)
Max LTV ratio: 90%
Max debt-to-income ratio: Not specified
Min credit score: Not specified
Loan amount: $2,000 to $500,000
Term lengths: 15 or 20 years
Fees: No application fee, annual fee or closing costs. Frost Bank does charge a $15 monthly service fee, which can be waived with a Frost Plus Account.
Additional requirements: Borrowers must reside in Texas. The bank also requires proof of homeowners insurance.
Perks: 0.25% rate discount for clients who enroll in autopay from a Frost Bank checking or savings account. However, this feature is only available for second liens.
Regions Bank
Good rate discounts
Regions Bank is one of the nation’s largest banking, mortgage and wealth management service providers. Regions offers home equity loans and HELOCs in 15 states. You can apply for a Regions home equity loan or HELOC online, in person or over the phone. You’ll have to create an account with Regions to apply. Before you create an account, though, you can use the bank’s own rate calculator to estimate your rate and monthly payment.
APR: From 6.75% to 14.125%(0.25% autopay discount included)
Max LTV ratio: 89%
Max debt-to-income ratio: Not specified
Min credit score: Not specified
Loan amount: $10,000 to $250,000
Term lengths: Seven, 10, 15, 20 or 30 years
Fees: No closing costs and no annual fees. Late fees apply for 5% of the payment amount. There is a returned check fee of $15 and an over limit fee of $29.
Additional requirements: Not specified.
Perks: Rate discounts between 0.25% and 0.50% to those who elect to have their monthly payments automatically debited from a Regions checking account.
Discover
Good option for no fees or closings costs
Discover is known primarily for its credit cards, but it also offers home equity loans — available in 48 states. The lender does not offer HELOCs at all. You can apply for a home equity loan from Discover online or over the phone. The application process takes approximately six to eight weeks in total, according to Discover’s website.
APR: 6.99% for first liens, 7.99% for second liens
Max LTV ratio: 90%
Max debt-to-income ratio: 43%
Min credit score: 620
Loan amount: $35,000 to $300,000
Term lengths: 10, 15, 20 and 30 years
Fees: None
Additional requirements: Specific requirements not listed.
Perks: The lender charges no origination fees, application fees, appraisal fees or mortgage taxes.
BMO Harris
Good option for second liens
BMO Harris products and services are available in 48 states (all but New York and Texas). BMO Harris offers home equity loans and three variations of a HELOC. You can apply for a home equity loan or HELOC online or in person, but in order to get personalized rates, you’ll have to speak with a representative on the phone. Getting personalized rates doesn’t require a hard credit check.
Home equity loans from BMO Harris are only available as second liens. If you have already paid off your mortgage, a rate-lock HELOC from BMO Harris may be a better option.
APR: From 8.84% (0.5% autopay discount not included)
Max LTV ratio: Not specified
Max debt-to-income ratio: Not specified
Min credit score: 700
Loan amount: From $5,000
Term lengths: Five to 20 years
Fees: There is no application fee. BMO Harris will also pay closing costs for loans secured by an owner-occupied 1-to-4-family residence. If you pay off your loan within 36 months of opening, you may be responsible for recoupment fees.
Additional requirements: Home equity loans are only available as a second lien (meaning you can’t be mortgage free)
Perks: If you enroll in autopay with a BMO Harris checking account, you’ll be eligible for a 0.5% rate discount.
What is a home equity loan?
A home equity loan is a fixed-rate installment loan secured by your home as a second mortgage. You’ll get a lump sum payment upfront and then repay the loan in equal monthly payments over a period of time. Because your house is used as a collateral, the lender can foreclose on it if you default on your payments.
Most lenders require you to have 15% to 20% equity in your home to secure a home equity loan. To determine how much equity you have, subtract your remaining mortgage balance from the value of your home. For example, if your home is worth $500,000 and you owe $350,000, you have $150,000 in equity. The next step is to determine your loan-to-value ratio, or LTV ratio, which is your outstanding mortgage balance divided by your home’s current value. So in this case the calculation would be:
$350,000 / $500,000 = 0.7
In this example, you have a 70% LTV ratio. Most lenders will let you borrow around 75% to 90% of your home’s value minus what you owe on your primary mortgage. Assuming a lender will let you borrow up to 90% of your home equity, you can use the formula to see how that would be:
$500,000 [current appraised value] X 0.9 [maximum equity percentage you can borrow] – $350,000 [outstanding mortgage balance] = $100,000 [what the lender will let you borrow]
A standard repayment period for a home equity loan is between five and 30 years. Under the loan, you make fixed-rate payments that never change. If interest rates go up, your loan rate remains unchanged.
