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Apache is functioning normally

June 8, 2023 by Brett Tams

Referral and Marketing Tools; TPO Products; U/W, Doc Custodian Review; DSCR and 2nd Program News

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Referral and Marketing Tools; TPO Products; U/W, Doc Custodian Review; DSCR and 2nd Program News

By:
Rob Chrisman

Wed, Jun 7 2023, 10:50 AM

Mortgage news temporarily aside, how about the government contemplating a law that would require cars to have AM radio?! AM radio goes farther than FM or cellular streaming services which is why, in out-of-the-way places, like in mountains, you can tune in to an AM station for traffic reports. If you think radio, or the mortgage process, is confusing, try visual entertainment, with too many cable channels and media outlets to fill with 24-7 options and opinions. Too many shows cast across streaming channels. Too many hours on cable TV with financial pundits offering crazy predictions, just to get on TV. I wish that I had an org chart showing who is in charge of what, and how they fit together. I now have three remotes and need to figure out the relationship between Roku, Apple TV+, Prime Video, VUDU, Discovery, YouTubeTV, Sling, Disney+, HBO Max (“Max”), Hulu, Netflix, Paramount+, Peacock, Showtime, Starz… the list goes on and on. And what the heck is BritBox anyway? (Today’s podcast can be found here and this week’s is sponsored by Built Technologies. Join Built Technologies on June 20th at 12 PM CST for an exclusive webinar that will dive into proactive portfolio monitoring as Built’s experts share best practices for achieving greater visibility into your construction portfolio. Today’s includes an interview with Milo’s Josip Rupena on the impact pricing is having on young homeownership.)

Lender and Broker Software and Services

Summer is approaching, and every extra second counts when you’re working on your tan. Utilizing digital mortgage tools can save you a lot of time, reducing turnaround times and increasing operational efficiencies. Whether you are using a hybrid or fully digital eClosing process, it’s crucial to prioritize compliance and efficiency, ensuring the correct eSignature tools and processes is a major part of that. By leveraging advanced eSignature technology, you can simplify your operations, ensure compliance, and save time. Wolters Kluwer’s ClosingCenter and SmartSign Plus allow you to improve operational efficiency by as much as 50 percent, simultaneously improving the customer experience and collecting the key data you need to remain compliant with ever-changing regulations. Learn how advanced eSignature can improve your closing process now!

In today’s ever-changing mortgage landscape, the right lending partner is essential. That’s where Flagstar Bank comes in. As the second largest warehouse lender and a $124 billion asset bank, Flagstar offers the strength, stability, and best-in-class service you’ve been looking for. Flagstar warehouses most loan types, including conventional, NonQM, and construction. Our MSR, servicer advance, and EBO financing solutions are also available. Flagstar’s warehouse platform already gives approximately 400 warehouse clients of all sizes the flexibility to fund quickly and easily. In addition, our specialized mortgage banking team may be able to help streamline operations and provide greater value for cash balances. Don’t let market turbulence hinder your growth. Instead, choose Flagstar as your lending partner and unlock a world of opportunities for your business to thrive. Contact Jeff Neufeld or Patti Robins today to discuss what Flagstar can do for you.

It’s not news to you that lenders nationwide are facing rising interest rates and falling production volumes. Let’s give those decreased production volumes some perspective, shall we? Find out right now with MMI’s monthly Mortgage Industry Benchmarks newsletter, which lets lenders and LOs compare their recent performance to their peers via production-based tiers. After significant pipeline growth in March, lenders in every tier faced a decrease in production volume in April. Lenders in MMI’s Capital Tier ($500M-$5B production/year) averaged a 14.9 percent decrease in production from March to April while LOs in the Diamond Tier ($50-100M production/year) saw a 16.9 percent decrease in their monthly production. Now that you know how some lenders and LOs fared in April, find out how you stack up against your peers. Sign up for MMI’s monthly newsletter for to find out and for more insights like these!

“Unlock the secrets to consumer’s digital financial data with AccountChek® by Informative Research! Are you facing confusion and uncertainty regarding investor programs as they relate to verifications? Our expert consultation is here to guide you towards clarity and success. Navigating the complex landscape of asset, income, and employment verification can be challenging. Do not let it hinder your operations any longer. Let the experienced AccountChek team help you understand investor programs and streamline your verification processes. Book a consultation meeting today and gain access to our industry-leading expertise to provide you with the insights and answers you need to make more loan applications eligible for the many programs that leverage digital verification data. Say goodbye to confusion and hello to efficient verification processes that seamlessly feed into investor programs. Stop wasting time and resources on guesswork. Join the satisfied lenders who have already benefited from Informative Research’s consultation services and AccountChek. Click now to schedule your meeting and discover how we can revolutionize your mortgage operations.”

“Ensure Compliance with GNMA and Safeguard Investor Interests! Noncompliance is not an option: both your auditor and GNMA require that your Document Custodian undergo regular reviews. At Richey May, we are a step ahead and have scheduled reviews for four Document Custodians beginning in September 2023. Our team of experts is well-versed in Document Custodian Procedures and has years of experience helping mortgage companies comply with these requirements. We’ll conduct a comprehensive review of your Document Custodian to ensure compliance and identify any areas needing improvement. Trust us to safeguard the interests of investors and stay compliant. To schedule a comprehensive review, reach out to us.”

We all know volumes will return eventually, so why not get ahead of your competition during this slow season to optimize your operations with CandorPLUS? CandorPLUS builds upon the popular Candor LES underwriting engine and is a Lean Six Sigma Man + Machine solution spanning the entire loan fulfillment process. Why is now the best time? The current economic environment allows for favorable pricing. Manageable volume allows time to adapt and optimize. Right size operations for the last time… No more difficult layoffs. Instantly scale without additional headcount. Faster turn times increases market share and loyalty. Click here to learn more and take advantage of our introductory pricing!

Marketing and Referral Products

You have to apply for a license to become a bona fide Unicorn Hunter, but all you need on your quest for more referrals is a phone and SimpleNexus, an nCino company’s mortgage app. SimpleNexus’ all-in-one mobile technology empowers loan officers to implement a powerful referral strategy and establish quick and constant connections with real estate agents. By supporting ongoing digital collaboration between lenders, real estate agents, and consumers, SimpleNexus transforms the time-consuming process of engaging, nurturing, and converting leads into a single-sign-on experience. Download SimpleNexus’ latest white paper, Leveraging Digital for Smarter Referral Strategies, and make some magic in your pipeline.

Here’s a true story about the power of a SmartCRM™: a loan officer we know made the President’s Club… from a hospital bed. On a mortgage company’s production cruise not long ago, a winner slipped near the pool and landed on the back of his head. He was unconscious for 20 minutes, but when he woke up, he felt fine. Turns out he wasn’t fine. In fact, he almost died and spent a year in the hospital. That same year, from his hospital bed, he originated $12 million. How? Great relationships, a great assistant, and automated marketing. His Realtors and clients had no idea he was even sick. They continued to get great service from his assistant and targeted, personalized marketing from Usherpa. According to the Loan Officer, “Without Usherpa, I’d be out of business.” Find out how to originate more loans from anywhere with this free eGuide.

