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Kelly Suzan Waggoner
April 8, 2024 at 7:43 AM
Rates on popular 30-year and 15-year fixed mortgages start the week at under 7%, though with a week-over-week increase on most terms as of Monday, April 8, 2024.
The current average interest rate on a 30-year fixed mortgage is 6.97% for purchase and 6.99% for refinance — up 9 basis points for purchase and 11 basis points for refinance over the past week. Increases on a 15-year term were a more modest 4 basis points week over week for both purchase and refinance, bringing rates to 6.48% for purchase and 6.42% for refinance. The average rate for a 30-year fixed jumbo mortgage is 7.09%.
Purchase rates for Monday, April 8, 2024
30-year fixed rate — 6.97%
20-year fixed rate — 6.75%
15-year fixed rate — 6.38%
10-year fixed rate — 6.27%
5/1 adjustable rate mortgage — 6.56%
30-year fixed FHA rate — 6.85%
30-year fixed VA rate — 7.05%
30-year fixed jumbo rate — 7.09%
Refinance rates for Monday, April 8, 2024
30-year fixed rate — 6.99%
20-year fixed rate — 6.74%
15-year fixed rate — 6.42%
10-year fixed rate — 6.28%
5/1 adjustable rate mortgage — 6.42%
30-year fixed FHA rate — 6.94%
30-year fixed VA rate — 7.69%
30-year fixed jumbo rate — 7.08%
Freddie Mac weekly mortgage report
Freddie Mac reports an average 6.82% for a 30-year fixed-rate mortgage, up three basis points from last week, according to its weekly survey of nationwide lenders published on April 4, 2024. The fixed rate for a 15-year mortgage is 6.06%, down five basis points from last week.
Sam Khater, Freddie Mac’s chief economist, says of the report, “While incoming economic signals indicate lower rates of inflation, we do not expect rates will decrease meaningfully in the near-term. On the plus side, inventory is improving somewhat, which should help temper home price growth.”
Current mortgage rates for April 8, 2024
The Fed rate does not determine mortgage rates, though it sets benchmarks that indirectly affect rates on financial products like mortgages, personal loans and deposit accounts. The Fed has a firm goal of a 2% inflation rate, and with favorable economic reports on the job market, it’s unlikely the reserve will cut rates until that goal is within reality’s reach.
Mortgage rates in the news
Mortgage lenders keep a close eye on the key interest rate set by the Federal Reserve, the U.S.’s central bank. Called the fed rate, it’s the benchmark that affects rates on deposit accounts, loans and other financial products. Typically, as the Fed rate rises, so do APYs on savings products like CDs, high-yield savings accounts and money market accounts. Mortgage and home loan rates don’t follow the fed rate as closely, but they do reflect the same elements the Fed evaluates when making decisions on the benchmark — especially inflation.
Federal benchmark: Summer rate cut expected
At the conclusion of its rate-setting policy meeting on March 20, 2024, the Fed left the federal funds target interest rate of 5.25% to 5.50% unchanged, marking the fifth consecutive time it’s held rates steady since July 2023. In its post-meeting statement, the Federal Reserve repeated earlier concerns about cutting its key interest rate until it’s confident “that inflation is moving sustainably toward 2 percent.” Bankers forecast three rate cuts by the end of the year, predicting the first to come not when the Fed meets again later this month, but instead at its summer meeting in June 2024.
The Federal Reserve increased the target interest rate 11 times from March 2022 to July 2023 in an effort to combat the highest inflation in four decades coming out of the pandemic. While inflation has cooled, Consumer Price Index data released on March 12 showed a month-over-month increase in consumer prices — a widely used indicator for inflation. The next CPI report is due for release next week on April 10, with inflation nowcasting from the Federal Reserve Bank of Cleveland suggesting a welcome decrease in rates of inflation.
Government agency Freddie Mac released its March 20 economic outlook on the housing and mortgage market that predicts mortgage rates to stay at 6.5% or higher through the summer.
NAR settlement could change homebuying
The anticipated summer rate cut could coincide with a major change in the way Americans buy and sell homes. On March 15, the National Association of Realtors announced it had agreed to a settlement that, if approved by a federal judge, would bring an end to longstanding real estate broker commissions of up to 6% of a home’s purchase price. The settlement isn’t expected to affect mortgage rates, yet it paves the way for consumers to negotiate what they pay for an agent’s services, potentially saving homebuyers money in the long run — just in time for summer home sales.
4 top factors that affect your mortgage rate
The difference of even half a percentage point on your interest rate can save you hundreds of dollars a month and thousands of dollars over the life of your mortgage, but the mortgage rate you’re ultimately offered depends on the mortgage you’re interested in, payments you’re willing to pay up front and your overall financial health.
Your credit score. Knowing your credit score can help you shop around for lenders you’re likely to get approval through, as well as understand the type of mortgage for your lifestyle and income. The best mortgage rates go to borrowers with good to excellent credit — typically a FICO credit score of at least 670 — though even with fair credit, you may be able to find a mortgage offering decent rates.
Your down payment. The more money you can put down toward your home, the better it benefits your interest rate. Paying at least 20% of your home’s purchase price up front generally results in a lower interest rate — and you can avoid mortgage insurance, which increases your total cost.
Your loan term. While the 30-year mortgage remains a popular way for Americans to purchase homes, you can find terms of 20 years, 15 years and 10 years. Shorter loan terms usually come with lower interest rates, though with higher monthly payments. Longer mortgage terms can result in smaller monthly payments, though you’ll pay higher total interest over the life of your loan.
Interest rate type. Mortgage rates come with two basic types of rates — fixed and variable. Fixed-rate mortgages offer a consistent interest rate over the life of your loan, whereas adjustable-rate mortgages (ARMs) often start with a lower fixed rate for an agreed-on time and then adjust to a variable rate based on market conditions for the remainder of your term. Choosing between these two rates depends on your financial goals and tolerance for risk.
Frequently asked questions about mortgage rates
What are mortgage lenders?
Lenders are financial institutions that loan money to homebuyers. A lender is different from a loan servicer, which typically handles the operational tasks of your loan, like processing payments, talking directly with borrowers and sending monthly statements.
What does it mean to refinance a mortgage?
Refinancing is a process of trading in your current mortgage to another lender for lower rates and better terms than your current loan. With a refinance, the new lender pays off your old mortgage and you then pay your monthly statements from the new lender.
What factors influence mortgage rates?
Mortgage rates are determined by many factors that include inflation rates, economic conditions, housing market trends and the Federal Reserve’s target interest rate. Lenders also consider your personal credit score, the amount available for your down payment, the property you’re interested in and other terms of the loan you’re requesting, like 30-year or 15-year offers.
When is the best time to lock in a mortgage rate?
Mortgage rates can fluctuate daily, so it’s best to lock in a rate when you’re comfortable with the offered rate and conditions of the loan.
Can I negotiate my mortgage rate?
It’s not likely — lenders consider the market conditions and other financial factors when determining rates. You can, however, ask about how you can reduce costs in other ways when comparing mortgage lenders. For instance, many lenders offer lower rates in exchange for “mortgage points” — upfront fees you pay to your lender. A mortgage point could cost 1% of your mortgage amount, which means about $5,000 on a $500,000 home loan, with each point lowering your interest rate by about 0.25%, depending on your lender and loan.
Editor’s note: Annual percentage yields shown are as of Monday, April 8, 2024, at 7:45 a.m. ET. APYs and promotional rates for some products can vary by region and are subject to change.
A mortgage broker acts as an intermediary between you and potential lenders. The broker’s job is to compare mortgage lenders on your behalf and find interest rates that fit your needs. Mortgage brokers have lists of lenders they work with, which can make your life easier.
Mortgage brokers are licensed and regulated financial professionals. They gather documents from you, pull your credit history, and verify your income and employment, using the information to help you apply for loans and negotiate terms in a short time.
Once you settle on a loan and a lender that works best for you, your mortgage broker will collaborate with the lender’s underwriting department, the closing agent (usually the title company) and your real estate agent to keep the transaction running smoothly through closing day.
A mortgage broker can save you time and may offer you a wider array of options than if you shop on your own. But brokers don’t work for free, so you should expect to pay for their services at some point in the process.
1. What makes mortgage brokers different from loan officers?
Loan officers, as opposed to mortgage brokers, are employees of one lender who are paid set salaries, plus bonuses. Loan officers can write only the types of loans their employer chooses to offer.
Mortgage brokers, meanwhile, deal with many lenders to find loans for their clients. Mortgage brokers, who can work within a mortgage brokerage firm or independently, may be able to give borrowers access to a broad selection of loan types.
2. How does a mortgage broker get paid?
Mortgage brokers are most often paid by lenders, sometimes by borrowers, but, by law, never both. That law — the Dodd-Frank Act — also prohibits mortgage brokers from charging hidden fees or basing their compensation on a borrower’s interest rate.
You can also choose to pay the mortgage broker yourself. That’s called “borrower-paid compensation.” Though even when the fee is paid by the lender, often it is rolled into the loan itself, meaning the borrower eventually still pays the bill.
Shop around for mortgage brokers and ask how much to expect to pay in fees, which are typically 1% to 2% of the loan amount. The competitiveness — and home prices — in your market will have a hand in dictating what mortgage brokers charge. Federal law limits how high compensation can go.
3. Is a mortgage broker right for me?
You can save time by using a mortgage broker; it can take hours to apply for preapproval with different lenders, and then there’s the back-and-forth communication involved in underwriting the loan and ensuring the transaction stays on track.
However, that convenience comes at a cost, which is something to consider if you’re especially tight on funds. You also might sacrifice a sense of control and direct interaction with a lender when you turn the process over to a broker, a feeling that could be unnerving when making such a big purchase.
If you seek expert guidance and streamlined lender comparisons, and you are willing to pay a premium for these services, a mortgage broker may be right for you.
🤓Nerdy Tip
When choosing a lender, pay attention to lender fees. Specifically, ask what fees will appear on Page 2 of your Loan Estimate form in the Loan Costs section under “A: Origination Charges.” Then, take the Loan Estimate you receive from each lender, place them side by side and compare your interest rate and all of the fees and closing costs.
That head-to-head comparison among different options is the best way to make the right choice.
4. How do I choose a mortgage broker?
The best way to find a mortgage broker is to ask friends and relatives for referrals, but make sure they have actually used the broker.
Learn all you can about the broker’s services, communication style, level of knowledge and approach to clients.
Another referral source: Ask your real estate agent for the names of brokers that they have worked with and trust. Some real estate companies offer an in-house mortgage broker as part of their suite of services, but you’re not obligated to go with that company or individual.
Finding the right mortgage broker is just like choosing the best mortgage lender: It’s wise to interview at least three people to find out which services they offer, how much experience they have and how they can help simplify the process.
Check your state’s professional licensing authority to ensure they have mortgage broker’s licenses in good standing.