Second mortgages such as home equity loans and HELOCs don’t alter a homeowner’s primary mortgage. This lets you borrow against your home’s equity without needing to exchange your primary mortgage’s rate for today’s higher rates.
Home equity loans have fixed interest rates, which is a positive if you’re looking for predictable monthly payments. The rate you lock in when you take out your loan will be constant for the entire term, even if market interest rates rise.
Reasons to get a home equity loan
A home equity loan is a good choice if you need a large sum of cash all at once. You can use that cash for anything you’d like — it doesn’t have to be home-related.However, some uses make more sense than others.
Home renovations and improvements: If you want to upgrade your kitchen, install solar panels or add on a second bathroom, you can use the money from a home equity loan to pay for the cost of these renovations. Then, at tax time, you can deduct the interest you pay on the loan — as long as the renovations increase the value of your home and you meet certain IRS criteria.
Consolidating high-interest debt: Debt consolidation is a strategy where you take out one large loan to pay off the balances on multiple smaller loans, typically done to streamline your finances or get a lower interest rate. Because home equity loan interest rates are typically lower than those of credit cards, they can be a great option to consolidate your high-interest credit card debt, letting you pay off debt faster and save money on interest in the long run. The only downside? Credit card and personal loan lenders can’t take your home from you if you stop making your payments, but home equity lenders can.
College tuition: Instead of using student loans to cover the cost of college for yourself or a loved one, you can use the cash from a home equity loan. If you qualify for federal student loans, though, they’re almost always a better option than a home equity loan. Federal loans have better borrower protections and offer more flexible repayment options in the event of financial hardship. But if you’ve maxed out your financial aid and federal student loans, a home equity loan can be a viable option to cover the difference.
Medical expenses: You can avoid putting unexpected medical expenses on a credit card by tapping into your home equity before a major medical procedure. Or, if you have outstanding medical bills, you can pay them off with the funds from a home equity loan. Before you do this, it’s worth asking if you can negotiate a payment plan directly with your medical provider.
Business expenses: If you want to start a small business or side hustle but lack money to get it going, a home equity loan can provide the funding without many hoops to jump through. However, you may find that dedicated small business loans are a better, less risky option.
Down payment on a second home: Homeowners can leverage their home’s equity to fund a down payment on a second home or investment property. But you should only use a home equity loan to buy a second home if you can comfortably afford multiple mortgage payments over the long term.
Experts don’t recommend using a home equity loan for discretionary expenses like a vacation or wedding. Instead, try saving up money in advance for these expenses so you can pay for them without taking on unnecessary debt.
Pros
One lump sum payment of total loan up front.
Fixed interest rate, meaning you won’t have to worry about your rate rising over the repayment period.
Typically lower interest rate than credit cards or personal loans.
Little to no restrictions on what you can use the money for.
Cons
Your home is used as collateral, meaning it can be taken from you if you default on the loan.
If you’re still paying off your mortgage, this loan payment will be on top of that.
Home equity loans can come with closing costs and other fees.
May be hard to qualify for if you don’t have enough equity.
Home equity loan vs. HELOC
Home equity loans and HELOCs are similar but have a few key distinctions. Both let you draw on your home’s equity and require you to use your home as collateral to secure your loan. The two major differences are the way you receive the money and how you pay it back.
A home equity loan gives you the money all at once as a lump sum, whereas a HELOC lets you take money out in installments over a long period of time, typically 10 years. Home equity loans have fixed-rate payments that will never go up, but most HELOCs have variable interest rates that rise and fall with the prime rate.
A home equity loan is better if:
You want a fixed-rate payment: Your monthly payment will never change even if interest rates rise.
You want one lump sum of money: You receive the entire loan upfront with a home equity loan.
You know the exact amount of money you need: If you know the amount you need and don’t expect it to change, a home equity loan likely makes more sense than a HELOC.
A HELOC is better if:
You need money over a long period of time: You can take the money as you need it and only pay interest on the amounts you withdraw, not the full loan amount, as is the case with a home equity loan.
You want a low introductory interest rate: Although HELOC rates may increase over time, they also typically offer lower introductory interest rates than home equity loans. So you could save money on interest charges.
Home equity loans vs. cash-out refinances
A cash-out refinance is when you replace your existing mortgage with a new mortgage, typically to secure a lower interest rate and more favorable terms. Unlike a traditional refinance, though, you take out a new mortgage for the home’s entire value — not just the amount you owe on your mortgage. You then receive the equity you’ve already paid off in your home as a cash payout.