Free eBook: Winning Agent Business: The Lender’s Guide to a Strong Referral Network. In today’s volatile market, a steady stream of referrals means the difference between maintaining a pipeline and scrounging for leads. And as we move towards market recovery, a robust book of business will serve as an invaluable tool to take full advantage of profitable opportunities. Real estate agents still hold the keys to the referral kingdom. To create this eBook, Maxwell interviewed agents and broker-owners across the country. The result is firsthand advice to help you better network to create a strong funnel of referral leads. Download your free copy to learn the 4 qualities real estate agents value in their lending partners, agent networking dos and don’ts, 5 ways to become a go-to lender for real estate agents, and more. Click here to download “Winning Agent Business: The Lender’s Guide to a Strong Referral Network.”

Broker and Correspondent Programs

“U.S. Bank is dedicated to ongoing affordable housing efforts, and we believe sustainable homeownership is an important means of building wealth. Our commitment starts by empowering through education. As a trusted advisor, we’ve launched an educational breakthrough series aimed at providing lenders with the tools and resources to be successful. Join our upcoming breakthrough series “NextGen Homebuyers: How to Reach the Fastest Growing Homebuyer” or our “Affordable and Community Outreach” session to understand the challenges, opportunities and how to make a positive impact in growing communities. To learn more about participating, please contact your U.S. Bank account executive.”

Happy National Homeownership Month! A month that highlights and celebrates the value that owning a home brings to families, communities, and neighborhoods across the Country. And what better way to celebrate then to announce AFR Wholesale’s next edition of our “Why Wait?” series. We invite you on June 21st at 2 PM EST. to join AFR and special guests from Fannie Mae to learn about HomeReady® and how to leverage this program. Register Today! Over our series, we want to highlight affordable financing solutions that provide homeownership opportunities to more families. This provides you with a platform to learn from and ask Fannie Mae directly how to interpret program guidelines while AFR will provide insight on how to use this program as a solution for your borrowers. This live webinar will not be recorded, so sign up today and don’t miss it! Contact AFR by going to afrwholesale.com, email [email protected] or call 1-800-375-6071.

Are you frustrated as a retail loan officer or mortgage banker with the lack of flexibility to provide custom loan options? Take control: follow the lead of over 24,000 MLOs like you who have joined the wholesale channel in the last year. Whether you open your own independent mortgage brokerage or join a team as a loan officer, you’ll have the ability to provide your clients with the personalized solutions they need. Contact our team at BeAMortgageBroker.com today and you’ll be well on your way to a more fulfilling tomorrow.

Citi Correspondent Lending continues to make supporting underserved communities and diverse markets a priority, which is why we’re very excited to announce the pilot launch of our new HomeRun program. The first in a series of planned Community Lending initiatives, this program is a portfolio Community Lending product that allows up to 97 percent LTV, requires as little as 1 percent borrower down payment contribution and has no mortgage insurance requirement. These features could help make the path to homeownership significantly more affordable for your borrowers. Please reach out to your Citi Account Executive or our National Client Services Team to learn more about this new program and timeline for participant expansion.

Non-Agency, DSCR, and 2nd Changes

A&D Mortgage launched its Second Mortgage Program, designed to help homeowners and real estate investors access affordable financing options. The program offers competitive rates and flexible terms for owner-occupied homes, second homes, and investment properties.

Max Slyusarchuk, Founder and CEO of A&D Mortgage says: “We understand that life happens, and credit scores don’t always reflect a person’s full financial picture. Our new program allows us to meet those customers where they are and provide them with the financing they need.” Borrowers can access up to 85 percent combined loan-to-value (CLTV) ratios on their primary residence or up to 75 percent CLTV on a vacation home or investment property. Borrowers must have a minimum credit score of 660 or higher, with a maximum debt-to-income (DTI) at 50 percent.

Champions Funding’s Accelerator Program has been consolidated to serve as a portfolio-building vehicle for your real estate investors. To further reduce friction in Underwriting, you are connected directly to decision-makers to further speed things up. With streamlined Non-QM products, you can qualify borrowers fast and close even faster, in as little as 5 business days.

Just a few examples of Hometown Equity Mortgage Niches: 100 percent FHA financing, VOE only FHA, 1-year 1099, 1- year P&L use to qualify non owner properties, business bank statements down to 20 percent expense factor, Foreign Nationals no credit, 2-1 buydown use seller concessions, Bridge first time home buyer no income / blanket loans, 5-25 units.

Gain An Edge with Angel Oak DSCR Loans: 6 Months title seasoning for cash out, calculate the Debt Service Coverage Ratio (DSCR) based on interest-only payments, Condotels allowed,

Non-permanent residents, Foreign Nationals, Business Purpose Loans (allows LOs to close DSCR loans in states that they are not licensed in).

Capital Markets

Not much to report yesterday in the absence of economic data and Federal Reserve speakers. There was some chatter that the economy may be able to avoid a recession, though I’m not quite ready to declare that it’s headed for a soft landing just yet. We did see a little “spread tightening” (Treasury yields unchanged, mortgage rates down), which is good news considering MBS spreads continue to remain at historically wide levels. That isn’t helping mortgage rates and LOs as the spread between the 30-year fixed rate mortgage and the 10-year bond yield has surpassed the highs of last year, the 2008 financial crisis, and is back at levels last seen nearly 40 years ago.

Today’s calendar kicked off with mortgage applications decreasing 1.4 percent from one week earlier, according to data from MBA. This week’s results include an adjustment for the Memorial Day holiday. We’ve also received the April trade deficit at $74.6 billion, where expectations were for $75.8 billion versus $64.2 billion in March. Later today brings the latest Bank of Canada policy decision as well as consumer credit. We begin the day with Agency MBS prices roughly unchanged from Tuesday and the 10-year yielding 3.69 after closing yesterday at 3.69 percent. The 2-year is still up around 4.52 percent, so the yield curve inversion is alive and well.

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Source: mortgagenewsdaily.com

Posted in: Refinance, Renting Tagged: 1099, 2, 2023, 30-year, 30-year fixed rate, About, Advanced, advice, advisor, affordable, affordable housing, agent, agents, All, app, apple, Applications, ask, asset, Bank, bank account, Banking, bed, best, best practices, bond, book, borrowers, bridge, Broker, brokerage, building, building wealth, Built, business, buydown, buyer, Cable, Cable TV, Capital markets, cars, CEO, Citi, closing, collaboration, collecting, Commentary, companies, company, Competition, Compliance, construction, Consumers, correspondent, Correspondent lending, country, Credit, credit score, credit scores, Crisis, curve, custom, Customer Experience, data, Debt, debt-to-income, decision, Digital, Digital mortgage, discover, disney, don'ts, dos, down payment, DTI, eclosing, Economy, education, efficient, Employment, Employment verification, Entertainment, environment, equity, estate, expectations, expense, experience, experts, Fannie Mae, Features, Federal Reserve, FHA, financial crisis, Financial Wize, FinancialWize, financing, fixed, fixed rate, Fixed rate mortgage, Flagstar, Flagstar Bank, Free, fund, funnel, good, government, great, growth, guests, guide, hold, holiday, home, home buyer, homebuyer, Homebuyers, homeowners, homeownership, homes, hours, Housing, How To, Hulu, impact, improvement, in, Income, industry, Insights, Insurance, interest, interest rates, interview, investment, Investment Properties, investment property, Investor, investors, launch, Law, Layoffs, Learn, lenders, lending, leverage, Life, list, Live, loan, Loan officer, loan officers, Loans, LOS, Make, man, market, Marketing, markets, Maxwell, MBA, MBS, Media, memorial day, mobile, Mobile App, Mobile technology, More, Mortgage, mortgage applications, Mortgage Insurance, Mortgage News, Mortgage Rates, mountains, Move, MSR, neighborhoods, netflix, networking, new, News, non-QM, oak, offers, Operations, or, payments, percent, pilot, podcast, pool, Popular, portfolio, predictions, president, Prices, proactive, products, programs, property, rate, Rates, reach, ready, Real Estate, Real Estate Agents, Real Estate Investors, Realtors, Recession, referrals, Relationships, Research, return, Review, Reviews, right, Roku, sales, save, second, second homes, secrets, seller, september, Series, shares, single, social, Social Media, Software, states, story, Strategies, streaming, summer, sustainable, Technology, The Economy, time, timeline, title, tools, TPO, Treasury, trust, tv, u.s. bank, Underwriting, vacation, vacation home, value, versus, Video, volume, warehouse lender, wealth, Webinar, white, will, Wolters Kluwer, working, young

Apache is functioning normally

June 7, 2023 by Brett Tams

Boston fintech firm Knox Financial plans to expand its lending business and loan products with $50 million in funding it received from a real estate advisory firm. 