Also, read online reviews and check with the Better Business Bureau to assess whether the broker you’re considering has a sound reputation.
Frequently asked questions
What exactly does a mortgage broker do?
A mortgage broker finds lenders with loans, rates, and terms to fit your needs. They do a lot of the legwork during the mortgage application process, potentially saving you time.
How do mortgage brokers get paid?
Mortgage broker fees most often are paid by lenders, which may add to the total cost of a loan, though they sometimes can be paid directly by borrowers. Competition and home prices will influence how much mortgage brokers get paid.
What’s the difference between a mortgage broker and a loan officer?
Mortgage brokers will work with many lenders to find the best loan for your situation. Loan officers work for one lender.
How do I find a mortgage broker?
The best way to find a mortgage broker is through referrals from family, friends and your real estate agent. But don’t just take their word for it. Do your homework when selecting a mortgage broker by investigating their licenses, reading online reviews and checking with the Better Business Bureau.
Explore mortgages today and get started on your homeownership goals
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A home equity loan is a lump sum of money you can borrow at a fixed rate based on the equity, or ownership stake, in your home. If you already paid off 15% to 20% of your house, this one-time installment loan can be used to cover major expenses, from home renovations to paying off debt.
Home equity loans have fixed interest rates, so your monthly payments are predictable and easy to budget for. But because your home acts as collateral for the loan, you could risk foreclosure if you fall behind on repayments.
I’ve spoken with experts about the advantages and disadvantages of home equity loans, how they work and where to find the best rates. Here’s what I’ve uncovered.
This week’s home equity loan rates
Here are the average rates for home equity loans and home equity lines of credit as of March 27, 2024.
Loan type
This week’s rate
Last week’s rate
Difference
10-year, $30,000 home equity loan
8.73%
8.73%
None
15-year, $30,000 home equity loan
8.70%
8.70%
None
$30,000 HELOC
9.01%
8.99%
+0.02
Note: These rates come from a survey conducted by CNET sister site Bankrate. The averages are determined from a survey of the top 10 banks in the top 10 US markets.
Current home equity loan rates and trends
Though home equity loan rates will vary depending on the lender and loan type, their rates are generally lower than personal loans or credit card annual percentage rates.
Home equity loan rates aren’t directly set by the Federal Reserve, but adjustments to the federal funds rate impact the borrowing cost for financial products like home equity loans and home equity lines of credit, aka HELOCs.
Since March 2022, the Fed has hiked its benchmark rate a total of 11 times in an attempt to slow the economy and bring inflation down, driving home equity loan rates up alongside. Though the Fed has kept interest rates steady since last summer, home equity loan rates have remained elevated for borrowers. Home equity rates are likely to stay high until the central bank begins cutting interest rates, projected for later this year.
With home equity loans, you tap into your equity without giving up the rate on your primary mortgage, making them a popular alternative to cash-out refinances. If you use a home equity loan to install solar panels or renovate your kitchen, you get the added benefit of increasing your home’s value.
“Most homeowners with mortgages in 2024 are choosing home equity loans or HELOCs, instead of a cash-out refinance, to avoid losing their attractive interest rates,” said Vikram Gupta, head of home equity at PNC Bank.
Best home equity loan rates of March 2024
Lender
APR
Loan amount
Loan terms
Max LTV ratio
U.S. Bank
From 8.40%
Not specified
Up to 30 years
Not specified
TD Bank
7.99% (0.25% autopay discount included)
From $10,000
5 to 30 years
Not specified
Connexus Credit Union
From 7.20%
From $5,000
5 to 15 years
90%
KeyBank
From 10.29% (0.25% autopay discount included)
From $25,000
1 to 30 years
80% for standard home equity loans, 90% for high-value home equity loans
Spring EQ
Fill out application for personalized rates
Up to $500,000
Not specified
90%
Third Federal Savings & Loan
From 7.29%
$10,000 to $200,000
Up to 30 years
80%
Frost Bank
From 7.3% (0.25% autopay discount included)
$2,000 to $500,000
15 to 20 years
90%
Regions Bank
From 6.75% to 14.125% (0.25% autopay discount included)
$10,000 to $250,000
7, 10, 15, 20 or 30 years
89%
Discover
6.99% for 1st liens, 7.99% for 2nd liens
$35,000 to $300,000
10, 15, 20 or 30 years
90%
BMO Harris
From 8.84% (0.5% autopay discount not included)
From $25,000
5 to 20 years
Not specified
Note: The above annual percentage rates are current as of March 1, 2024. Your APR will depend on such factors as your credit score, income, loan term and whether you enroll in autopay or other lender specific requirements.
Best home equity loan lenders of March 2024
U.S. Bank
Good for nationwide availability
U.S. Bank is the fifth largest banking institution in the US. It offers both home equity loans and HELOCs in 47 states. You can apply for a home equity loan or HELOC through an online application, by phone or in person. If you want a loan estimate for a home equity loan without completing a full application, you can get one by speaking with a banker over the phone.
APR: From 8.40%
Max LTV ratio: Not specified
Max debt-to-income ratio: Not specified
Min credit score: 660
Loan amount: $15,000 to $750,000 (up to $1 million for California properties)
Term lengths: Up to 30 years
Fees: None
Additional requirements: Subject to credit approval
Perks: You can receive a 0.5% rate discount by enrolling in automatic payments from a U.S. Bank checking or savings account.
TD Bank
Good for price transparency
Primarily operating on the East Coast, TD Bank offers home equity loans and HELOCs in 15 states. You can apply for a TD Bank home equity loan or HELOC online, by phone or by visiting a TD Bank in person. The online application includes a calculator that will tell you the maximum amount you can borrow based on the information you input. You can also see a full breakdown of rates, fees and monthly payments. No credit check is required for this service.
APR: From 7.99% (0.25% autopay discount included)
Max LTV ratio: Not specified
Max debt-to-income ratio: Not specified
Min credit score: Not specified
Loan amount: From $10,000
Term lengths: Five to 30 years
Fees: $99 origination fee at closing. Closing costs only application to loan amounts greater than $500,000.
Additional requirements: Loan amounts less than $25,000 are available only for primary residence property use.
Perks: You will receive a 0.25% discount if you enroll in autopay from a TD personal checking or savings account.
Connexus Credit Union
Good branch network
Connexus Credit Union operates in all 50 states, but it offers home equity loans and HELOCs in 46 states (excluding Alaska, Hawaii, Maryland and Texas). The credit union has more than 6,000 local branches. To apply for a home equity loan or HELOC with Connexus, you can fill out a three-step application online or in person. You won’t be able to see a personalized rate or product terms without a credit check.
APR: From 7.20%
Max LTV ratio: 90%
Max-debt-to-income ratio: Not specified
Min credit score: Not specified
Loan amount: From $5,000
Term lengths: Five to 15 years
Fees: No annual fee. Closing costs can range from $175 to $2,000, depending on your loan terms and property location. It has returned loan payments fees of $15, convenience fees of $9.95 (for paying by debit or credit card online) and $14.95 (for paying by phone) and a forced place insurance processing fee of $12.
Additional requirements: Because Connexus is a credit union, its products and services are only available to members. Member eligibility is open to most people: you (or a family member) just need to be a member of one of Connexus’s partner groups, reside in one of the communities or counties on Connexus’s list or become a member of the Connexus Association with a $5 donation to Connexus’s partner nonprofit.
Perks: Flexible membership options
KeyBank
Good online application user experience
Based in Cleveland, KeyBank offers home equity loans to customers in 15 states and HELOCs to customers in 44 states. Aside from a standard home equity loan, KeyBank offers a few different HELOC options. The KeyBank application allows you to apply for multiple products at one time. If you’re not sure whether KeyBank loans are available in your area, the application will tell you once you input your ZIP code. If you’re an existing KeyBank customer, you can skim through the application and import your personal information from your account.
APR: From 10.29% (0.25% client discount included)
Max LTV ratio: 80% for standard home equity loans, 90% for high-value home equity loans
Max debt-to-income ratio: Not specified
Min credit score: Not specified
Loan amount: From $25,000
Term lengths: One to 30 years
Fees: Origination fee of $295. Closing costs aren’t specified.
Additional requirements: Borrowers must be at least 18 years of age and reside in one of the states KeyBank operates in.
Perks: KeyBank offers a 0.25% rate discount for clients who have eligible checking and savings accounts with them.
Spring EQ
Good option for high debt-to-income ratio limits
Spring EQ was founded in 2016 and serves customers in 38 states. Spring EQ offers home equity loans and HELOCs. Spring EQ doesn’t display rates for its home lending products online — you must complete an application to see your personalized rate. The Spring EQ loan application process is simple though. Customers can see an extensive breakdown of their loan term and rate options without needing to undergo a credit check or provide their Social Security number.
APR: Not specified
Max LTV ratio: 90%
Max debt-to-income ratio: 50%
Min credit score: 640
Loan amount: Up to $500,000
Term lengths: Not specified
Fees: Spring EQ loans may be subject to an origination fee of $995 and an annual fee of $99 in some states.
Additional requirements: Spring EQ does not display rates for its home lending products online — you must complete an application to see your personalized rate.
Perks: Spring EQ has a higher maximum DTI ratio than most other lenders — compare 50% with the typical 43% average.
Third Federal Savings & Loan
Good option for rate match guarantee
Third Federal Savings & Loan first opened in 1938. Today, the bank offers home equity loans in eight states and HELOCs in 26 states. Third Federal offers a lowest rate guarantee on its HELOCs and home equity loans, meaning Third Federal will offer you the lowest interest rate relative to other similar lenders or pay you $1,000. You can apply for a home equity loan or HELOC on the Third Federal website. You won’t have to register an account to apply, but you’re still able to save your application and return to it later.
APR: From 7.29%
Max LTV ratio: 80%
Max debt-to-income ratio: Not specified
Min credit score: Not specified
Loan amount: $10,000 to $200,000
Term lengths: Five to 30 years
Fees: Home equity loans and HELOCs with Third Federal have an annual fee of $65 (waived the first year). There are no application fees, closing fees or origination fees.
Additional requirements: Specific requirements aren’t listed.
Perks: If you set up autopay from an existing Third Federal account, you’ll be eligible for a 0.25% rate discount.
Frost Bank
Good option for Texas borrowers
Frost Bank’s home equity loans and HELOCs are only available to Texas residents. You can apply for a home equity loan or HELOC on the Frost Bank website, but you’ll need to create an account. According to the website, the application will only take you 15 minutes.
APR: From 7.3% (0.25% autopay discount included, only available for 2nd liens)
Max LTV ratio: 90%
Max debt-to-income ratio: Not specified
Min credit score: Not specified
Loan amount: $2,000 to $500,000
Term lengths: 15 or 20 years
Fees: No application fee, annual fee or closing costs. Frost Bank does charge a $15 monthly service fee, which can be waived with a Frost Plus Account.
Additional requirements: Borrowers must reside in Texas. The bank also requires proof of homeowners insurance.