For example, if your home is worth $450,000, and you owe $250,000 on your loan, you would refinance for the entire $450,000, rather than the amount you owe on your mortgage. Your new cash-out refinance home loan would replace your existing mortgage and then offer you a portion of the equity you built (in this case $200,000) as a cash payout.
Both a cash-out refi and a home equity loan will provide you with a lump sum of cash that you’ll repay in fixed amounts over a specific time period, but they have some important differences. A cash-out refinance replaces your current mortgage payment. When you receive a lump sum of cash from a cash-out refi, it’s added back onto the balance of your new mortgage, usually causing your monthly payment to increase. A home equity loan is different — it doesn’t replace your existing mortgage and instead adds an additional monthly payment to your expenses.
Who qualifies for a home equity loan?
Although it varies by lender, to qualify for a home equity loan, you’re typically required to meet the following criteria:
At least 15% to 20% equity built up in your home: Home equity is the amount of home you own, based on how much you’ve paid toward your mortgage. Subtract what you owe on your mortgage and other loans from the current appraised value of your house to figure out your home equity number.
Adequate, verifiable income and stable employment: Proof of income is a standard requirement to qualify for a HELOC. Check your lender’s website to see what forms and paperwork you will need to submit along with your application.
A minimum credit score of 620: Lenders use your credit score to determine the likelihood that you’ll repay the loan on time. Having a strong credit score — at least 700 — will help you qualify for a lower interest rate and more amenable loan terms.
A debt-to-income ratio of 43% or less: Divide your total monthly debts by your gross monthly income to get your DTI. Like your credit score, your DTI helps lenders determine your capacity to make consistent payments toward your loan. Some lenders prefer a DTI of 36% or less.
A home equity loan is better if:
You don’t want to pay private mortgage insurance: Some cash-out refinances require PMI, which can add hundreds of dollars to your payments, but home equity loans don’t.
You can’t complete a refinance: With rates rising, it’s possible that your mortgage rate is lower than current refinance rates. If that’s the case, it likely won’t make financial sense for you to refinance. Instead, you can use a home equity loan to take out only the money you need, rather than replacing your entire mortgage with a higher interest rate loan.
A cash-out refinance is better if:
Refinance rates are lower than your current mortgage rate: If you can secure a lower interest rate by refinancing, this could save you money in interest, while providing access to a lump sum of cash.
You want only one monthly payment: The amount you borrow gets added back to the balance of your mortgage so you make only one payment to your lender every month.
Less stringent eligibility requirements: If you don’t have great credit or you have a high debt-to-income ratio, or DTI, you may have an easier time qualifying for a cash-out refi compared with a home equity loan.
Lower interest rates: Cash-out refinances sometimes offer more favorable interest rates than home equity loans.
Tips for choosing a lender
You’ll want to consider what type of financial institution best suits your needs. In addition to mortgage lenders, financial institutions that offer home equity loans include banks, credit unions and online-only lenders.
“Select a lender that makes you feel comfortable and informed with the home equity loan process,” said Rob Cook, vice president of marketing, digital and analytics for Discover Home Loans. “Look at what tools a lender makes available to borrowers to help inform their decision. For many borrowers, being able to apply and manage their application online is important.”
One option is to work with the lender that originated your first mortgage as you already have a relationship and a history of on-time payments. Many banks and credit unions also offer discounted rates and other benefits when you become a customer.
Some lenders offer lower interest rates but charge higher fees (and vice versa). What matters most is your annual percentage rate because it reflects both interest rate and fees.
Ensure the specific terms of the loan your lender is offering make sense for your budget. For example, be sure the minimum loan amount isn’t too high — be wary of withdrawing more funds than you need. You also want to make sure that your repayment term is long enough for you to comfortably afford the monthly payments. The shorter your loan term, the higher your monthly payments will be.
“Costs and fees are an important consideration for anyone who is looking for a loan,” Cook said. “Homeowners should understand any upfront or ongoing fees applicable to their loan options. Also look for prepayment penalties that might be associated with paying off your loan early.”
No matter what, it’s important to talk to numerous lenders and find the best rate available.
How to apply for a home equity loan
Applying for a home equity loan is similar to applying for any mortgage loan. You’ll need both a solid credit score and proof of enough income to repay your loan.
1. Interview multiple lenders to determine which lender can offer you the lowest rates and fees. The more companies you speak with, the better your chances of finding the most favorable terms.
2. Have at least 15% to 20% equity in your home. If you do, lenders will then take into account your credit score, income and current DTI to determine whether you qualify as well as your interest rate.