New York-headquartered Saluda Grade provided the funding in forward flow capital which Knox will use to expand its lending business into Georgia, Knox representatives said Wednesday. The fintech also will offer additional loan products, including home equity lines of credit (HELOCs), new purchase loans and cash-out refinancings. 

“A homeowner’s best investment is the home they live in — far better than the returns we’ve seen from the stock market in 2022, and a great hedge against record-high inflation,” said David Friedman, co-founder and CEO of Knox Financial. 

Established in 2018, Knox aims to help manage residential rentals with its algorithm-based platform. Its rental pricing and projection model also calculates the rate of return an investment property is expected to produce over time. When a property is enrolled in the platform, Knox automates and oversees the property’s finances and taxes, insurance, leasing, banking and bill pay, according to the company’s website. 

The funding comes shortly after Knox launched its first mortgage product, dubbed the Knox equity access program (KEAP), in April. KEAP loans give homeowners access to capital, based on the equity in the home, to turn it into an investment property with Knox. Homeowners can then use their KEAP loan to fund a downpayment on their next home and to pay for repairs on their investment property.

In return, Knox charges an origination fee and third-party costs to the borrower. Knox also keeps 10% of the rental income generated from properties listed on its platform. 


Prioritizing home equity solutions in a rising rate environment

The 2022 housing market has been underscored by interest rate spikes and refi decline and lenders are working hard to adjust to new borrower trends. HousingWire recently spoke with Barry Coffin, managing director of home equity title/close at ServiceLink, about the ways lenders can capitalize on these trends by revving up their home equity solutions.

Presented by: ServiceLink

Knox’s expansion comes amid a shrinking mortgage origination market. As mortgage rates began increasing this year, lenders, mortgage tech firms and real estate brokerages started laying off employees, often citing rapidly declining market conditions. 

With rising mortgage rates, company representatives said Knox has seen growing interest in second lien products such as home equity loans or HELOCs from borrowers who have tappable equity but don’t want to refinance. 

“As mortgage rates have risen, more inventory will become available at more competitive pricing,” said Matt Marra, chief growth officer at Knox.

Knox Financial raised $10 million in Series A funding in April 2021, led by G20 Ventures, following a $3 million seed round in January 2020. The largest markets for Knox are metropolitan areas of Boston, Atlanta, Houston, Dallas and Austin, Texas. According to Marra, Knox oversees a portfolio of $150 million in combined value.

Source: housingwire.com

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Apache is functioning normally

June 7, 2023 by Brett Tams

Let’s talk mortgage basics: “What is the loan-to-value ratio?”

If you’re currently shopping for a home or already going through the mortgage loan process, chances are you’ve heard the phrase loan-to-value ratio get thrown around on more than one occasion.

You may have also encountered the acronym “LTV” while perusing mortgage advertisements or playing around on mortgage rate comparison websites.

Regardless of what’s going on in the housing market, you should know all about this very important term when applying for a home loan.

Why? Because it can greatly affect mortgage rate pricing, refinance options, and overall loan eligibility.

How to Calculate the Loan-to-Value Ratio (LTV)

loan to value ratio

  • It’s actually one of the easiest calculations you can make
  • Simply divide the loan amount by the appraised value or purchase price
  • And you’ll wind up with a percentage known as your LTV
  • The tricky part might be agreeing on a sales price and getting the home to appraise at value

Simply put, the loan-to-value ratio, or “LTV ratio” as it’s more commonly known in the industry, is the mortgage loan amount divided by the lower of the purchase price or appraised value of the property.

If we’re talking existing mortgages (in the case of refinance loans), it’s the outstanding loan balance divided by the appraised value.

When calculating it, you will wind up with a percentage. That number is your LTV. And the lower the better here folks!

It’s actually very easy to calculate (no algebra required) and takes just one step. You don’t even need a mortgage calculator. In fact, you might be able to run the numbers in your head. Honest!

Let’s calculate a typical LTV ratio:

Property value: $500,000
Loan amount: $350,000
Loan-to-value ratio (LTV): 70%

In the above example, we would divide $350,000 by $500,000 to come up with a loan-to-value ratio of 70%.

Using a basic household calculator, not a so-called “LTV calculator,” simply enter in 350,000, then hit the divide symbol, then enter 500,000. You should see “0.7,” which translates to 70% LTV. That’s it, all done!

This means our hypothetical borrower has a loan for 70 percent of the purchase price or appraised value, with the remaining 30 percent the home equity portion, or actual ownership in the property.

LTV ratios are extremely important when it comes to mortgage rate pricing because they represent how much skin you have in the game, which is a key risk factor used by lenders.

A Lower LTV Ratio Means More Ownership, Better Mortgage Rate

low LTV low rate

  • The lower your loan-to-value ratio the more home equity or down payment you have
  • Which is another way of saying ownership or skin in the game
  • A low LTV equates to a lower mortgage rate because you’re viewed as less risky
  • It means the bank is risking less since you are more invested in the underlying property

Essentially, the lower the loan-to-value ratio, the better, as it means you have more ownership (home equity) in the property.

Someone with more ownership is less likely to fall behind on payments or foreclose, seeing that they have a greater equity stake, aka financial interest to keep paying the mortgage each month.

They’ve also got more options if they do struggle with payments, as they could just sell the property without taking a loss (or the bank losing money).

Not only that, but banks and mortgage lenders also set up pricing adjustment tiers based solely on the LTV ratio.

Those with lower LTV ratios will enjoy the lowest interest rates available, while those with high LTVs will be subject to higher mortgage rates and/or closing costs.

For example, if you’re being “hit” by the lender for having a less-than-stellar credit score, that adjustment will grow larger as the loan-to-value ratio increases (higher LTV ratio = greater risk).

So if your mortgage rate is bumped a quarter percent higher for a loan-to-value ratio of 80%, that same pricing hit may be increased to a half percentage point if the LTV ratio is a higher 90%.

This can certainly raise your interest rate in a hurry, so you’ll want to look at all possible scenarios with regard to down payment and loan amount to keep your LTV ratio as low as possible.

More importantly, just maintain an excellent credit score and you’ll have plenty of loan options, regardless of your chosen down payment or available home equity.

80% LTV Is a Very Important Threshold!