Perks: 0.25% rate discount for clients who enroll in autopay from a Frost Bank checking or savings account. However, this feature is only available for second liens.
Regions Bank
Good rate discounts
Regions Bank is one of the nation’s largest banking, mortgage and wealth management service providers. Regions offers home equity loans and HELOCs in 15 states. You can apply for a Regions home equity loan or HELOC online, in person or over the phone. You’ll have to create an account with Regions to apply. Before you create an account, though, you can use the bank’s own rate calculator to estimate your rate and monthly payment.
APR: From 6.75% to 14.125%(0.25% autopay discount included)
Max LTV ratio: 89%
Max debt-to-income ratio: Not specified
Min credit score: Not specified
Loan amount: $10,000 to $250,000
Term lengths: Seven, 10, 15, 20 or 30 years
Fees: No closing costs and no annual fees. Late fees apply for 5% of the payment amount. There is a returned check fee of $15 and an over limit fee of $29.
Additional requirements: Not specified.
Perks: Rate discounts between 0.25% and 0.50% to those who elect to have their monthly payments automatically debited from a Regions checking account.
Discover
Good option for no fees or closings costs
Discover is known primarily for its credit cards, but it also offers home equity loans — available in 48 states. The lender does not offer HELOCs at all. You can apply for a home equity loan from Discover online or over the phone. The application process takes approximately six to eight weeks in total, according to Discover’s website.
APR: 6.99% for first liens, 7.99% for second liens
Max LTV ratio: 90%
Max debt-to-income ratio: 43%
Min credit score: 620
Loan amount: $35,000 to $300,000
Term lengths: 10, 15, 20 and 30 years
Fees: None
Additional requirements: Specific requirements not listed.
Perks: The lender charges no origination fees, application fees, appraisal fees or mortgage taxes.
BMO Harris
Good option for second liens
BMO Harris products and services are available in 48 states (all but New York and Texas). BMO Harris offers home equity loans and three variations of a HELOC. You can apply for a home equity loan or HELOC online or in person, but in order to get personalized rates, you’ll have to speak with a representative on the phone. Getting personalized rates doesn’t require a hard credit check.
Home equity loans from BMO Harris are only available as second liens. If you have already paid off your mortgage, a rate-lock HELOC from BMO Harris may be a better option.
APR: From 8.84% (0.5% autopay discount not included)
Max LTV ratio: Not specified
Max debt-to-income ratio: Not specified
Min credit score: 700
Loan amount: From $5,000
Term lengths: Five to 20 years
Fees: There is no application fee. BMO Harris will also pay closing costs for loans secured by an owner-occupied 1-to-4-family residence. If you pay off your loan within 36 months of opening, you may be responsible for recoupment fees.
Additional requirements: Home equity loans are only available as a second lien (meaning you can’t be mortgage free)
Perks: If you enroll in autopay with a BMO Harris checking account, you’ll be eligible for a 0.5% rate discount.
What is a home equity loan?
A home equity loan is a fixed-rate installment loan secured by your home as a second mortgage. You’ll get a lump sum payment upfront and then repay the loan in equal monthly payments over a period of time. Because your house is used as a collateral, the lender can foreclose on it if you default on your payments.
Most lenders require you to have 15% to 20% equity in your home to secure a home equity loan. To determine how much equity you have, subtract your remaining mortgage balance from the value of your home. For example, if your home is worth $500,000 and you owe $350,000, you have $150,000 in equity. The next step is to determine your loan-to-value ratio, or LTV ratio, which is your outstanding mortgage balance divided by your home’s current value. So in this case the calculation would be:
$350,000 / $500,000 = 0.7
In this example, you have a 70% LTV ratio. Most lenders will let you borrow around 75% to 90% of your home’s value minus what you owe on your primary mortgage. Assuming a lender will let you borrow up to 90% of your home equity, you can use the formula to see how that would be:
$500,000 [current appraised value] X 0.9 [maximum equity percentage you can borrow] – $350,000 [outstanding mortgage balance] = $100,000 [what the lender will let you borrow]
A standard repayment period for a home equity loan is between five and 30 years. Under the loan, you make fixed-rate payments that never change. If interest rates go up, your loan rate remains unchanged.
Second mortgages such as home equity loans and HELOCs don’t alter a homeowner’s primary mortgage. This lets you borrow against your home’s equity without needing to exchange your primary mortgage’s rate for today’s higher rates.
Home equity loans have fixed interest rates, which is a positive if you’re looking for predictable monthly payments. The rate you lock in when you take out your loan will be constant for the entire term, even if market interest rates rise.
Reasons to get a home equity loan
A home equity loan is a good choice if you need a large sum of cash all at once. You can use that cash for anything you’d like — it doesn’t have to be home-related.However, some uses make more sense than others.
Home renovations and improvements: If you want to upgrade your kitchen, install solar panels or add on a second bathroom, you can use the money from a home equity loan to pay for the cost of these renovations. Then, at tax time, you can deduct the interest you pay on the loan — as long as the renovations increase the value of your home and you meet certain IRS criteria.
Consolidating high-interest debt: Debt consolidation is a strategy where you take out one large loan to pay off the balances on multiple smaller loans, typically done to streamline your finances or get a lower interest rate. Because home equity loan interest rates are typically lower than those of credit cards, they can be a great option to consolidate your high-interest credit card debt, letting you pay off debt faster and save money on interest in the long run. The only downside? Credit card and personal loan lenders can’t take your home from you if you stop making your payments, but home equity lenders can.
College tuition: Instead of using student loans to cover the cost of college for yourself or a loved one, you can use the cash from a home equity loan. If you qualify for federal student loans, though, they’re almost always a better option than a home equity loan. Federal loans have better borrower protections and offer more flexible repayment options in the event of financial hardship. But if you’ve maxed out your financial aid and federal student loans, a home equity loan can be a viable option to cover the difference.
Medical expenses: You can avoid putting unexpected medical expenses on a credit card by tapping into your home equity before a major medical procedure. Or, if you have outstanding medical bills, you can pay them off with the funds from a home equity loan. Before you do this, it’s worth asking if you can negotiate a payment plan directly with your medical provider.
Business expenses: If you want to start a small business or side hustle but lack money to get it going, a home equity loan can provide the funding without many hoops to jump through. However, you may find that dedicated small business loans are a better, less risky option.
Down payment on a second home: Homeowners can leverage their home’s equity to fund a down payment on a second home or investment property. But you should only use a home equity loan to buy a second home if you can comfortably afford multiple mortgage payments over the long term.
Experts don’t recommend using a home equity loan for discretionary expenses like a vacation or wedding. Instead, try saving up money in advance for these expenses so you can pay for them without taking on unnecessary debt.
Pros
One lump sum payment of total loan up front.
Fixed interest rate, meaning you won’t have to worry about your rate rising over the repayment period.
Typically lower interest rate than credit cards or personal loans.
Little to no restrictions on what you can use the money for.
Cons
Your home is used as collateral, meaning it can be taken from you if you default on the loan.
If you’re still paying off your mortgage, this loan payment will be on top of that.
Home equity loans can come with closing costs and other fees.
May be hard to qualify for if you don’t have enough equity.
Home equity loan vs. HELOC
Home equity loans and HELOCs are similar but have a few key distinctions. Both let you draw on your home’s equity and require you to use your home as collateral to secure your loan. The two major differences are the way you receive the money and how you pay it back.
A home equity loan gives you the money all at once as a lump sum, whereas a HELOC lets you take money out in installments over a long period of time, typically 10 years. Home equity loans have fixed-rate payments that will never go up, but most HELOCs have variable interest rates that rise and fall with the prime rate.
A home equity loan is better if:
You want a fixed-rate payment: Your monthly payment will never change even if interest rates rise.
You want one lump sum of money: You receive the entire loan upfront with a home equity loan.
You know the exact amount of money you need: If you know the amount you need and don’t expect it to change, a home equity loan likely makes more sense than a HELOC.
A HELOC is better if:
You need money over a long period of time: You can take the money as you need it and only pay interest on the amounts you withdraw, not the full loan amount, as is the case with a home equity loan.
You want a low introductory interest rate: Although HELOC rates may increase over time, they also typically offer lower introductory interest rates than home equity loans. So you could save money on interest charges.
Home equity loans vs. cash-out refinances
A cash-out refinance is when you replace your existing mortgage with a new mortgage, typically to secure a lower interest rate and more favorable terms. Unlike a traditional refinance, though, you take out a new mortgage for the home’s entire value — not just the amount you owe on your mortgage. You then receive the equity you’ve already paid off in your home as a cash payout.
For example, if your home is worth $450,000, and you owe $250,000 on your loan, you would refinance for the entire $450,000, rather than the amount you owe on your mortgage. Your new cash-out refinance home loan would replace your existing mortgage and then offer you a portion of the equity you built (in this case $200,000) as a cash payout.
Both a cash-out refi and a home equity loan will provide you with a lump sum of cash that you’ll repay in fixed amounts over a specific time period, but they have some important differences. A cash-out refinance replaces your current mortgage payment. When you receive a lump sum of cash from a cash-out refi, it’s added back onto the balance of your new mortgage, usually causing your monthly payment to increase. A home equity loan is different — it doesn’t replace your existing mortgage and instead adds an additional monthly payment to your expenses.
Who qualifies for a home equity loan?
Although it varies by lender, to qualify for a home equity loan, you’re typically required to meet the following criteria:
At least 15% to 20% equity built up in your home: Home equity is the amount of home you own, based on how much you’ve paid toward your mortgage. Subtract what you owe on your mortgage and other loans from the current appraised value of your house to figure out your home equity number.
Adequate, verifiable income and stable employment: Proof of income is a standard requirement to qualify for a HELOC. Check your lender’s website to see what forms and paperwork you will need to submit along with your application.
A minimum credit score of 620: Lenders use your credit score to determine the likelihood that you’ll repay the loan on time. Having a strong credit score — at least 700 — will help you qualify for a lower interest rate and more amenable loan terms.
A debt-to-income ratio of 43% or less: Divide your total monthly debts by your gross monthly income to get your DTI. Like your credit score, your DTI helps lenders determine your capacity to make consistent payments toward your loan. Some lenders prefer a DTI of 36% or less.
A home equity loan is better if:
You don’t want to pay private mortgage insurance: Some cash-out refinances require PMI, which can add hundreds of dollars to your payments, but home equity loans don’t.
You can’t complete a refinance: With rates rising, it’s possible that your mortgage rate is lower than current refinance rates. If that’s the case, it likely won’t make financial sense for you to refinance. Instead, you can use a home equity loan to take out only the money you need, rather than replacing your entire mortgage with a higher interest rate loan.
A cash-out refinance is better if:
Refinance rates are lower than your current mortgage rate: If you can secure a lower interest rate by refinancing, this could save you money in interest, while providing access to a lump sum of cash.