3. Be prepared to have financial documents at the ready, such as pay stubs and Form W-2s. Proof of ownership and the appraised value of your home will also be necessary.
4. Close on your loan. Once you submit your application, the final step is closing on your loan. In some states, you’ll have to do this in person at a physical branch.
FAQs
As of March 27, average home equity loan rates are 8.73% for a $30,000 10-year home equity loan and 8.70% for a $30,000 15-year home equity loan — higher than the average rate for a 30-year fixed rate mortgage, which is currently 7.01%. Both home equity rates and mortgage rates started off at historic lows at around 3% at the beginning of 2022 and have been consistently climbing in response to the Federal Reserve aggressively raising the benchmark interest rate.
Most lenders will allow you to borrow anywhere from 15% to 20% of your home’s available equity. To calculate your home equity, subtract your remaining mortgage balance from the current appraised value of your home. How much equity a bank or lender will let you take out depends on a number of additional factors such as your credit score, income and DTI ratio. For most homeowners, it can take five to 10 years of mortgage payments to build up enough tappable equity to borrow against.
A home equity loan can affect your score positively or negatively depending on how responsibly you use it. As with any loan, if you miss or make late payments, your credit score will drop. The amount by which it will drop depends on such factors as whether you’ve made late payments before. However, HELOCs are secured loans that are backed by your property, so they tend to affect your credit score less because they’re treated more like a car loan or mortgage by credit-scoring algorithms.
Lenders are currently offering rates that start as low as 5% to 6% for borrowers with good credit, but rates can vary depending on your personal financial situation. A lender will base your interest rate on how much equity you have in your home, your credit score, income level and other aspects of your financial life such as your DTI ratio, which is calculated by dividing your monthly debts by your gross monthly income.
Home equity loans can be used for anything you choose to spend the money on. Typical life expenses that people usually take out home equity loans for are to cover expenditures such as home renovations, higher education costs like tuition or to pay off high-interest charges like credit card debt. There’s a bonus for using your loan for home improvements and renovations: the interest is tax deductible.
You can also use a home equity loan in the event of an emergency like unplanned medical expenses. Whatever you chose to use your loan for, keep in mind that taking out a large sum of money that accrues interest is an expensive choice to carefully consider, especially because you’re using your home as collateral to secure the loan. If you can’t pay back the loan, the lender can seize your home to repay your debt.
Methodology
We evaluated a range of lenders based on factors such as interest rates, APRs and fees, how long the draw and repayment periods are, and what types and variety of loans are offered. We also took into account factors that impact the user experience such as how easy it is to apply for a loan online and whether physical lender locations exist.
More people seem to be aware of the potential utility that a reverse mortgage could provide for older homeowners, including as a tool to age in place and to provide greater cash flow in retirement. This is according to survey results published this week by WSFS Mortgage, a division of WSFS Bank.
“[M]ost homeowners with knowledge of reverse mortgages agree they can allow you to stay in your home longer (79%) and provide needed cash flow (76%) in retirement,” the results explained. “Sixty-two percent of respondents with knowledge of reverse mortgages agreed they can provide more financial freedom in retirement, while 61% said they can help cover expenses like long-term care.”
The survey was conducted nationally by research company Opinium in late February, and it consisted of 750 homeowners age 60 or older. It measured “respondents’ financial stability, knowledge and attitudes toward reverse mortgages,” the results stated.
As a product primarily offered by the Federal Housing Administration (FHA) that has undergone a series of major changes over the past 15 years in particular, robust investments in borrower education could indicate that there is more awareness of the different uses that a reverse mortgage can offer, according to Jeffrey Ruben, president of WSFS Mortgage.
“Reverse mortgages have undergone significant changes the past decade, but the biggest change is how many financial advisors are now incorporating housing wealth into their retirement income planning,” Ruben said in a news release. “A reverse mortgage could be a good option for those seeking to strengthen their cash flow in retirement.”
Nearly 30% of respondents indicated openness to incorporating a reverse mortgage into a larger retirement plan, the results said.
“For many Americans, their house is their largest asset, but it can also be your largest liability in the sense of cash outflow each month,” Jamie Hopkins, SVP and director of private wealth management of Bryn Mawr Trust, said in the release. “Your home comes with a lot of costs, like mortgage payments, utilities, property taxes, and more, which can really impact retirement planning. Housing, wealth and retirement is more about cash flow, and can you maintain that cash flow and your property while living the life you want in retirement.”
Thirty-four percent of respondents said “they would probably (21%) or definitely consider (13%) a reverse mortgage if it was relevant to their financial situation,” the results showed.