80% LTV

  • Keep your mortgage at/below 80% LTV if you want to save money
  • You won’t have to pay private mortgage insurance (PMI)
  • And it should result in a lower mortgage interest rate with fewer pricing adjustments
  • You’ll also enjoy greater lender choice as most banks will lend up to 80% LTV

Most borrowers (who have the means) elect to put 20% down when buying a home, as it allows them to avoid mortgage insurance and the much higher pricing adjustments often associated with LTVs above 80%.

Fewer adjustments mean you can secure a lower interest rate on your mortgage. And if you can avoid PMI at the same time, it’s a win-win for your monthly housing payment!

You may also find it easier to get approved, as virtually all banks and mortgage lenders will accept LTVs of 80% or less.

But you don’t necessarily need to put 20% down to enjoy the benefits of a low-LTV mortgage.

Also Get to Know the Combined Loan-to-Value Ratio (CLTV)

Looking at the above example again, if you were to raise the first mortgage amount to $400,000 and add a second mortgage of $50,000, the combined loan-to-value ratio, or CLTV as its known, would be 90%.

Banks and mortgage lenders have both LTV and CLTV limits, meaning they won’t allow homeowners to borrow more than say 80, 90, or 100 percent of the property value.

These limits came down after the Great Recession but are creeping back up again…

Let’s do the math here; again, no mortgage calculator required!

Simple math: $400,000 + $50,000 = $450,000 / $500,000 = 90% CLTV

You would have a first mortgage at 80% LTV, and a second mortgage for an additional 10% LTV, making the CLTV 90%. Simply add up both numbers.

Sometimes borrowers elect to break up home loans into a first and second mortgage, known as combo mortgages.

This keeps the loan-to-value ratio below key levels, thereby reducing the interest rate and/or helping the homeowner avoid private mortgage insurance.

Tip: The undrawn portion of a home equity line of credit (HELOC) typically isn’t included in the CLTV calculation.

Max LTV by Home Loan Type

max LTV

  • FHA loans go as high as 96.5% LTV (3.5% down payment)
  • Conforming loans (Fannie/Freddie) go as high as 97% LTV (3% down)
  • USDA and VA loans go to a full 100% LTV (zero down)
  • Jumbos, cash-out refis, and investment properties are much more restrictive
  • And there is no maximum LTV in many cases for streamline refinances

There are certain LTV limits based on home loan type, with conventional loans (non-government) typically being more restrictive than government loans.

And mortgage refinance programs often less accommodating than home purchase loans.

At the moment, you can get an FHA loan as high as 96.5% LTV, which is just 3.5% down payment.

You can get a conventional loan as high as 97% LTV, which at just 3% down is higher than it used to be.

In recent history, the maximum was 95% LTV, but now Fannie Mae and Freddie Mac are competing directly with the FHA.

[See FHA vs. conventional for more on that.]

You can get either a VA loan or USDA loan at 100% LTV (which represents no money down).

These are the most flexible loan programs LTV-wise, but they are also only available to veterans or those living in rural areas, respectively. So not everyone will qualify for these types of mortgage loans.

There are also proprietary home buying programs from various private mortgage lenders that allow for 100% LTV financing if you take the time to shop around.

If it’s a jumbo home loan, a cash-out refinance, or an investment property, the loan-to-value will be a lot more limited, potentially capped at just 70-80% LTV, depending on all the attributes.

And finally, those underwater or upside down borrowers you hear about; they owe more on their mortgage than the property is currently worth.

This can happen due to negative amortization and/or home price depreciation.

A quick underwater loan-to-value ratio example:

Property value: $400,000
Loan amount: $500,000
Loan-to-value ratio (LTV): 125%

As you can see, the underwater borrower has a LTV ratio greater than 100% (this equates to negative equity), which is a major issue from a risk standpoint.

For the record, you get 1.25 by dividing 500 by 400.

The problem with homeowners in these situations is that they have little incentive to stick around, even with a modified mortgage payment, as they’re so far in the red that there’s little hope of recouping home value losses.

However, the popular Home Affordable Refinance Program (HARP) allowed millions of underwater homeowners to refinance to lower rates with no LTV limit. And many of these folks are probably now back in the black.

Today, this type of program still exists, but is a permanent option known as a high-LTV refinance, or HIRO for short.

So there are options to refinance and get a lower interest rate, as long as your loan is owned by Fannie Mae or Freddie Mac, no matter the mortgage balance relative to the property value.

Same goes for FHA loans and VA mortgages thanks to the FHA streamline refinance and the VA IRRRL option.

Despite being far behind new homeowners entering the market in terms of building home equity, many of these formerly-underwater borrowers now have lots of equity thanks to rising home prices and several years of paying down their mortgages.

That’s why you have to consider the long-game in real estate and never give up, even when times get tough. This also illustrates why home buying shouldn’t be a quick or hasty decision.

A Lower Loan-to-Value Can Save You Money!

  • A lower LTV generally results in a better interest rate
  • Which means cheaper monthly mortgage payments
  • It puts more of your hard-earned dollars toward the principal balance each month
  • Potentially saving you thousands of dollars over the life of the loan!

As noted, a lower LTV will likely result in big savings thanks to a lower interest rate.

Additionally, you may be able to avoid costly private mortgage insurance, enjoy expanded loan program eligibility, and have an easier time getting approved for a mortgage.

If your LTV is higher than you’d like it to be, there are some creative options to lower it.

Borrowers Can Reduce Their LTV in a Variety of Ways

  • Come in with a larger down payment if it’s a home purchase loan
  • Ask for gift funds to increase your down payment
  • Or break your mortgage up into two separate loans (combo loan)
  • Make extra payments or a lump sum payment for a refinance to get the LTV down before you apply
  • Or simply wait for natural amortization and home price appreciation to lower your LTV over time

If we’re talking about a home purchase, simply bring in more down payment money and the LTV will be lower. Easier said than done, sure, but possible for some.

Perhaps someone will gift you the money or act as a co-borrower?

Alternatively, you can look into breaking up your financing into two loans, with both a first and second mortgage.

If it’s a mortgage refinance, simply pay down the mortgage balance a bit more before you apply, whether on schedule or by making extra mortgage payments.

This can be especially helpful if you’re super close to a certain LTV threshold, or just above the conforming loan limit.

Speaking of, pay close attention to your LTV – if it’s just above 80% or some other meaningful tier, think about adjusting your loan amount down (your loan officer should advise you here!).

Lastly, there’s another way existing homeowners can get their LTV down and it requires no effort whatsoever.

You don’t have to do anything except sit back and watch your property value increase over time, thereby lowering your LTV in the process. Of course, the opposite can happen too if home values drop!

But as noted, real estate should be treated with a long time horizon, so be sure you have the ability to ride the ups and downs and make moves when it’s most favorable to you.

Read more: 10 ways to build home equity.

Source: thetruthaboutmortgage.com

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Apache is functioning normally

June 5, 2023 by Brett Tams

Today we’ll take a thorough look at “Waterstone Mortgage,” a residential mortgage lender backed by a billion-dollar depository bank.

Despite being the subsidiary of a large publicly-traded company, they still have the feel of a local, independent mortgage lender.

The main advantage of that backing is a much bigger lending menu, which gives them the ability to offer unique loan products the other guys can’t.

They also pride themselves on being home purchase loan experts, a big plus if you’re attempting to buy in today’s ultra-competitive housing market.

But existing homeowners can benefit from their endless product menu too – let’s learn more to see if they could be a good fit for you.