You want only one monthly payment: The amount you borrow gets added back to the balance of your mortgage so you make only one payment to your lender every month.
Less stringent eligibility requirements: If you don’t have great credit or you have a high debt-to-income ratio, or DTI, you may have an easier time qualifying for a cash-out refi compared with a home equity loan.
Lower interest rates: Cash-out refinances sometimes offer more favorable interest rates than home equity loans.
Tips for choosing a lender
You’ll want to consider what type of financial institution best suits your needs. In addition to mortgage lenders, financial institutions that offer home equity loans include banks, credit unions and online-only lenders.
“Select a lender that makes you feel comfortable and informed with the home equity loan process,” said Rob Cook, vice president of marketing, digital and analytics for Discover Home Loans. “Look at what tools a lender makes available to borrowers to help inform their decision. For many borrowers, being able to apply and manage their application online is important.”
One option is to work with the lender that originated your first mortgage as you already have a relationship and a history of on-time payments. Many banks and credit unions also offer discounted rates and other benefits when you become a customer.
Some lenders offer lower interest rates but charge higher fees (and vice versa). What matters most is your annual percentage rate because it reflects both interest rate and fees.
Ensure the specific terms of the loan your lender is offering make sense for your budget. For example, be sure the minimum loan amount isn’t too high — be wary of withdrawing more funds than you need. You also want to make sure that your repayment term is long enough for you to comfortably afford the monthly payments. The shorter your loan term, the higher your monthly payments will be.
“Costs and fees are an important consideration for anyone who is looking for a loan,” Cook said. “Homeowners should understand any upfront or ongoing fees applicable to their loan options. Also look for prepayment penalties that might be associated with paying off your loan early.”
No matter what, it’s important to talk to numerous lenders and find the best rate available.
How to apply for a home equity loan
Applying for a home equity loan is similar to applying for any mortgage loan. You’ll need both a solid credit score and proof of enough income to repay your loan.
1. Interview multiple lenders to determine which lender can offer you the lowest rates and fees. The more companies you speak with, the better your chances of finding the most favorable terms.
2. Have at least 15% to 20% equity in your home. If you do, lenders will then take into account your credit score, income and current DTI to determine whether you qualify as well as your interest rate.
3. Be prepared to have financial documents at the ready, such as pay stubs and Form W-2s. Proof of ownership and the appraised value of your home will also be necessary.
4. Close on your loan. Once you submit your application, the final step is closing on your loan. In some states, you’ll have to do this in person at a physical branch.
FAQs
As of March 27, average home equity loan rates are 8.73% for a $30,000 10-year home equity loan and 8.70% for a $30,000 15-year home equity loan — higher than the average rate for a 30-year fixed rate mortgage, which is currently 7.01%. Both home equity rates and mortgage rates started off at historic lows at around 3% at the beginning of 2022 and have been consistently climbing in response to the Federal Reserve aggressively raising the benchmark interest rate.
Most lenders will allow you to borrow anywhere from 15% to 20% of your home’s available equity. To calculate your home equity, subtract your remaining mortgage balance from the current appraised value of your home. How much equity a bank or lender will let you take out depends on a number of additional factors such as your credit score, income and DTI ratio. For most homeowners, it can take five to 10 years of mortgage payments to build up enough tappable equity to borrow against.
A home equity loan can affect your score positively or negatively depending on how responsibly you use it. As with any loan, if you miss or make late payments, your credit score will drop. The amount by which it will drop depends on such factors as whether you’ve made late payments before. However, HELOCs are secured loans that are backed by your property, so they tend to affect your credit score less because they’re treated more like a car loan or mortgage by credit-scoring algorithms.
Lenders are currently offering rates that start as low as 5% to 6% for borrowers with good credit, but rates can vary depending on your personal financial situation. A lender will base your interest rate on how much equity you have in your home, your credit score, income level and other aspects of your financial life such as your DTI ratio, which is calculated by dividing your monthly debts by your gross monthly income.
Home equity loans can be used for anything you choose to spend the money on. Typical life expenses that people usually take out home equity loans for are to cover expenditures such as home renovations, higher education costs like tuition or to pay off high-interest charges like credit card debt. There’s a bonus for using your loan for home improvements and renovations: the interest is tax deductible.
You can also use a home equity loan in the event of an emergency like unplanned medical expenses. Whatever you chose to use your loan for, keep in mind that taking out a large sum of money that accrues interest is an expensive choice to carefully consider, especially because you’re using your home as collateral to secure the loan. If you can’t pay back the loan, the lender can seize your home to repay your debt.
Methodology
We evaluated a range of lenders based on factors such as interest rates, APRs and fees, how long the draw and repayment periods are, and what types and variety of loans are offered. We also took into account factors that impact the user experience such as how easy it is to apply for a loan online and whether physical lender locations exist.
US households have felt the pain of higher interest rates over the last two years. Homebuyers taking out a home loan with a 7% interest rate are likely budgeting hundreds more than expected to cover their average monthly mortgage payment.
A recent survey by Realtor.com noted that 22% of potential homebuyers said they’d be more willing to take on a mortgage if rates were to drop below 6%. Most mortgage forecasts don’t expect rates to dip below that number until 2025.
But you don’t have to wait for market rates to drop. Getting a 6% mortgage rate could be possible right now.
What are average mortgage rates now?
Mortgage rates change daily, but as of March, the average weekly rate on a 30-year fixed-rate mortgage has been around 7%, according to Bankrate, CNET’s sister site.
Rates generally climb higher when the economy is strong and drop at the sign of trouble. When the pandemic pushed the economy into uncertainty in 2020, rates plummeted to historic lows and hovered below 4% for the next two years.
Yet high inflation and the Federal Reserve’s aggressive interest rate hikes pushed rates higher, reaching 8% last October.
“What’s keeping rates volatile and higher is an underlying strong economy,” said Nicole Rueth, senior vice president with Movement Mortgage. “We continue to have economic reports and indicators that show consumers are spending and staying confident.”
The good news for homebuyers is that mortgage rates are expected to slowly decline in 2024, though they won’t reach record lows again.
Does 1% make a difference?
Snagging a 6% rate can offer savings on your monthly payment and over the life of the loan. A difference of 1 percentage point may not seem like much, but the savings add up over time.
For instance, let’s say you buy a home for $400,000 and make a down payment of 20% on a 30-year fixed-rate mortgage. The difference between a 7% rate and a 6% rate means a savings of $210 a month, which amounts to $75,746 saved over the life of the loan.
How can I get a 6% rate?
Many factors go into determining mortgage rates. You can’t control the economic factors, but there are ways to prepare your finances to get the best deal and lower your personal rate.
Buy mortgage points
A mortgage point, also known as a mortgage discount point, is an upfront fee you can pay the lender in exchange for a lower interest rate on your home loan. Each point costs 1% of the purchase price of a home and usually knocks the rate down by 0.25%.
On a $400,000 home, you’d pay $4,000 for one discount point. The lender may even allow you to buy four mortgage points to lower the rate from 7% to 6%, though you’d have to shell out $16,000 to get there.
To check whether this strategy is worthwhile, take the total cost of the points, and compare it to the overall monthly savings. “How long is it going to take you to pay it back? Are you going to be in the house that long?” Rueth asked.
In this case, when you pay $16,000 to buy four points and save $210 per month, it would take you more than six years to reach your break-even point.
Improve your credit score
Lenders look at your credit score to decide whether you qualify for a home loan and the interest rate you receive. Generally, a higher credit score shows you’ve managed debt responsibly in the past. A better credit history lowers your risk to a lender, which can help you secure a lower interest rate.
In fact, raising your credit score from the “fair” range to the “very good” range may help lower your rate by around 0.22 percentage points, according to a 2024 Lending Tree survey. In the survey example, that rate difference helped borrowers save $16,677 over the lifetime of a home loan.
Increase your down payment
Your down payment is the amount you can contribute to your home purchase upfront. Each type of home loan comes with a minimum down payment, usually ranging from 0% to 5%, but a higher down payment can help lower your rate. That’s because the lender takes on less risk when you contribute more toward the loan.
Because a down payment lowers your rate and contributes to your home equity, some home loan experts recommend making a larger down payment, around 20%, instead of buying mortgage points. That’s because if you sell the home or refinance before reaching your break-even point, you lose money. But the amount you spent for your down payment becomes part of your equity.
Take out an adjustable-rate mortgage
An adjustable-rate mortgage, or ARM, is a home loan with a fixed rate for a set introductory period, such as five years. Once that period ends, the interest rate can go up or down in regular intervals for the remaining term.
The big appeal of ARMs is that the introductory interest rate is often lower than the rate on traditional mortgages. In early March, the average 5/1 ARM rate was 6.61% compared to 6.98% for 30-year fixed-rate mortgages.
Negotiate your rate
When you’re applying for mortgage loans, you don’t have to go with the company that did your preapproval. In fact, research shows that getting rate quotes from multiple lenders and comparing offers can result in significant savings. If you want to use this strategy, start by submitting a mortgage application with lenders that fit your criteria. Once you have a few loan estimates in hand, use the best one to negotiate with the lender you want to work with.
The loan officer may lower your rate, help you save on closing costs or offer other incentives to get you onboard. In early 2022, one-third of homebuyers negotiated their mortgage rates and many were able to get a better deal, according to research from Fannie Mae.
Get a shorter loan term
Nearly 90% of homebuyers choose a 30-year fixed mortgage term because it offers the most flexibility and monthly payment affordability. Payments are lower because they’re stretched over a longer timeline, but you can always put more toward the principal here and there. But when you take out a longer-term home loan, “you’re holding up the lender’s money, and there’s an opportunity cost for the funds to be invested elsewhere,” Rueth said.
Shorter loan terms (10-year and 15-year mortgages) and ARMs have lower interest rates, giving you the option of reducing your rate now.
Choosing a shorter repayment term could help you save money since you’ll be paying less in interest over the long term. But don’t make the homebuying mistake of choosing a shorter loan term just for the lower rate. Because you’ll have less time to pay back the money you borrow, shorter loan terms break down to higher monthly payments, and you’ll need to make sure those fit within your budget.
Is a 6% mortgage rate even that good?
In short, yes — but it’s all relative.
“In today’s market, 6% is a great rate compared to the historic average of a little over 7%,” Rueth said. “However, 6% no longer looks good because homeowners were spoiled by 2.75% mortgage rates a few years ago.”
Homeowners are also feeling the burden of steep home prices, making those high rates hurt even more.
But you can save money on your mortgage by taking some (or all) of these steps. Improving your credit score, increasing your down payment, buying points and negotiating your rate may help bring your rate from 7% down to 6%, or even lower.
There’s no question that inflation has cooled significantly compared to mid-2022 when the inflation rate hovered above 9%. However, we aren’t back to normal just yet. At 3.2%, today’s inflation rate is still well above the Fed’s target rate of 2%, resulting in the Federal Reserve’s benchmark rate remaining paused at a 23-year high. In turn, borrowers now face elevated interest rates on everything from credit cards to mortgage loans — especially compared to the rates that were offered in 2020 and 2021.