During the survey and after learning more about potential use cases of the product, 16% of respondents said they were “very knowledgeable about reverse mortgages,” 26% said they “were moderately knowledgeable” and 22% were “slightly knowledgeable,” and said they might be more likely to engage with the product. This compared to 17% who said they “were not knowledgeable about reverse mortgages,” the results explained.
Borrower education and spreading awareness of the product category has been a key priority for most major reverse mortgage industry players for years.
“We know that we’ve got to do a better job of educating our customers, and that education continues to be a barrier, but that’s not a problem that’s solved overnight,” Chris Moschner, chief marketing officer of Finance of America Companies said in a late 2023 interview.
“That’s a problem that’s solved with content, with influencers, PR, marketing, advertising and messaging. There are multiple ways that’s done, and it just takes time, money and commitment.”
Personal Capital is a client-centric robo-advisor offering investment and wealth management services. The company distinguishes itself from the competition by combining automation with personal service. With over 2.7 million users, Personal Capital currently holds $16 billion in assets under management.
Unlike many financial apps designed to make investing more accessible, Personal Capital is a robo-advisor for those who already have some established wealth. They’ve gone back and forth on the minimum investment required, which is now set at $100,000.
Get started with Personal Capital
on Personal Capital’s secure website
Its goal is to provide a more transparent and affordable investment platform. However, its wealth management service does target clients with larger assets, with higher fees being assessed with the fewer assets you let the company manage.
In this Personal Capital review, we’ll get into the specifics shortly, but the upside to potentially paying higher fees is the access you get to financial advisors to help with your investment strategy.
The company utilizes five principles for investing:
the modern portfolio theory
personalized asset allocation
tax optimization
equal sector and style weighting
disciplined rebalancing
No matter how much in assets you’re looking to invest, consider Personal Capital if you prefer a hands-on experience or if you have a large portfolio to open or transfer. Either way, we’ll take you step-by-step through the different types of accounts you can have with Personal Capital, as well as the fees you’ll pay at different asset levels.
You’ll also learn about the special features that make Personal Capital unique, including financial tools and expertise. If you’re looking for an online advisor for any or all of your wealth management, see if Personal Capital is right for you.
Available Plans at Personal Capital
There are three different plans available at Personal Capital, which are divided up based on the amount of investable assets you have. If you know how much you’d like to invest, find the correct category to learn about the benefits and services you’d receive from Personal Capital. Then keep reading to learn more about the fee structure.
Investment Service Plan
The first plan is targeted for those with up to $200,000 in assets to be invested. Services include access to a financial advisory team, a tax-efficient ETF portfolio, dynamic tactical weighting, 401k advice, and cash flow & spending insights.
You’ll also get to use Personal Capital’s free wealth management tools. You do, however, need a minimum of $100,000 to get started investing with Personal Capital.
Wealth Management Plan
The next option is the Wealth Management plan, for those with investable assets between $200,000 and $1 million. You get access to all the benefits from the Investment Service plan, plus several others.
The Wealth Management service includes two dedicated financial advisors, customizable stocks and ETFs, a full financial and retirement plan, college savings and 529 planning, tax-loss harvesting and tax location, and financial decisions support.
The financial decisions support refers to help with insurance, home financing, stock options, and compensation. Also, note while your financial advisors can help you plan for investment accounts like a 401k for retirement or a 529 for college savings, Personal Capital doesn’t actually offer these accounts.
Private Client Plan
If you invest more than $1 million, you qualify for the Private Client Plan. Again, you receive all the perks of the previous two plans, in addition to several more.
To begin, you’ll get priority access to CFP, financial advisors, investment committee, and support, plus an investment portfolio mix of ETFs, individual stocks, and individual bonds (in certain situations).
You also receive family tiered billing; private banking services; estate, tax, and legacy portfolio construction; and donor-advised funds. Personal Capital also offers private clients a private equity and hedge fund review, deferred compensation strategy, as well as estate attorney and CPA collaboration.
Get started with Personal Capital
on Personal Capital’s secure website
Fee Structure and Accounts
The more money you invest through Personal Capital, the more money you’ll save in fees. If you invest up to $1 million, your fee comes to 0.89% of the assets being managed. If you invest more than $1 million, your first $3 million in assets are only charged a 0.79% fee. Then, your next $2 million is charged 0.69%.
The $5 million after that are charged 0.59% and the next $10 million are charged 0.49%. However, there aren’t any charged beyond the account management fees, so you don’t have to worry about annual, transfer, or closing fees.