Waterstone Mortgage Fast Facts

  • Retail, direct-to-consumer mortgage lender
  • Offers home purchase financing, refinances, and construction loans
  • Founded in 2000, headquartered in Pewaukee, Wisconsin
  • A wholly owned subsidiary of WaterStone Bank SSB
  • Funded roughly $4.5 billion in home loans last year
  • Nearly 20% of business comes from New Mexico (2nd largest in the state)
  • Also very active in Arizona, Florida, and Wisconsin
  • Licensed in all 50 states and the District of Columbia

Waterstone Mortgage is a retail, direct-to-consumer mortgage lender based in Pewaukee, Wisconsin, which is a suburb of Milwaukee.

They were founded in the year 2000 as a three-person team, and quickly expanded before being sold to Wauwatosa Savings Bank in 2006.

Just two years later, that company changed its name to WaterStone Bank, making them a wholly owned subsidiary.

This means they have the backing of a large, publicly-traded company and the expansive loan menu that comes with it.

Last year, they funded a whopping $4.5 billion in home loans, making them a major mortgage player nationwide.

Despite being headquartered in suburban Milwaukee, they are the second largest mortgage lender in the state of New Mexico, second only to Rocket Mortgage.

Waterstone is licensed to do business nationally, and also quite active in the states of Arizona, Florida, and Wisconsin.

They appear to be very well connected with local real estate agents as they have a 60%+ purchase loan share, which is uncommonly high.

The remainder of their business consists of mortgage refinances and home improvement loans.

How to Apply with Waterstone Mortgage

To begin, you can either visit their website or go to a local branch if one is located near you.

They have physical locations in about 20 states nationwide, so it might be possible to work with a loan originator in person.

Either way, you’ll find a wealth of information online, including a branch and loan officer directory, along with helpful guides and loan calculators.

From there, you’ll have the option to select an individual to work with and apply electronically via a mostly paperless process.

Their digital mortgage is powered by ICE Mortgage Technology (formerly Ellie Mae), a leading fintech company in the home loan space.

It allows you to upload loan documents safely and securely, link financials like a bank account for easy and reliable importing, and eSign all those disclosures.

Once submitted, you’ll be able to check loan status 24/7 and complete most loan tasks electronically, whether it’s ordering the home appraisal or satisfying outstanding conditions.

Thanks to their in-house team of processors, underwriters, and closers, you should be able to close quickly.

In fact, Waterstone Mortgage also developed a “Close On Time Calendar” to give customers an idea of what goes on along the way, and what to expect. But perhaps most importantly, how to close on time!

Those looking to buy a home in this competitive housing market can take advantage of their Platinum Credit Approval, which they call the next best thing after an all-cash offer.

It’s a mortgage pre-approval that involves a robust, upfront underwrite of your loan file to give home sellers peace of mind that you’re a highly-qualified buyer.

There’s also a Waterstone mobile app and a Realtor-exclusive website to help your agent stay in the know as you progress to the finish line.

Simply put, they offer best-in-class technology backed by real humans to ensure you close your home loan quickly and conveniently.

Loan Programs Offered by Waterstone Mortgage

  • Home purchase loans
  • Home renovation loans (including jumbo options)
  • Construction loans (all-in-one financing)
  • Refinance loans: rate and term, cash out, streamline
  • Conforming loans
  • Jumbo loans
  • FHA loans
  • VA loans
  • USDA loans
  • Manufactured home loans
  • Doctor mortgages (100% financing options)
  • Community Experts loan (0% down payment)
  • Community Heroes loan (1% down payment)
  • State Bond and Down Payment Assistance programs
  • Wealth Building Loan

If you go with Waterstone Mortgage, you’ll find no shortage of available loan programs. This is the advantage of being backed by a billion-dollar depository bank.

They offer just about everything under the sun, from home purchase loans to refinances to new construction loans and manufactured home loans.

You can finance any major property type, whether it’s a single-family home, cabin, townhome/condo, or multi-unit investment property.

The full suite of government-backed loan programs (FHA/USDA/VA) is available, along with both conforming and jumbo loan options.

Additionally, they’ve got loan programs tailored specifically for doctors and first responders, and even community experts like accountants and actuaries that require no down payment.

If you’re building, their Single Loan Close Construction program allows you to bundle the cost of the land/lot, construction of the property, and your permanent mortgage.

In term of specific loan types, you can get a fixed-rate mortgage like a 30-year or 15-year fixed, or an adjustable-rate mortgage like a 5/1, 7/1, and 10/1 ARM.

Unique to Waterstone is a so-called “Wealth Building Loan” that features a 20-year loan amortization period attached to either a 7/1 ARM or 10/1 ARM.

It allows homeowners to build equity faster than traditional 30-year mortgages and do so with zero down payment.

Waterstone Mortgage Rates

One slight negative to Waterstone Mortgage is their lack of information when it comes to pricing.

They don’t seem to list their mortgage rates or lender fees online, so it’s hard to know how competitive they are.

To determine that, you’ll need to get in touch with a loan originator to discuss rates and fees before you proceed to the formal application.

Be sure to inquire about any typical costs, such as an application fee or loan origination fee.

And take the time to compare their quoted mortgage APR to that of other banks, lenders, and mortgage brokers.

Once you’ve done your diligence on the mortgage shopping front, you’ll be able to better assess them as a whole.

They appear to offer excellent customer service and a wide product selection, but your mortgage rate will likely stay with you for a long, long time. So make sure it’s low!

Waterstone Mortgage Reviews

On Zillow, Waterstone Mortgage has a nearly-perfect 4.97-star rating out of a possible 5 from over 4,100 customer reviews.

Their score is doubly impressive given the large volume of reviews, and many recent ones indicate that both the mortgage rate and closing costs were lower than expected.

That gives us a nice hint about pricing, which should always be a top consideration when obtaining a mortgage.

You can also find reviews for their individual branches on Google, many of which are perfect 5-star reviews.

For example, their Winter Park, Florida branch location has a 4.9-star rating from over 450 reviews.

They are also an accredited business with the Better Business Bureau (and have been since 2009) and currently hold an ‘A+’ score based on complaint history. So customer service appears to be top notch.

To sum things up, Waterstone Mortgage might be best-suited for a first-time home buyer (or any home buyer) thanks to their wide array of tools and available loan programs.

Their fully-underwritten pre-approvals could give you an edge in a competitive housing market, and their zero-down home loan options are also a plus if you happen to be cash-strapped.

The only real question mark is pricing, as they don’t publicize mortgage rates or lender fees online.

But if they’re competitive with other banks and brokers, they should certainly be a consideration for your home loan needs, whether it’s a home purchase or a refinance.

Waterstone Mortgage Pros and Cons

The Good

  • Can apply for a home loan online or at a local branch
  • Licensed to do business nationwide
  • Their digital mortgage process is mostly paperless
  • Tons of unique loan programs to choose from including 100% financing
  • Offer fully-underwritten pre-approvals (good for competitive housing markets)
  • Excellent customer reviews
  • A+ BBB rating, accredited since 2009
  • Free smartphone app
  • Free mortgage calculators and online guides

The Perhaps Not

  • No mention of mortgage rates or lender fees
  • Do not service loans

Source: thetruthaboutmortgage.com

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Apache is functioning normally

June 4, 2023 by Brett Tams

Today we’ll check out “Celebrity Home Loans,” a mortgage lender that aims to treat you like a star. Perhaps more specifically, a Rockstar.

This means VIP service from start to finish to ensure you don’t have to “sweat the details” of your home loan financing.