But the good news is that mortgage rates, in particular, have declined slightly over the last few months, making it more affordable to borrow money for a home. And, as the spring homebuying season kicks into high gear, many prospective buyers are starting the pre-approval process to secure a mortgage loan.
Finding the right mortgage loan goes beyond just getting the best mortgage rate, though. It’s also critical that you understand all the details, fees and requirements from your lender so you can make the best decision possible for your money. And that starts by asking some important questions.
Explore your top mortgage loan options online now.
10 important mortgage loan questions to ask this spring
If you want to make an informed decision on your mortgage loan this spring, here are 10 crucial questions you should ask your mortgage lender:
What are the current mortgage rates and fees?
It’s crucial to get a clear picture of the interest rate you qualify for and understand all the lender fees involved in the transaction. As part of this process, be sure to ask about the mortgage loan’s annual percentage rate (APR), which includes the interest rate plus other costs. And, given that today’s mortgage rates are hovering near 7%, don’t forget to inquire about discount points to buy down the rate.
Find the best mortgage loan rates you could qualify for today.
What are the different loan program options?
There are various mortgage products to choose from. For example, your lender may offer you conventional or jumbo mortgage loan options as well as government-backed mortgage loans, like Federal Housing Administration (FHA), U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) and U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs (VA) loans.
Each type of mortgage loan has pros and cons to consider, and your lender should explain the differences and qualifications for each. That way, you can choose the right fit based on your down payment amount, credit score and financial situation.
What is the required down payment minimum?
Down payment requirements can vary across mortgage loan programs, and depending on the amount of money you have to put down on the home, one mortgage loan could make more sense over another. So, be sure to find the minimum down payment percentages for each type of loan you’re considering, as well as the benefits of putting down a higher amount to avoid mortgage insurance.
You may also want to ask if you’re eligible for any down payment assistance programs, as these programs may be available for certain types of buyers or mortgage loans.
How much home can I afford?
Your lender will pre-approve you for a maximum mortgage loan amount based on your income, debts and credit. However, it’s important to understand that the amount you’re approved for is the maximum, and you need to know what monthly payment you can realistically afford.
With that in mind, be sure to ask your lender to run different home price scenarios with estimated payments to ensure that you’re comfortable with the potential costs each month and that they align with what you have budgeted for your mortgage payments.
What documentation is required?
Your lender will need various documentation, from tax returns and pay stubs to bank statements and gift letters, to verify your income, assets and other information that’s required to approve you for your mortgage loan. It can be helpful to get a full checklist of required paperwork so you can prepare in advance, helping to expedite the pre-approval process (and ultimately the loan approval process).
How long is the mortgage pre-approval valid?
Pre-approvals typically have an expiration date, which can vary by lender, but are often between 60 and 90 days. Ask your lender how long your mortgage loan preapproval is valid for and find out what the process is to get re-approved if your home search takes longer just in case there are issues with finding the right home in that time frame.
What are the estimated closing costs?
In addition to your down payment, you’ll need to pay closing costs, which can vary by lender, but typically amount to 2% to 5% of the home’s purchase price. Be sure to request a fee worksheet or estimate from your lender to understand this significant upfront expense.
And, in some cases, you may be able to negotiate with your lender to lower some of these closing costs and fees. Knowing what these costs are as you compare your loan and lender options can be useful as you determine whether it would be worth it to do so.
What is the rate lock period?
A mortgage rate lock guarantees that your quoted interest rate won’t increase for a set period, which is often between 30 and 60 days. As you navigate the mortgage lending process, be sure to find out the lender’s lock periods and associated fees in case you need an extended rate lock.
What are the steps after pre-approval?
Having clarity on the next steps after pre-approval is an important component of ensuring the mortgage lending process is a success. So, be sure to ask your lender about the typical timeline for what happens after pre-approval. That way you know how long you have to shop for homes, the timeline for having a home under contract, when you need to secure the appraisal and the estimated time it will take for the underwriting processes to get the final approval.
Are there any prepayment penalties?
These days, it’s rare for lenders to charge mortgage prepayment penalties. However, it’s still important to confirm there are no fees if you pay off your loan early or refinance down the road, so be sure to ask this question of your lender.
The bottom line
The mortgage process can be daunting, especially in today’s high-rate environment, but being an informed borrower is half the battle. So, as you navigate the mortgage lending process, don’t hesitate to ask your lender plenty of questions, as this will likely be one of the biggest financial decisions you’ll make. That’s why an experienced, communicative lender is key to making the right mortgage choice this spring homebuying season.
Angelica Leicht
Angelica Leicht is senior editor for CBS’ Moneywatch: Managing Your Money, where she writes and edits articles on a range of personal finance topics. Angelica previously held editing roles at The Simple Dollar, Interest, HousingWire and other financial publications.
I like interesting stories and I like interesting houses. I also like to believe I tell the former and have the latter. (Don’t we all?) So, when a book titled “Authentic Interiors: Rooms That Tell Stories” (Gibbs Smith, March 2024) hit my radar, I thought, “Shazam! My worlds collide!”
I dove into the 224-page, picture-rich hardcover, then rang up the author, interior designer Philip Gorrivan, to see if I could divine the secret to designing rooms that tell not just stories, but our stories. (Face it. Despite what they say, a lot of designers tell their stories.)
In his introduction, Gorrivan cites the 20th-century designer David Hicks who said, “The best rooms have something to say about the people who live in them.” The book then goes on to feature 14 client-inspired projects including the author’s own house.
“If you’re going to design your home, whether a grand house or a shoebox apartment, whatever the budget, make sure your interior space is an extension of who you are,” he said. “This, after all, is where you come home, sleep and live.”
Few would disagree. However, this is one of those easy-to-say, harder-to-do design maxims. In the wrong hands, the result could be ghastly. Some people’s stories just aren’t pretty. I turned to the pages for clues. For one couple — a screenwriter and newspaper editor — Gorrivan used posterized black-and-white images of famous faces. For a Brazilian couple’s New York apartment, he incorporated saturated tones from the tropical rain forest, painting walls in a lacquered emerald and incorporating fuchsia furnishings.
As with any author I interview, but especially this one, I was curious to learn the writer’s story. Where is he coming from? So, I asked Gorrivan, who has a house in Connecticut and an apartment in Manhattan, that and a few more questions:
Marni:Before we talk about other people’s stories, what’s yours? What was your early home like?
Philip: Because my parents had different interests, our house was a mix of antiques and modern furnishings. It was by no means “decorated.” We lived in Portland, Maine, where we had these long bleak winters. My family had this old farmhouse, which became a repository for family hand-me-downs and heirlooms. To amuse myself, I spent hours exploring all these pieces. I became visually tuned into furniture at a young age. I may have been the first 10-year-old to ask for a subscription to Architectural Digest.
Q: Interior design wasn’t your first career. When and why did you switch?
A: After college, I worked in sales, got married, had children and was working to pay the bills. When 9/11 hit, we were living in New York. It made me rethink everything. I decided then to do what I loved. I went to work for an interior design firm to learn the ropes, and after two years went out on my own. My break came when House & Gardens magazine asked me to design a room for a show home they were putting together. They had one room left, a 12-by-8-foot laundry room, the smallest room in the house. I made the most of it.
Q: Although your rooms tell your clients’ stories, you clearly have a signature look. How would you describe it?
A: I come from a love of textiles and fabrics, color and pattern. I like to align with great design firms of the 20th century to create a look I call classic modern, a mix of periods that speak to both the home and the homeowner.
Q: Color indeed! Not everyone can pull off Chinese red lacquered walls.
A: While I have a lot of respect for neutrals and earth tones, I especially like mixing in strong color. Color is powerful and transformative. The chapter titled “Reinvention,” for example, features a New York apartment we made over after the owner got divorced. He was living in the same place he’d shared with his ex-wife and wanted it to feel completely different. Painting the walls bright spring green felt like a new beginning.
Q:Beautiful interior design books cover coffee tables everywhere. Why another one? How is your book different?
A: The word “authentic” is in the title because it’s important to me. We see a lot of pastiche in the design world, where designers copy and paste the work of others. Authenticity is critical in any creative endeavor. I wanted to convey that and emphasize that a successful interior should speak to the architecture of the house or apartment, to the surrounding geography, and ultimately to the homeowner.
Q:What if the homeowner is a couple with different interests and tastes?
A: Every couple disagrees on looks. We negotiate. A successful home design includes elements that reflect all inhabitants, which ultimately makes the interior even more unique.
Q:What makes you cringe when you walk into some homes?
A: Furnishings that are totally out of scale. A sofa that is way too big or art that is too small can ruin a room.
Q:How can we inject our story into our homes, whether that reflects our professions, interests or heritage?
A: Think of what you love and want to surround yourself with: your children, your pets, your travels, your roots. It may not be your profession. Some clients don’t want any reminders of their work once they get home. And you’d be surprised how many want to decorate using the colors of their favorite sports team. Heritage also matters. I always want to know where my clients grew up.
Q:What do you want readers to take away?
A: Though the book is filled with pictures, I hope readers look at the words, too. I hope they read the different stories and see how stories can come alive in design. I hope they see how the best designs come from the inside out, and come away thinking, maybe I can do this, too?
Marni Jameson is the author of seven books including the newly released Rightsize Today to Create Your Best Life Tomorrow, What to Do With Everything You Own to Leave the Legacy You Want.
“Authentic Interiors” by Philip Gorrivan (Gibbs Smith, March 2024, $45, 224 pages) “provides much to savor,” says Publishers Weekly. Photo courtesy Gibbs Smith. (Handout via Marni Jameson)
Building your dream home from the ground up is a great way to make sure it meets all your expectations. Securing a home construction loan can assist you in realizing your plans, but you need to know the specifics that come with these types of loans.
Here’s an overview of what you should know when obtaining a construction loan.
What is a construction loan?
A construction loan is a type of loan specifically designed to finance the cost of building a new home or renovation of an existing property. It’s a short-term loan with a variable interest rate, and is typically used during the construction phase of a project.
Unlike a traditional mortgage, construction loans are disbursed in installments as the construction progresses, rather than as a lump sum. This helps to minimize the risk for both the lender and the borrower, as the loan amount is based on the actual costs of construction.
How do construction loans work?
Construction loans are typically offered by specialized lenders or banks and are often secured by the property being built. Borrowers are usually required to provide a detailed construction plan, as well as a budget and timeline for the project. The lender will then release funds as each construction milestone is completed and inspected.
At the end of the construction process, the construction loan will typically be converted into a permanent mortgage. This conversion process can occur automatically or require a separate application and approval process, depending on the lender’s requirements.
3 Types of Home Construction Loans
There are three main types of home construction loans: construction-to-permanent, construction-only, and renovation.