So what types of investment accounts are supported through Personal Capital? There are many: both individual and joint non-retirement counts; Roth, traditional, SEP, and rollover IRAs; and trusts.
Through your Personal Capital investments, you can expect a healthy range in your portfolio. For example, when buying U.S. equities, they buy a diversified sample of at least 70 individual stocks that epitomize their tactical weighting approach and optimize your account for tax purposes.
Personal Capital also only purchases liquid securities, so that if you ever need to access cash quickly, you can receive funds within a settlement period of just one to three days.
Funds are held by Pershing Advisor Solutions, a Bank of New York Mellon Company. It is one of the largest U.S. custodians and currently holds more than a trillion dollars in global client assets.
Tax Optimization Strategies
Personal Capital uses several techniques and strategies to ensure clients are optimizing their taxes on investments. First, they entirely avoid mutual funds, which they regard as inefficient for tax purposes. Their asset location is personalized whether you have taxable accounts or retirement accounts.
For example, Personal Capital typically places high-yielding accounts and fixed income into a tax-deferred or exempt account. REITs are also generally placed in a retirement account because they pay nonqualified dividends.
Finally, Personal Capital utilizes tax-loss harvesting, meaning they use individual securities that realize losses and can, therefore, offset gains or provide a tax deduction.
Special Features
You can take advantage of some of Personal Capital’s online resources without even becoming a client. Just by creating a Personal Capital account, you can link all of your financial accounts for an investment checkup.
The program analyzes your bank accounts, credit cards, and investments to create recommendations on your asset allocations. You can then choose whether to make those adjustments to your investments.
Additionally, you can check holistically on how your investments are performing by considering how much you’re charged in fees. You can do this in one of two ways.
The first is through the Mutual Fund Analyzer, which you can compare performance (with fees) against the broader markets. Then you can use the general Fee Analyzer to see what you’re being charged on your non-taxable retirement accounts.
You can also use Personal Capital for a budget check-up that analyzes your saving and spending. You can even incorporate their Retirement Planner for long-term savings projections.
You’ll be provided with several scenarios, including best-case, worst-case, and most likely. It gives you a good idea of what you could potentially expect when you’re finally ready to retire.
All of these features run through the Personal Capital financial dashboard, so you can get a holistic view of your entire financial picture. You can use them on their mobile app or website.
Some of their investment management tools include a 401(k) Analyzer, Retirement Planner, Investment Checkup, Net Worth Calculator. Moreover, you still have the ability to contact a personal financial advisor.
As we mentioned earlier, Personal Capital implements five distinct strategies for investing. Learn a bit more about each one to get a better grasp of how your money would be managed by this advisor.
Modern Portfolio Theory
The prime directive here is to create an efficient portfolio for clients while yielding the highest possible return for the lowest possible risk.
Personal Capital works with six asset classes to provide this equilibrium, which are all meant to be liquid and broadly investible. These asset classes are U.S. stocks and bonds, international stocks and bonds, alternatives (including ETFs and commodities), and cash for liquidity.
Personalized Asset Allocation
There’s a reason the company is called Personal Capital: they understand that no two investors are exactly alike. That’s why they look at your individual data and financial goals to balance your portfolio’s risk and growth.
They use a proprietary Retirement Planner software that analyzes your spending and savings habits in addition to your projected income. This helps you determine what your financial future looks like and what you may need to change to reach your future goals.
Tax Optimization
We mentioned earlier that Personal Capital optimizes your taxes by using tax-loss harvesting and asset location, as well as avoiding mutual funds.
In fact, these steps could boost your annual returns by as much as 1%. While many financial advisors use one or two of these tactics, Personal Capital offers a truly robust strategy to make your portfolio more tax efficient.
Equal Sector and Style Weighting
Personal Capital’s strategy for diversification involves equalizing the composition of your portfolio by sector, size, and style.
The goal is to prevent bubbles and other volatile conditions from adversely affecting your investments too much. Likewise, they don’t rely on a few large companies, but instead spread out U.S. stock investments between 70 and 100 different stocks.
Disciplined Rebalancing
Your portfolio receives a daily review for any potential rebalancing needs. For high-level assets, they’re typically rebalanced when they deviate more than a few percentage points from the target.
Specific securities receive a smaller margin and are reviewed after just a 0.5% move from the target. Having a systematic review allows you to maximize your ability to buy low and sell high.
Who is Personal Capital best for?
Personal Capital offers truly extensive services for high net worth investors, particularly considering the low percentage of fees charged. This is especially true if you’re an investor with several million dollars in assets and who likes to have easy access to a dedicated financial advisory.