Instead, you can focus on finding your dream home and leave the rest up to your mortgage lender.

This approach might explain how the company came up with its name, and what’s is mission is for its clients.

So far they seem to be living up to those lofty expectations, with excellent customer reviews from tens of thousands of customers. Read on to learn more.

Celebrity Home Loans Fast Facts

  • Direct-to-consumer, retail mortgage lender
  • Offers home purchase loans and mortgage refinancing
  • Founded in 2006, headquartered in Oakbrook Terrace, IL
  • Funded nearly $7.5 billion in home loans last year
  • Most active in California, Colorado, and Illinois
  • Do a near equal split of purchase loans and refis
  • Licensed to do business in 48 states and D.C.
  • More than 700 licensed loan originators nationwide

Celebrity Home Loans is a direct-to-consumer, retail mortgage lender with physical branches scattered throughout the country.

At last count, they employed more than 700 licensed loan originators nationwide.

They also own about two dozen other mortgage brands, including eClick Lending, Heritage Home Loans, Midwest Equity Mortgage, NEO Home Loans, and many others.

So there’s a chance you could obtain a mortgage from one of their many sister companies.

CHL got its start back in 2006, at around the time the housing market was peaking and began to fall.

Still, they managed to navigate the biggest housing crisis in recent history and fund tens of billions in home loans since.

Last year, they mustered an impressive $7.5 billion in loan origination volume, making them one of the bigger players on the national scene.

They do a near equal split of home purchase loans and refinances, which tells me they’re suitable for either purpose.

And while licensed in 48 states and the District of Columbia, they’re most active in California and Colorado, along with their home state of Illinois.

How to Apply with Celebrity Home Loans

To get started, your best move might be to visit their website from your computer or smartphone.

There you’ll be able to search for a nearby loan officer or branch office via their online directory.

You can see who works in an office nearby and quickly obtain contact information. Then reach out to get today’s pricing or inquire about available loan programs.

If you’re in the market to buy a home, their “Mortgage Assured” program goes beyond a standard pre-qualification and pre-approval to help you compete with cash buyers.

My assumption is it’s a fully-underwritten mortgage approval that gives home sellers confidence you’ll be able to obtain financing.

Once you find an individual you’d like to work with, you can click on the “Apply Now” button from their personal webpage to get started.

You’ll be prompted to create an online account with the option to also download Celebrity Home Loans’ free smartphone app.

Many loan tasks can be completed electronically, whether it’s the application itself, eSigning disclosures, or scanning/uploading documents.

Those who download the app have the option to message their loan officer instantly and receive updates as they go.

All in all, Celebrity Home Loans is big on technology and customer service, so you should get the best of both worlds here.

Loan Programs Offered by Celebrity Home Loans

  • Home purchase loans
  • Home renovation loans
  • Refinance loans: rate and term, cash out, streamline
  • Conforming loans backed by Fannie Mae and Freddie Mac
  • Jumbo loans
  • FHA loans
  • USDA loans
  • VA loans
  • Fixed-rate mortgages: 30-year, 15-year, and other terms available
  • Adjustable-rate mortgages: 5/1 and 7/1 ARM

Celebrity Home Loans offers a wide array of loan programs to fit nearly any situation.

Whether you’re buying a home, renovating one, or refinancing an existing mortgage, they’ve got solutions.

This includes conforming loans backed by Fannie Mae and Freddie Mac, jumbo loans, and the full suite of government options (FHA/VA/USDA).

And they lend on all major property types, whether it’s a primary residence, vacation home, or investment property.

Both fixed-rate and adjustable-rate mortgages are available in a variety of loan terms, including 5/1 and 7/1 ARMs.

Celebrity Home Loans Rates

One area where they lack information is loan pricing. There isn’t a section dedicated to mortgage rates or lender fees.

This contrasts some other banks and mortgage lenders that post daily mortgage rates and/or a list of lender fees.

As such, you’ll need to get in touch with a loan officer to obtain pricing your unique loan scenario. And to find out if they charge lender fees, such as a loan origination fee.

Be sure to compare the rate and fee they provide, collectively the mortgage APR, with that of other banks and lenders.

Doing so will allow you to determine how competitive they are relative to other options out there.

Service is definitely high up the list when it comes to selecting a mortgage company, but so is pricing, as it will stay with you for potentially decades to come.

Celebrity Home Loans Reviews

Over at Experience.com, Celebrity Home Loans has a solid 4.89-star rating out of a possible 5 from nearly 24,000 reviews.

You can see loan originator reviews as well if you want to see how a particular individual fared in the past.

This might be beneficial given the large number of folks employed by the company.

On Google, they have a perfect 5-star rating from about 1,500 customer reviews. Again, a great sign.

If you know the loan officer’s name, you might also be able to find personal reviews on Zillow.

And while they aren’t an accredited business with the Better Business Bureau (BBB), they do hold an ‘A+’ rating based on customer complaint history.

To sum things up, Celebrity Home Loans is committed to providing exceptional service to its customers.

And their many positive reviews show they’re holding up their end of the bargain.

So whether you’re buying a home or refinancing an existing mortgage, you should be in good hands.

The only question is how competitive they are relative to other options. Because they don’t lead with price, you may also want to compare their rates/fees to other companies before you proceed.

Celebrity Home Loans Pros and Cons

The Good Stuff

  • Can apply for a home loan online or via smartphone
  • Also have physical locations in several states
  • Offer a mostly paperless, digital loan process
  • Lots of loan programs to choose from
  • Excellent customer reviews
  • A+ BBB rating
  • Free smartphone app
  • Free mortgage calculators and glossary online

The Maybe Not

  • Not licensed in Nebraska or New York
  • Do not publicize mortgage rates or lender fees

(photo: Neal Fowler)

Source: thetruthaboutmortgage.com

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Apache is functioning normally

June 3, 2023 by Brett Tams

It’s almost mid-December, which means it is time for another round of mortgage and real estate predictions for the upcoming year.

I think it’s safe to say that 2021 has been another stellar year for both the mortgage industry and the housing market.

But it’s going to be hard to top or even match what we’ve experienced this year in terms of mortgage origination volume and home price gains.

However, the party might not be over yet, with additional home price gains on the horizon due to similar factors in play.

Let’s see what 2022 might have in store as we once again look into the crystal ball.

1. Mortgage rates will go up, but only slightly.

Experts have been calling this for years to no avail. We have been told year in and year out that the low mortgage rates are leaving the station.

But year after year, they remain. In 2022, I do expect them to rise somewhat, but not by a meaningful amount.

Sure, your 30-year fixed rate may go from 3% to 3.5%, but that’s not a huge jump. And any 30-year fixed in the 3s is generally very favorable.

It will put pressure on prospective home buyers who also have to grapple with rising home prices and a lack of inventory.

And it will certainly dent mortgage refinance demand, as most existing homeowners have already locked in a lower rate.

However, as I said in my 2022 mortgage rate predictions post, there will likely be opportunities during the year to snag a very low mortgage rate.

Why? Because the economy continues to be a bit of a mess and we’re still sorting out COVID. Until we put that stuff behind us, interest rates could swing in both directions.

2. Home prices will continue to rise a lot

Don’t be fooled by the old mortgage rates up, home prices down fallacy. There’s not a negative correlation, despite what everyone plainly assumes.

Both can go up at the same time, and that’s exactly what I expect to happen in 2022. Granted, mortgage rates will probably only rise slightly, while home prices will continue to surge.