Construction-to-Permanent Loan
With this type of home construction loan, once the home is built, the loan converts to a permanent mortgage. You typically only have to pay closing costs once, which can save you money.
You can also choose to pay interest during the building phase. However, it’s typically a variable interest rate, so your payments will fluctuate. After the home is built, and your construction loan converts to a permanent mortgage, you might be able to choose whether you want a variable rate or a fixed rate.
You may want to consider this type of loan if you have a feasible plan for your house’s construction, and you want to pay it back over time with a reliable monthly payment.
Construction-Only Loan
This type of loan requires full repayment at the end of the construction phase, rather than automatic conversion to a mortgage. This means that you’ll incur two sets of closing costs and have to secure approval for two separate loans.
However, a construction-only loan may require a smaller down payment compared to a construction-to-permanent loan. If you already own a home, you may consider obtaining a construction-only loan initially and waiting to sell your current home to accumulate a larger down payment for a mortgage.
Construction-only loans can be a suitable option for individuals who currently have limited funds but expect to have more in the future. After completing construction, you can apply for a mortgage to pay off the loan.
One potential drawback of this type of loan is that if your financial or credit situation changes during construction, you may not qualify for a mortgage large enough to repay the loan. This can lead to new problems, including the possibility of losing your home before you even move in.
Renovation Construction Loan
Rather than helping you build something new, a renovation loan is designed to help you cover the costs of a major remodel. If you want to turn a fixer-upper into the home of your dreams, but aren’t sure if you have the money for renovations, this type of loan can help.
It’s important to note that these aren’t home improvement loans. A home improvement loan often deals with smaller remodels and is based on how much equity you currently have in the home. Renovation construction loans are about major overhauls.
Typically, you’ll get a loan big enough to cover the costs of renovations as a mortgage. You only apply for one loan, and it’s based on the likely value of the home after the remodel is finished. This can be a big help if you don’t want to try to finance the cost of upgrades after you buy the house.
Expenses Covered by Construction Loans
In general, you’ll find that most construction loans pay for various aspects of a project, including:
Obtaining the land (or the fixer-upper if you’re getting a renovation loan)
Getting the plans for the home
Applying for the permits
Paying the fees associated with construction
Contingency reserves for covering unexpected costs
Closing costs
You might also be able to have interest reserves built into your construction loan if you would rather not make interest payments while your home is being built or renovated.
The idea is that everything you need to complete your home, whether new-built or a renovation, is wrapped up in the loan.
Create a Plan for Your Custom Home
When building a home, you can’t just ask a lender for an appraisal or just get approved for a certain amount. Construction loan lenders expect to see a plan for the construction of the home.
When you apply for a home construction loan, you’ll need to let your lender know the following information:
Size of the home and the lot
Placement of the lot
Home plans (possibly include blueprints)
Materials used to build the home
Types of renovations you plan to make (for an applicable loan)
Timeline for completing the home
Contractors that will be hired
Lenders will dig into this information to decide if you’re a good risk. They want to know that the home, or the lot, will at least be worth something if you default on the loan. Part of the process is understanding that the home will at least be worth what you’re borrowing once it’s finished.
At each stage of construction, and before disbursement is made, the work will have to be inspected. If you choose a general contractor that’s experienced and respected, they can help you provide needed information to your lender, and you can be reasonably assured that they will do good work.
Qualifying for a Home Construction Loan
Now that you have a plan for your new home, it’s time to qualify for your construction loan. In many ways, the process is the same as qualifying for a traditional mortgage loan. The construction loan lender will review your financial situation and decide if you present a relatively low risk. Some of the things that a construction loan provider looks at include:
Credit score: This is the most important element of any home loan, and it’s no different with construction loans. In fact, because there might not be anything of tangible value before construction, you might need an even higher credit score. You typically need a minimum credit score of 680 to qualify, so you need to improve your credit score if you’re not there yet.
Debt-to-income (DTI) ratio: As with a regular mortgage, the lower your debt-to-income ratio, the better off you’ll be. Most lenders require that your DTI be no more than 45% of your gross monthly income.
Down payment: While you might be able to get by with 5% or less for a down payment with traditional mortgages (FHA, USDA, and VA loans famously come with much lower down payments), construction loans are a different story. You’ll likely have to put down at least 20% to make it happen. In some cases, though, as with a renovation loan, you might get away with a lower down payment.
By planning ahead and making sure your finances are in order, you have a better chance of qualifying for a construction loan.
Prepare for a Longer Closing Period
Realize that there are many moving parts to your home construction loan. It’s not just you and your lender involved. You’ve got a builder or contractor as part of the arrangement, and you’re not going to get a lump sum. Instead, the lender will evaluate you and the contractor you choose separately.
Additionally, a timeline for disbursements needs to be set up. Moreover, a lender might need to consider insurance related to the process. Plus, whether you choose a construction-to-permanent or construction-only loan matters a great deal as you negotiate with a lender about your terms.
As a result of these different aspects of construction loans, you might have to allow for a longer closing period. Additionally, you’re likely to see delays and additional costs during the building portion, so making sure you have adequate contingency reserves built into your new home is vital.
Bottom Line
With a construction loan, you can turn your dream home vision into a reality, whether building from the ground up or renovating a fixer-upper. Be aware, however, that a construction loan entails different terms and conditions.
Your lender will not simply grant you the entire loan amount without first ensuring your ability to use it responsibly. You must prove your financial capability and the viability of your construction project. Your lender will keep a close eye on the allocation of funds as the project progresses.
If you have a good understanding of how a construction loan operates, it can be a valuable tool in ensuring you achieve the home of your dreams.
See also: Is It Cheaper to Build or Buy a House?
Frequently Asked Questions
How do I qualify for a construction loan?
To qualify for a construction loan, you will typically need to have a good credit score and a sufficient amount of equity in your property (if you are building on land that you already own). You will also need to provide a detailed construction plan and budget, as well as proof of your ability to repay the loan.
How long does it take to get a construction loan?
The process of getting a construction loan can vary in length depending on the lender and the specifics of your situation. In general, it can take several weeks or even months to complete the application process and receive approval for a construction loan.
How much can I borrow with a construction loan?
The loan amount you can obtain through a construction loan is based on various factors including your credit score, the worth of the property, and your equity in the property. Usually, borrowers can expect to secure up to 80% of the property value. However, the loan amount can differ based on the lender’s policies.
How are funds from a construction loan distributed?
The distribution of funds from a construction loan is typically done in stages, based on the progress of the construction project. The lender will release funds as specific milestones are reached, such as the completion of the foundation, the rough framing, or the final inspection. This process helps to ensure that the funds are used for the intended purposes and that the construction project is proceeding as planned.
Before each release of funds, the lender may require an inspection to verify that the work has been completed to their satisfaction. The exact terms of the distribution of funds may vary based on the lender and the specifics of the loan agreement.
Are construction loans more expensive than other types of loans?
Construction loans can carry higher interest rates and fees due to the higher risk for the lender. However, the total cost of the loan will vary based on the lender, loan type, and loan terms.
Can I use a construction loan to remodel my existing home?
Yes, construction loans can be utilized for renovating an existing home too. Normally, those borrowing must present a comprehensive renovation plan, cost estimate, and demonstrate their repayment capability.
The real estate landscape in the United States is on the brink of significant transformation following the National Association of Realtors’ (NAR) announcement of a sweeping nationwide settlement. The landmark $418 million agreement aims to dismantle long standing industry practices accused of artificially inflating agent commissions, potentially reshaping the way Americans buy and sell homes … [Read more…]
The home buying process involves many steps, but it always starts with getting preapproved for a mortgage. A preapproval letter shows that a lender has checked your credit report and approved you to take out a mortgage.
It can be tempting to skip over the mortgage preapproval process and go straight to looking at potential homes, but this is almost always a mistake. Getting preapproved will ensure that real estate agents and home sellers know you’re a serious buyer. It will also give you more room to negotiate on your offer.
Plus, preapproval gives you a better idea of what kind of home you can afford to buy. Let’s look more closely at what mortgage preapproval is and how you can get started.
How does a preapproval letter work?
In the home-buying process, a preapproval letter serves as tangible proof to potential sellers that the borrower has secured financing. This letter is generated by a lender after evaluating a borrower’s financial information, including credit score, income, and assets. It’s an assurance to sellers that the borrower is financially capable of following through on the purchase.
The preapproval process starts with the borrower submitting an application to the lender, who then conducts a thorough evaluation of the borrower’s finances. Based on this information, the lender will determine the maximum loan amount for which the borrower is eligible and issue the preapproval letter.
Preapproval letters are valid for a specified amount of time – usually between 60 and 90 days. During this time, the borrower can confidently make an offer on a property, demonstrating their commitment and financial stability to the seller.
While a preapproval letter is not a guarantee, it’s an important step in streamlining the home-buying process. It can make all the difference in helping the borrower secure their dream home.
Why You Should Get a Preapproval Letter
The process of buying a home can be overwhelming and stressful, but obtaining a preapproval letter can help alleviate some of those worries. This letter serves as a crucial first step in the home-buying journey, providing potential sellers with the assurance that you are a serious and financially capable buyer.
By taking the time to secure a preapproval letter, you will have a much clearer understanding of your borrowing power and what you can afford. Not only does a preapproval letter give you a competitive edge in a crowded housing market, but it can also save you time and heartache in the long run.
With this letter in hand, you can confidently make an offer on a property. This is because you have taken the necessary steps to secure financing and increase your chances of having your offer accepted.
So, whether you’re a first-time homebuyer or an experienced real estate investor, getting a mortgage preapproval letter should be at the top of your to-do list.
Preparing for Preapproval
Getting preapproved alerts you to any potential problems with your credit or income. Many people have issues with their credit that they need to clear up before obtaining a mortgage will be possible.
If you know about these issues, you can take the necessary steps to clean up your credit first. It’s much harder if you go house hunting first, find a home you love, and then realize you’re not prepared to buy it just yet.
For that reason, preapproval will help you be taken more seriously by sellers and listing agents. Sellers want to accept an offer that they are reasonably certain will go through.
Home loan preapproval assures them that you’re in a position to be able to close on the home. This is especially important in a seller’s market where there could be multiple offers on one home.
And finally, being preapproved for a mortgage gives you more clarity when you start looking at different homes. Without a preapproval letter, you’re really just guessing when it comes to the type of home you think you can afford. Getting preapproved takes all the guesswork out of it.
Preapproval vs. Prequalification
Many people use the terms preapproval and prequalification interchangeably, but they are two different things. Getting prequalified is similar to preapproval, but it’s not quite as accurate or thorough.
When you get prequalified for a mortgage, your lender won’t pull your credit and won’t ask for as much information about your finances. This obviously makes it much less time-intensive for you, but it also means that the information you receive is an estimate that could change.
In comparison, with preapproval, your lender will check your credit and do a more thorough examination of your finances. Because this process is much more comprehensive, you’ll receive a more accurate estimate of how much you’re approved to borrow.