After all, in the Private Client tier of $1 million+, you can get advice on just about anything related to your finances, whether it’s about retirement, real estate, or anything in between.
That’s on top of the personalized asset management, so you have a one-stop-shop of both automated algorithms and a human point of contact who understands the larger picture concerning your finances.
Personal Capital also makes it easy for this type of investor to remain passive. If you appreciate their investment management and like how the allocation and review processes, then you don’t have to do much on your own.
After making headlines throughout 2023, artificial intelligence looks set to remain a dominant technology theme, with many mortgage professionals looking at how to make it work for them this year.
But new technology trends also cause disruption, particularly when they lead to potential job loss. And the rise of generative AI continues to raise as many questions as it does answers regarding accuracy and fairness.
While opinions about where AI tools fit across the financial services landscape vary depending on the industry, common themes are also emerging over the benefits and risks, according to a report released this week by Arizent, parent company of National Mortgage News. In the research, Arizent surveyed professionals across eight different financial segments: banking, insurance, mortgage, wealth management, municipal bonds, accounting and technology.
Comments from mortgage respondents ran the gamut from “I don’t see AI as being for the greater good” to “The uses for AI in the industry are infinite.”
Here are a few findings from the survey results looking at how mortgage businesses are approaching the growth of AI.
Amidst a backdrop of inflation, rising borrowing costs, and growing debt levels, employee financial wellness has been on the decline in recent years. According to PwC’s 2023 Employee Financial Wellness Survey, a full 60% of full-time employees are stressed about their finances. Indeed, employees are even more concerned about their finances today than during the height of the pandemic.
Given that money worries can take a toll on employee health and well-being, as well as productivity at work, it makes sense that a growing number of employers are enhancing support for financial wellness. Bank of America’s 2023 Workplace Benefits Report found that 97% of employers now feel responsible for employee financial wellness (up from 95% in 2021, and from 41% in 2013).
Regardless of how well-compensated your staff may be, this type of resource can help workers feel more financially confident and prepared for the future. Here’s a look at 10 reasons why adding this benefit is so important.
1. Decreases Distractions and Increases Productivity
According to PwC’s Survey (which included 3,638 full-time employed adults across a variety of industries), financially stressed employees tend to be more distracted and less engaged while at work. The study found that financial stress and money worries had a negative impact on the respondents’ sleep, mental health, self-esteem, physical health, and personal relationships. Nearly one-third of employees surveyed admitted that financial insecurity has negatively impacted their productivity at work.
When employees are able to easily get answers to their financial questions and access on-site support when dealing with money problems, there’s a good chance they’ll be less stressed about their finances and more able to focus on their jobs. That’s a win for both employees and employers.
2. Improves Employee Physical Health
Financial stressors have been found to correlate directly with not only mental health challenges but also with poor physical well-being. As the American Psychological Association points out in their Stress in America 2023 report, stress and anxiety put the body on high alert and ongoing stress can accumulate, causing inflammation, wearing on the immune system, and increasing the risk of a number of different ailments, including digestive issues, heart disease, weight gain, and stroke.
Providing your employees with the support they need now can go a long way toward staving off physical health challenges down the line.
3. Builds Loyalty
By offering financial wellness programs, employers demonstrate a commitment to their employees’ well-being, which can help foster employee loyalty and increase retention rates.
The PwC study found that just 54% of financially stressed employees felt there was a promising future for them at their employer, and they were twice as likely to be looking for a new job than employees who were less stressed about their personal finances. What’s more, 73% of financially stressed employees said they would be attracted to another employer that cares more about their financial well-being compared to just 54% of non-financially stressed employees.
Recommended: 3 Ways to Support Your Employees During Times of Uncertainty
4. Can Help Reduce the Burden of Student Debt
Employees struggling to pay down student debt often have difficulty contributing to 401(k) plans and achieving other financial goals, such as buying a house or car. By offering student loan repayment benefits and education, employers can reduce this burden and help employees plan for the future.
The good news is that these programs recently became more affordable. Under the Coronavirus Aid, Relief and Economic Security (CARES) Act, employers can now provide $5,250 tax-exempt annually for an employee’s student loan repayment through 2025. That means employees won’t pay income tax on contributions made by their employers toward educational assistance programs, yet the employer also gets a payroll tax exclusion on these funds.
A growing number of employers are offering some form of loan repayment support. In 2021, only 17% of companies offered any of these benefits. In October 2023, 34% of employers offered student loan benefits.