For some reason, a new year gives folks new hope that a trend will simply come to an end.

But why would home prices just stop going up because it’s a new calendar year? The answer is they won’t.

As I’ve said before, the same fundamentals that have been at play for some time, continue to be in play.

There’s a severe lack of inventory and a surplus of would-be home buyers out there. It doesn’t take a genius to figure out what happens with prices.

When there’s a shortage of something people want/need, a premium must be paid until production ramps up.

Unfortunately, production (new home building) is still way behind and won’t catch up for a while.

In the meantime, expect more of the same, and higher 2022 home prices across the board.

The only difference is that estimates are all over the place, with some calling for just a 2.5% increase (CoreLogic) and others saying 11% (Zillow) or even 16% (Goldman Sachs) .

Personally, I’m bullish and going with the higher figures out there, but recognize gains will probably be lower in 2022 than they were this year.

3. Cash out refinances will finally get hot

cash out share

Housing pundits have been talking about the massive pile of collective home equity we’ve been sitting on for years now.

And it has only grown even larger since then, with equity levels the highest on record.

In short, American homeowners have a ton of equity in their properties that is ripe for tapping via a cash out refinance or a second mortgage, such as a HELOC.

But we have yet to see a massive cash out boom like the one experienced in the early 2000s housing market.

I expect cash out refis and HELOCs to have their day in the sun in 2022 as more and more homeowners realize how much their properties have appreciated.

Per Freddie Mac, about 42% of refinances resulted in cash out this year, which is up a bit from prior years, but nowhere close to the 80%+ share seen in 2006 and 2007.

Despite slightly higher mortgage rates, it may still be worth unlocking this valuable equity to pay for upgrades, college tuition, and other expenses.

After all, a 3% 30-year fixed rate is still phenomenal, and many homeowners can take out a large sum of money while keeping their loan-to-value (LTV) ratio very low.

And you can expect mortgage lenders to aggressively pitch this product now that rate and term refinances have mostly been exhausted.

4. The bidding wars will remain (and may even worsen)

It won’t get any easier buying a home next year. Even if mortgage rates are slightly higher, this won’t “bring prices down to earth.”

I keep hearing that line and it just doesn’t make any sense. Financing has never been the problem here. It’s always been a lack of supply.

And there will continue to be a lack of supply well into 2022, so why should competition be any less?

If anything, I could see more desperation fueled by these expected higher interest rates as buyers won’t want to miss out on their low rate too.

If you think about the last few years, at least mortgage rates were rock bottom. Now that you’ve got to worry about a rising rate and finding a home, the panic could be even more pronounced.

As always, prepare yourself adequately, start looking for a home immediately, and be aggressive if you want to win the bidding war.

Oh, and make sure you use an experienced real estate agent who knows how to get the job done.

5. Home sales volume will be flat or even lower next year

2022 home sales

While Redfin believes new listings will hit a 10-year high next year, I’m not so sure.

As much as there is motivation to sell a home due to sky-high asking prices, there remains the dilemma of where to go next.

Sure, you might be able to move to a different state, but those “cheap states” aren’t so cheap anymore.

At the same time, supply chain issues and a lack of workers is making it hard for home builders to ramp up supply of new homes.

Collectively, this will make it difficult for home sales to increase next year, as much as we all want to make a mint selling our homes.

This also reinforces the idea that home prices will continue to go up, and that the housing market will remain super competitive.

That being said, it will be a very lively housing market in 2022, just not one that necessarily sees a lot of growth.

6. Home buyers will continue to flock to new states

2022 hot housing markets

Yes, the cheap states aren’t so cheap anymore. But that won’t stop people from getting out of town.

Many young, prospective home buyers have been priced out of their local markets in California and other hot spots.

This, combined with the work-from-home new normal (sprinkle in some politics), will fuel a continuation of migration seen in recent years.

This means more folks from the Golden State will make the move to nearby states such as Arizona, Idaho, Nevada, Texas, and Utah.

While more affordable for them, it will exacerbate those local markets and make them more expensive for the people who already rent there.

Some of the hottest housing markets of 2022 include Salt Lake City, Utah, Boise, Idaho, Spokane, Washington, Indianapolis, Indiana, and Columbus, Ohio.

Basically any metropolitan area that was/is considered cheap and desirable will be less so next year as the out-of-state home buyers storm in.

So no matter where you happen to be, expect a fierce seller’s market.

7. First-time home buyers will purchase a second home or investment property (first)

This is an interesting one that I’m borrowing from Zillow because it’s seemingly odd, yet kind of savvy. And so 2021 and beyond.

Typically, a first-time home buyer will purchase a home to live in nearby where they work.

But because the real estate market is so hot and in such short supply, high-earning, cash-rich Millennials and Gen Zers may actually buy a second home or investment property instead.

The thinking is that they can get in on the real estate market by making an investment, even if it’s not in their overpriced backyard.

For example, a well-earning Gen Zer who lives in Santa Monica that may be priced out there could purchase a more affordable second home in Phoenix, Arizona, or an investment property in Las Vegas, Nevada.

Of course, this isn’t necessarily for the faint of heart, and this is exactly the type of thing that leads to trouble down the road.

But as long as mortgage lenders don’t get too careless with underwriting standards, it doesn’t signal the start of a housing crisis.

It does tell you just how crazy real estate has gotten though.

8. Home buyers will return to the city

condo search

While the suburbs have been hot in our post-COVID-19 world, I do believe more buyers will start to consider the city life again.

We will get through this pandemic, and once life returns to mostly normal, lots of folks will wish they owned in an urban center.

Prices in many once-hot areas close to lots of cool restaurants, bars, etc. have been deflated, but I expect that to reverse course in 2022.

The urban living trend isn’t going to disappear, even if more people work from home, or desire abundant outdoor space.

So look out for condo prices to see more price gains in 2022 and beyond, and play catch up with single-family residence gains.

There’s already proof in data here – Redfin noted that users filtered searches to single-family homes only (excluding condos/townhomes) in just 28% of searches in September.

That was down from a high of 37% in July 2020, when living in a city seemed unthinkable.

Condos also tend to appreciate the most at the tail end of a housing boom, which we could be approaching, so it all kind of makes sense.

9. There will be more layoffs, closures, and mergers

While there is some hope that cash out refis and home purchase loans will keep mortgage volumes afloat, it won’t be enough for all mortgage lenders out there.

For example, Freddie Mac is forecasting $2.1 trillion in home purchase origination in 2022, up from $1.9 trillion this year.

But also expects refinance origination volume to fall from $2.5 trillion to $995 billion. That’s gonna be a problem for the shops that specialize in refinances.

Ultimately, total volume dropping from $4.5 billion to $3 billion will be an issue and there’s no way around it.

As a result, you can expect more mortgage layoffs, similar to the Better.com layoffs, along with some outright closures.

I also believe there will be more consolidation in the fragmented mortgage market, with bigger banks and lenders swallowing up smaller ones.

10. The housing market won’t crash in 2022

I already said home prices will go up, but I’ll reiterate that the housing market won’t crash in 2022, either.

There is a large group of people who believe the housing market is due for a correction, mostly just because home prices have gone up a ton.

Sure, it’s easy to raise eyebrows these days when looking up what your house is worth, or your neighbor’s.

But that alone isn’t enough to make them reverse course, especially when there is a continued, historic lack of supply.