What You Need for a Successful Mortgage Preapproval
Your loan officer will require a lot of documentation before they preapprove you for a mortgage. This can be quite tedious.
But the good news is, you already have access to all the information needed. So, it’s really just a matter of gathering all the necessary paperwork to submit to your lender.
Here is an overview of the documents and information you’ll need to get preapproved:
A good credit score: Unless you’re applying for an FHA loan or VA loan, you’re going to need a good credit score to get preapproved for a mortgage. Most mortgage lenders require a minimum credit score of 620 to qualify. However, you’ll receive the lowest interest rate if your credit score is 760 or higher.
Employment history: Your mortgage lender will want to see proof of employment before they’ll be willing to preapprove you for a mortgage. You’ll need to provide copies of your tax returns as well as your annual W-2. Your lender may even contact your employer to verify your employment status and income.
Proof of assets: You’ll also need to provide evidence that you can afford to pay the down payment and closing costs on your new home. This can typically be done by providing pay stubs, tax returns, or bank statements. If you aren’t able to pay the standard 20% down payment, you must purchase private mortgage insurance (PMI).
Your debt-to-income ratio: Debt-to-income ratio (DTI) is the percentage of gross monthly income that goes toward debt payments, such as credit cards, auto loans, and student loans. You must let your lender know of your monthly debts, since this will affect your debt-to-income ratio. You can provide a list with all of your outstanding debt, as well as the loan balance and minimum monthly payments.
Additional documents: Your lender will likely want additional information, like your Social Security Number and your driver’s license. And if you’ve been through a divorce or owe alimony payments, you’ll need to provide documentation of that as well.
How to Get Preapproved for Your Mortgage
Hopefully, by this point, you understand what mortgage preapproval is and why it’s so important. Here are the five steps you’ll need to take to get preapproved for a mortgage loan.
1. Check your credit report
Before you even begin the preapproval process, it’s a good idea to request a copy of your credit report from the three major credit bureaus. You can receive your free annual copies at AnnualCreditReport.com.
That way, you’ll know where you stand when it comes to your credit history. And this will give you a chance to review your credit report for any errors or delinquent accounts. It’s a good idea to resolve these issues before applying for mortgage preapproval.
2. Gather the necessary documentation
Take the time to gather the necessary paperwork before you approach your lender. This ensures that you go into the mortgage process prepared, and will help things move along much more smoothly.
3. Submit your application
Now it’s time to apply for preapproval. Your loan officer may have you apply for preapproval online. Answer all the questions as accurately as you can, and submit all the necessary paperwork.
It may be a good idea to apply for preapproval with multiple lenders. This allows you to compare your options and get the most favorable terms possible.
4. Receive your offers
Once your lender has reviewed your credit score and financial information, you’ll receive several recommended mortgage options. At this point, you’ll see how much you’ve been approved for and your recommended loan types. You’ll also get an idea of what your estimated monthly mortgage payment and interest rate might be.
5. Receive your preapproval letter
Once you’ve chosen your mortgage option, your lender will send you a preapproval letter. You can take this letter with you as you begin shopping for your home.
Bottom Line
Applying for mortgage preapproval is probably the least exciting part of the mortgage process, but it’s an essential first step every new homebuyer should take. Getting a preapproval letter will let you know what kind of home you can afford, and it will give you an advantage when you’re negotiating with sellers.
However, keep in mind that a mortgage preapproval is not a guarantee. If you suddenly lose your job or your financial situation unexpectedly changes, then the previous offer will no longer stand. But it’s as close to a guarantee as you can get before finally closing on your home.
Frequently Asked Questions
Why does it matter if I receive a preapproval letter?
It’s essential to get preapproved for your mortgage for a couple of reasons. First, it gives you a realistic picture of the type of house you can afford. And sellers will take your offer more seriously if you’ve already been preapproved for a mortgage.
What is the difference between a mortgage prequalification and preapproval?
Getting prequalified for a mortgage is much less thorough than a preapproval. Your lender won’t run a credit check, and they won’t review your finances as carefully. This makes it much less accurate than receiving a preapproval letter.
If you go through the process of getting preapproved, then it’s likely you’ll be able to close on a home, unless something drastic happens. But if you’ve only been prequalified, your offer could change once the lender does a more in-depth credit check and financial review.
When should I get preapproved?
You should get preapproved before you start looking at homes. That way, you’ll know what kind of home you can afford before you start shopping for a new home.
Will getting preapproved for a mortgage hurt my credit score?
As part of the preapproval process, your lender will conduct a hard inquiry on your credit report. Typically, this can hurt your credit score slightly. However, multiple hard inquiries for a home loan shouldn’t hurt your credit score.
Average mortgage rates edged higher yesterday. Unfortunately, it was the sixth consecutive business day on which they’ve risen.
Earlier this morning, markets were signaling that mortgage rates today might barely move. However, these early mini-trends frequently alter speed or direction as the hours pass.
Current mortgage and refinance rates
Find your lowest rate. Start here
Program
Mortgage Rate
APR*
Change
Conventional 30-year fixed
7.15%
7.17%
Unchanged
Conventional 15-year fixed
6.57%
6.61%
-0.04
Conventional 20-year fixed
7.16%
7.19%
+0.02
Conventional 10-year fixed
6.63%
6.66%
-0.05
30-year fixed FHA
6.51%
7.19%
Unchanged
30-year fixed VA
6.61%
6.72%
-0.03
5/1 ARM Conventional
6.3%
7.39%
Unchanged
Rates are provided by our partner network, and may not reflect the market. Your rate might be different. Click here for a personalized rate quote. See our rate assumptions See our rate assumptions here.
Should you lock your mortgage rate today?
Tomorrow’s Federal Reserve events (see below) could make a big difference to mortgage rates in the near and medium terms. But, right now, I’m pessimistic about our seeing a sustained downward trend until the summer. And some wonder if the fall might be a more realistic timeframe.
So, for now, my personal rate lock recommendations remain:
LOCK if closing in 7 days
LOCK if closing in 15 days
LOCK if closing in 30 days
LOCK if closing in 45 days
LOCKif closing in 60days
However, with so much uncertainty at the moment, your instincts could easily turn out to be as good as mine — or better. So, let your gut and your own tolerance for risk help guide you.
>Related: 7 Tips to get the best refinance rate
Market data affecting today’s mortgage rates
Here’s a snapshot of the state of play this morning at about 9:50 a.m. (ET). The data are mostly compared with roughly the same time the business day before, so much of the movement will often have happened in the previous session. The numbers are:
The yield on 10-year Treasury notes held steady again at 4.32%. (Neutral for mortgage rates. However, yields were rising this morning.) More than any other market, mortgage rates typically tend to follow these particular Treasury bond yields
Major stock indexes were mixed this morning. (Neutral for mortgage rates.) When investors buy shares, they’re often selling bonds, which pushes those prices down and increases yields and mortgage rates. The opposite may happen when indexes are lower. But this is an imperfect relationship
Oil prices increased to $83.18 from $81.35 a barrel. (Bad for mortgage rates*.) Energy prices play a prominent role in creating inflation and also point to future economic activity
Goldprices inched down to $2,156 from $2,159 an ounce. (Neutral for mortgage rates*.) It is generally better for rates when gold prices rise and worse when they fall. Because gold tends to rise when investors worry about the economy.
CNN Business Fear & Greed index — dropped to 69 from 75 out of 100. (Good for mortgage rates.) “Greedy” investors push bond prices down (and interest rates up) as they leave the bond market and move into stocks, while “fearful” investors do the opposite. So, lower readings are often better than higher ones
*A movement of less than $20 on gold prices or 40 cents on oil ones is a change of 1% or less. So we only count meaningful differences as good or bad for mortgage rates.
Caveats about markets and rates
Before the pandemic, post-pandemic upheavals, and war in Ukraine, you could look at the above figures and make a pretty good guess about what would happen to mortgage rates that day. But that’s no longer the case. We still make daily calls. And are usually right. But our record for accuracy won’t achieve its former high levels until things settle down.
So, use markets only as a rough guide. Because they have to be exceptionally strong or weak to rely on them. But, with that caveat, mortgage rates today look likely to hold close to steady. However, be aware that “intraday swings” (when rates change speed or direction during the day) are a common feature right now.
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What’s driving mortgage rates today?
Tomorrow
I covered yesterday the three Federal Reserve events due early tomorrow afternoon:
2 p.m. Eastern — Rate announcement and report publications
2 p.m. Eastern — Summary of Economic Projects publication. This occurs only quarterly and includes a dot plot
I’ll brief you more fully on those tomorrow morning. That way you’ll know what to look out for before it’s too late to act.
Personally, I’m not very hopeful about the impact of the Fed’s events on mortgage rates. Of course, I can’t be sure what they’ll bring. But recent economic data has likely reinforced the central bank’s natural caution. And I suspect that it may signal later and fewer cuts in general interest rates this year than markets have been expecting.
If I’m right, that could be seriously bad for mortgage rates. So, let’s hope I’m wrong.
Today and later in the week
I’ll be surprised if today’s economic reports move mortgage rates much. They cover February’s housing starts and building permits. It’s not that those data are unimportant. However, they rarely attract the attention of the investors who largely determine mortgage rates.
We have to wait until Thursday for a couple of reports that sometimes affect mortgage rates. They’re two March purchasing managers’ indexes (PMIs) from S&P. One is for the services sector and the other covers manufacturing. I’ll brief you on those tomorrow morning.
Don’t forget you can always learn more about what’s driving mortgage rates in the most recent weekend edition of this daily report. These provide a more detailed analysis of what’s happening. They are published each Saturday morning soon after 10 a.m. (ET) and include a preview of the following week.
Recent trends
According to Freddie Mac’s archives, the weekly all-time lowest rate for 30-year, fixed-rate mortgages was set on Jan. 7, 2021, when it stood at 2.65%. The weekly all-time high was 18.63% on Sep. 10, 1981.
Freddie’s Mar. 14 report put that same weekly average at 6.74% down from the previous week’s 6.88%. But note that Freddie’s data are almost always out of date by the time it announces its weekly figures.
Expert forecasts for mortgage rates
Looking further ahead, Fannie Mae and the Mortgage Bankers Association (MBA) each has a team of economists dedicated to monitoring and forecasting what will happen to the economy, the housing sector and mortgage rates.
And here are their rate forecasts for the four quarters of 2024 (Q1/24, Q2/24 Q3/24 and Q4/24).
The numbers in the table below are for 30-year, fixed-rate mortgages. Fannie’s were updated on Feb. 12 and the MBA’s on Feb. 20.
Forecaster
Q1/24
Q2/24
Q3/24
Q4/24
Fannie Mae
6.5%
6.3%
6.1%
5.9%
MBA
6.9%
6.6%
6.3%
6.1%
Of course, given so many unknowables, both these forecasts might be even more speculative than usual. And their past record for accuracy hasn’t been wildly impressive.