Recommended: How Student Loan Benefits Can Help Retain Employees
5. Employees Want It
According to the PwC study, the vast majority of employees want help with their finances. Not only that, the stigma around getting help with finances appears to be lifting. In 2023, employees overall were less likely to be embarrassed to ask for guidance or advice about their finances than they’ve been in the past: Just 33% said they find it embarrassing, compared to 42% in PwC’s 2019 survey.
In Bank of America’s Workplace Benefits Report (which surveyed more than 1,300 employees and nearly 800 employers), 76% of employees said they felt that employers are responsible for their financial wellness.
6. Can Help Parents Save for Future College Expenses
In a June 2023 survey of 1,000 parents of teenagers by Discover Student Loans, 70% of subjects said they were worried about financing their kids’ college expenses. In addition, 68% of parents were concerned about the amount of debt their kids will be saddled with even after the parents offer up their own financial assistance.
Providing employees with much-needed information about 529 college savings plans and giving them a convenient way to contribute directly from their pay, can go a long way in helping to relieve the stress associated with one of their top financial concerns.
While in the past, the options for using unspent 529 funds were limited (and often meant facing tax and penalty consequences), the SECURE 2.0 Act allows savers to roll unused 529 funds — to a lifetime limit of $35,000 — into the beneficiary’s Roth IRA, without incurring the usual 10% penalty for nonqualified withdrawals or generating any taxable income. The new rule went into effect January 1, 2024 and might come as a relief to any employees who worry about having excess funds stuck in a 529 should their child end up not needing the money.
Recommended: The Importance of Offering 529 Plan Contributions in an Employee Benefits Package
7. Helps to Clarify Confusing Financial Topics
Many young professionals want to buy their first home, but they don’t know how to save for a down payment or secure a mortgage. New to the workforce, they also struggle to understand financial topics they weren’t taught in school, such as income tax deductions (especially as they get married and have children), the necessity of life insurance, and wealth management and investing.
At the same time, older employees might feel overwhelmed by the financial options available to them. With educational resources and access to experts through a financial wellness program, employees can find the information they need from vetted and trusted sources. In PwC’s survey, 68% of employees said they use their employer’s financial wellness services such as coaching, workshops or online tools.
8. Protects Employees
Sometimes healthcare benefits just aren’t enough. In the event of a health emergency, employees need to be prepared for insurance deductibles and other unexpected costs. Solid financial preparations can prevent them from dipping into savings or making hardship withdrawals from 401(k) plans. Those withdrawals can not only damage their prospects for long-term financial stability, but also create administrative headaches for HR.
Providing an automated emergency savings program is fast becoming a way for employers to help provide a foundation for financial well-being for workers. These plans allow employees to make paycheck contributions to a dedicated account (possibly with a company match), and can help make your workforce more financially resilient in the face of life’s “What Ifs.”
Recommended: How Much Should Your Employees Have in Emergency Savings?
9. Enhances Your Organization’s DEI Efforts
These days, many employers of all sizes have a diversity, equity and inclusion (DEI) strategy or program in place to increase inclusion in the workplace. Offering financial wellness benefits to employees is yet another way to foster a more equitable company culture.
The reason is that financial wellness benefits can help level the playing field by helping to empower minorities and underrepresented groups, who may have more financial stress and encounter more barriers to economic opportunities. Giving all employee populations access to programs that can help them buy their first homes, pay down student debt, save for emergencies, and invest for the future allows them to build wealth for generations to come.
Recommended: How to Support Your Low-Wage Workforce
10. Helps Employees Plan for Retirement
Employer-sponsored retirement plans can help to ease the financial stress that stems from retirement planning. In addition to offering a retirement plan, you might also provide education programs on planning for retirement, understanding different types of accounts available, and best places to get started based on age and goals.
In addition, you might consider instituting a 401(k) match for their student loan payments. Thanks to a provision in Secure Act 2.0 (that went into effect at the start of 2024), companies can match employees’ qualified student loan payments with contributions to their retirement accounts, including 401(k)s, 403(b)s, SIMPLE IRAs, and government 457(b) plans. With this benefit, employees won’t need to make the decision regarding whether to contribute to their 401(k)s or make student loan payments.
Recommended: How Does an HR Team Implement a Student Loan Matching or Direct Repayment Benefit?
The Takeaway
Financial stress is a major concern for today’s employees, and something a growing number of workers want their employers to help with. Providing support for financial wellness can help boost employee engagement and retention, stave off mental and physical health concerns, help your company recruit top talent, and even lead to a more inclusive and equitable workplace.
SoFi at Work can help. We provide the benefit platforms and education resources that can enhance financial wellness throughout your workforce.
Photo credit: iStock/Inside Creative House
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