Important notes on today’s mortgage rates
Here are some things you need to know:
Typically, mortgage rates go up when the economy’s doing well and down when it’s in trouble. But there are exceptions. Read ‘How mortgage rates are determined and why you should care’
Only “top-tier” borrowers (with stellar credit scores, big down payments, and very healthy finances) get the ultralow mortgage rates you’ll see advertised
Lenders vary. Yours may or may not follow the crowd when it comes to daily rate movements — though they all usually follow the broader trend over time
When daily rate changes are small, some lenders will adjust closing costs and leave their rate cards the same
Refinance rates are typically close to those for purchases.
A lot is going on at the moment. And nobody can claim to know with certainty what will happen to mortgage rates in the coming hours, days, weeks or months.
Find your lowest mortgage rate today
You should comparison shop widely, no matter what sort of mortgage you want. Federal regulator the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau found in May 2023:
“Mortgage borrowers are paying around $100 a month more depending on which lender they choose, for the same type of loan and the same consumer characteristics (such as credit score and down payment).”
In other words, over the lifetime of a 30-year loan, homebuyers who don’t bother to get quotes from multiple lenders risk losing an average of $36,000. What could you do with that sort of money?
Verify your new rate
Mortgage rate methodology
The Mortgage Reports receives rates based on selected criteria from multiple lending partners each day. We arrive at an average rate and APR for each loan type to display in our chart. Because we average an array of rates, it gives you a better idea of what you might find in the marketplace. Furthermore, we average rates for the same loan types. For example, FHA fixed with FHA fixed. The end result is a good snapshot of daily rates and how they change over time.
How your mortgage interest rate is determined
Mortgage and refinance rates vary a lot depending on each borrower’s unique situation.
Factors that determine your mortgage interest rate include:
Overall strength of the economy — A strong economy usually means higher rates, while a weaker one can push current mortgage rates down to promote borrowing
Lender capacity — When a lender is very busy, it will increase rates to deter new business and give its loan officers some breathing room
Property type (condo, single-family, town house, etc.) — A primary residence, meaning a home you plan to live in full time, will have a lower interest rate. Investment properties, second homes, and vacation homes have higher mortgage rates
Loan-to-value ratio (determined by your down payment) — Your loan-to-value ratio (LTV) compares your loan amount to the value of the home. A lower LTV, meaning a bigger down payment, gets you a lower mortgage rate
Debt-To-Income ratio — This number compares your total monthly debts to your pretax income. The more debt you currently have, the less room you’ll have in your budget for a mortgage payment
Loan term — Loans with a shorter term (like a 15-year mortgage) typically have lower rates than a 30-year loan term
Borrower’s credit score — Typically the higher your credit score is, the lower your mortgage rate, and vice versa
Mortgage discount points — Borrowers have the option to buy discount points or ‘mortgage points’ at closing. These let you pay money upfront to lower your interest rate
Remember, every mortgage lender weighs these factors a little differently.
To find the best rate for your situation, you’ll want to get personalized estimates from a few different lenders.
Verify your new rate. Start here
Are refinance rates the same as mortgage rates?
Rates for a home purchase and mortgage refinance are often similar.
However, some lenders will charge more for a refinance under certain circumstances.
Typically when rates fall, homeowners rush to refinance. They see an opportunity to lock in a lower rate and payment for the rest of their loan.
This creates a tidal wave of new work for mortgage lenders.
Unfortunately, some lenders don’t have the capacity or crew to process a large number of refinance loan applications.
In this case, a lender might raise its rates to deter new business and give loan officers time to process loans currently in the pipeline.
Also, cashing out equity can result in a higher rate when refinancing.
Cash-out refinances pose a greater risk for mortgage lenders, so they’re often priced higher than new home purchases and rate-term refinances.
Check your refinance rates today. Start here
How to get the lowest mortgage or refinance rate
Since rates can vary, always shop around when buying a house or refinancing a mortgage.
Comparison shopping can potentially save thousands, even tens of thousands of dollars over the life of your loan.
Here are a few tips to keep in mind:
1. Get multiple quotes
Many borrowers make the mistake of accepting the first mortgage or refinance offer they receive.
Some simply go with the bank they use for checking and savings since that can seem easiest.
However, your bank might not offer the best mortgage deal for you. And if you’re refinancing, your financial situation may have changed enough that your current lender is no longer your best bet.
So get multiple quotes from at least three different lenders to find the right one for you.
2. Compare Loan Estimates
When shopping for a mortgage or refinance, lenders will provide a Loan Estimate that breaks down important costs associated with the loan.
You’ll want to read these Loan Estimates carefully and compare costs and fees line-by-line, including:
Interest rate
Annual percentage rate (APR)
Monthly mortgage payment
Loan origination fees
Rate lock fees
Closing costs
Remember, the lowest interest rate isn’t always the best deal.
Annual percentage rate (APR) can help you compare the ‘real’ cost of two loans. It estimates your total yearly cost including interest and fees.
Also, pay close attention to your closing costs.
Some lenders may bring their rates down by charging more upfront via discount points. These can add thousands to your out-of-pocket costs.
3. Negotiate your mortgage rate
You can also negotiate your mortgage rate to get a better deal.
Let’s say you get loan estimates from two lenders. Lender A offers the better rate, but you prefer your loan terms from Lender B. Talk to Lender B and see if they can beat the former’s pricing.
You might be surprised to find that a lender is willing to give you a lower interest rate in order to keep your business.
And if they’re not, keep shopping — there’s a good chance someone will.
Fixed-rate mortgage vs. adjustable-rate mortgage: Which is right for you?
Mortgage borrowers can choose between a fixed-rate mortgage and an adjustable-rate mortgage (ARM).
Fixed-rate mortgages (FRMs) have interest rates that never change unless you decide to refinance. This results in predictable monthly payments and stability over the life of your loan.
Adjustable-rate loans have a low interest rate that’s fixed for a set number of years (typically five or seven). After the initial fixed-rate period, the interest rate adjusts every year based on market conditions.
With each rate adjustment, a borrower’s mortgage rate can either increase, decrease, or stay the same. These loans are unpredictable since monthly payments can change each year.
Adjustable-rate mortgages are fitting for borrowers who expect to move before their first rate adjustment, or who can afford a higher future payment.
In most other cases, a fixed-rate mortgage is typically the safer and better choice.
Remember, if rates drop sharply, you are free to refinance and lock in a lower rate and payment later on.
How your credit score affects your mortgage rate
You don’t need a high credit score to qualify for a home purchase or refinance, but your credit score will affect your rate.
This is because credit history determines risk level.
Historically speaking, borrowers with higher credit scores are less likely to default on their mortgages, so they qualify for lower rates.
So, for the best rate, aim for a credit score of 720 or higher.
Mortgage programs that don’t require a high score include:
Conventional home loans — minimum 620 credit score
FHA loans — minimum 500 credit score (with a 10% down payment) or 580 (with a 3.5% down payment)
VA loans — no minimum credit score, but 620 is common
USDA loans — minimum 640 credit score
Ideally, you want to check your credit report and score at least 6 months before applying for a mortgage. This gives you time to sort out any errors and make sure your score is as high as possible.
If you’re ready to apply now, it’s still worth checking so you have a good idea of what loan programs you might qualify for and how your score will affect your rate.
You can get your credit report from AnnualCreditReport.com and your score from MyFico.com.
How big of a down payment do I need?
Nowadays, mortgage programs don’t require the conventional 20 percent down.
Indeed, first-time home buyers put only 6 percent down on average.
Down payment minimums vary depending on the loan program. For example:
Conventional home loans require a down payment between 3% and 5%
FHA loans require 3.5% down
VA and USDA loans allow zero down payment
Jumbo loans typically require at least 5% to 10% down
Keep in mind, a higher down payment reduces your risk as a borrower and helps you negotiate a better mortgage rate.
If you are able to make a 20 percent down payment, you can avoid paying for mortgage insurance.
This is an added cost paid by the borrower, which protects their lender in case of default or foreclosure.
But a big down payment is not required.
For many people, it makes sense to make a smaller down payment in order to buy a house sooner and start building home equity.
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Choosing the right type of home loan
No two mortgage loans are alike, so it’s important to know your options and choose the right type of mortgage.
The five main types of mortgages include:
Fixed-rate mortgage (FRM)
Your interest rate remains the same over the life of the loan. This is a good option for borrowers who expect to live in their homes long-term.
The most popular loan option is the 30-year mortgage, but 15- and 20-year terms are also commonly available.
Adjustable-rate mortgage (ARM)
Adjustable-rate loans have a fixed interest rate for the first few years. Then, your mortgage rate resets every year.
Your rate and payment can rise or fall annually depending on how the broader interest rate trends.
ARMs are ideal for borrowers who expect to move prior to their first rate adjustment (usually in 5 or 7 years).
For those who plan to stay in their home long-term, a fixed-rate mortgage is typically recommended.
Jumbo mortgage
A jumbo loan is a mortgage that exceeds the conforming loan limit set by Fannie Mae and Freddie Mac.
In 2023, the conforming loan limit is $726,200 in most areas.
Jumbo loans are perfect for borrowers who need a larger loan to purchase a high-priced property, especially in big cities with high real estate values.
FHA mortgage
A government loan backed by the Federal Housing Administration for low- to moderate-income borrowers. FHA loans feature low credit score and down payment requirements.
VA mortgage
A government loan backed by the Department of Veterans Affairs. To be eligible, you must be active-duty military, a veteran, a Reservist or National Guard service member, or an eligible spouse.
VA loans allow no down payment and have exceptionally low mortgage rates.
USDA mortgage
USDA loans are a government program backed by the U.S. Department of Agriculture. They offer a no-down-payment solution for borrowers who purchase real estate in an eligible rural area. To qualify, your income must be at or below the local median.
Bank statement loan
Borrowers can qualify for a mortgage without tax returns, using their personal or business bank account as evidence of their financial circumstances. This is an option for self-employed or seasonally-employed borrowers.
Portfolio/Non-QM loan
These are mortgages that lenders don’t sell on the secondary mortgage market. And this gives lenders the flexibility to set their own guidelines.
Non-QM loans may have lower credit score requirements or offer low-down-payment options without mortgage insurance.
Choosing the right mortgage lender
The lender or loan program that’s right for one person might not be right for another.
Explore your options and then pick a loan based on your credit score, down payment, and financial goals, as well as local home prices.
Whether you’re getting a mortgage for a home purchase or a refinance, always shop around and compare rates and terms.
Typically, it only takes a few hours to get quotes from multiple lenders. And it could save you thousands in the long run.
Time to make a move? Let us find the right mortgage for you
Current mortgage rates methodology
We receive current mortgage rates each day from a network of mortgage lenders that offer home purchase and refinance loans. Those mortgage rates shown here are based on sample borrower profiles that vary by loan type. See our full loan assumptions here.