Additionally, mortgage lenders have yet to return to the loose underwriting that dominated the space in the early 2000s, and ultimately created the mortgage crisis.

For me, that means another year of strong housing appreciation, and another year without a housing market crash.

At the same time, it does mean we will be one year closer to a crash, which as history tells us, is inevitable.

(photo: Quinn Dombrowski)

Source: thetruthaboutmortgage.com

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Apache is functioning normally

June 1, 2023 by Brett Tams

Imagine a situation where you could transform your mortgage into a more favorable and empowering financial tool. Picture the possibilities of accessing the equity in your property or securing lower interest rates. Welcome to the world of mortgage refinancing. Refinancing your mortgage is like hitting the reset button on your home loan, allowing you to replace your current mortgage with one that better aligns with your financial goals. The general rule of thumb is that you’ll pay between 2% and 6% of the refinance value. Here’s how it breaks down.

For help figuring out how to refinance your mortgage in a way that works for you, consider working with a financial advisor.

Mortgage Refinances Basics

A mortgage refinance refers to the process of replacing an existing mortgage with a new one, typically to take advantage of more favorable terms or to access equity in a property. Refinancing means receiving a new loan to pay off your current loan and obtaining a lower interest rate, longer loan duration, or a different type of mortgage. For instance, you might refinance your fixed-rate mortgage to a 5/1 adjustable-rate mortgage (ARM) for a lower interest rate.

Remember, although mortgage refinancing can provide a more favorable loan, it involves closing costs and fees. As a result, it’s essential to calculate whether the potential savings or benefits outweigh the expenses over the long term.

Average Cost to Refinance a Mortgage

Refinancing a mortgage means paying for the loan servicing required for your original mortgage. While the average refinance costs 2% to 6% of your loan amount, costs vary depending on your circumstances. In addition, interest rates have risen in the last two years, making borrowing more expensive.

Here’s a breakdown of refinancing costs:

  • Application fee: $0-$500
  • Attorney fees: $500-$1,000
  • Credit report fee: $10-$100
  • Discount points: 0%-3%
  • Document preparation fee: $50-$600
  • Flood certification: $15-$25
  • Home appraisal: $300-$700
  • Home inspection: $300-$500
  • Origination fees: 0.5%-2%
  • Recording fees: $25-$250
  • Reconveyance fee: $50-$65
  • Tax service: Varies
  • Title insurance and search: $400-$900

Factors Affecting Refinance Costs

Refinancing your mortgage can save you a significant amount of money. However, it’s critical to note that, similar to acquiring a new home loan, a refinance entails closing costs that can impact your immediate and long-term financial situation. Compared to closing on a comparable purchase loan, the closing costs for a refinance are generally lower. The precise amount you’ll be required to pay depends on various factors, such as:

Your Loan Size

As mentioned above, lenders base mortgage insurance and other costs on your total loan amount. Therefore, the larger your loan, the higher the refinance cost.

Your Lender

Each lender has its own fee structure. For example, some lenders may waive your credit report or application fee. As a result, it’s wise to shop around for lenders and ask for a summary of fees before committing to a specific lender. This way, you can compare the offers available.

Your Location

Costs of home inspections, recording fees, taxes and more depend on your location. Therefore, where you live can change your refinance costs by hundreds or thousands of dollars.

Your Credit Score

Your credit score and history demonstrate your consistency and reliability as a borrower. As a result, your lender charges lower interest rates to customers with higher credit scores because they present less risk. On the other hand, a low credit score means you’ll pay more interest, increasing your refinancing costs.

Your Home Equity

Similarly, home equity can also impact the interest rates available when refinancing. Generally, lenders offer better rates to borrowers with higher levels of equity. With more equity in your home, you represent less risk to the lender, which can result in more favorable interest rate options.

In addition, the loan-to-value ratio (LTV) is a crucial factor lenders consider when evaluating a refinance application. You can calculate it by dividing the loan amount by the property’s appraised value. Lenders typically have maximum LTV ratios they are willing to accept. For example, if a lender has a maximum LTV of 80%, they will only refinance up to 80% of the home’s appraised value. So, if your original mortgage required private mortgage insurance (PMI) because you had a low down payment or a higher LTV ratio, refinancing can help you eliminate PMI. Building equity to achieve an LTV ratio of 80% or less can eliminate PMI, reducing your monthly payment.

Your Loan Duration

Refinancing means receiving new terms for your loan. For example, you might extend your loan by five years or more through a refinance. Although doing so can lower your monthly payment, it usually increases the amount of interest you pay over time. On the other hand, shortening your loan duration means paying it off more quickly, reducing paid interest.

Your Type of Mortgage (Fixed-Rate or Adjustable-Rate)

With a fixed-rate mortgage, the interest rate remains constant throughout the entire loan term. The rate you agree upon at the beginning of the loan remains unchanged over the life of the mortgage, whether over 15, 20, or 30 years. This stability allows you to have predictable monthly mortgage payments, making budgeting easier. The downside is your interest rate is permanent, even if market trends in the future produce lower interest rates.

In contrast to fixed-rate mortgages, adjustable-rate mortgages (ARMs) have an interest rate that can change periodically. Typically, an ARM has an initial fixed-rate period, such as 5, 7, or 10 years, during which the interest rate remains stable. This rate is usually lower than fixed-rate mortgages. Then, after the initial period, the interest rate can adjust periodically based on an index, such as the U.S. Treasury rate. Therefore, the interest rate can fluctuate over time, potentially resulting in higher or lower monthly payments. If interest rates rise, your payments may increase, but if rates fall, your payments could decrease.

Your Specific Mortgage Program

In addition, you’ll pay different amounts for mortgage insurance depending on the loan type. For instance, mortgage insurance for conventional loans costs 0.15% to 1.95% of the loan amount every year. For FHA loans, you’ll pay a 1.75% premium upon closing and 0.15% to 0.75% of the loan amount every year. VA loans have a funding fee at closing of 0.5% to 3.6%. Lastly, USDA loans have a 1% upfront fee and a 0.35% annual fee.

Your Type of Property

The type of property you own can impact the refinancing process. Lenders may consider different factors and have specific guidelines based on the property type. Here are a few ways the property type can affect a refinance:

  1. Primary Residence: Refinancing a primary residence typically offers the most favorable terms and options. Lenders may provide lower interest rates and more flexible terms for primary residences because borrowers prioritize them over other real estate and assets.
  2. Investment Property: Refinancing an investment property, such as a rental property or vacation home, often comes with slightly higher interest rates and stricter eligibility requirements. Lenders may impose stricter debt-to-income ratios, require larger down payments and assess the property’s rental income potential to determine the feasibility of the refinance.
  3. Condominiums: Refinancing a condominium may have specific requirements. Lenders may assess the financial health of the condominium association, including factors such as the percentage of owner-occupied units, insurance coverage and reserve funds. Additionally, lenders may have stricter appraisal requirements for condos to ensure the property’s value and marketability.
  4. Multi-Unit Properties: Refinancing a multi-unit property, such as a duplex, triplex, or apartment building, may involve different considerations. Lenders typically evaluate the property’s rental income potential, occupancy rates and the borrower’s experience as a landlord. The appraisal process may focus on the property’s income-generating capabilities.
  5. Manufactured or Mobile Homes: Refinancing a manufactured or mobile home may have specific requirements and considerations. Lenders may have stricter criteria for these types of properties due to their unique characteristics. They may require specific certifications, consider the property’s foundation and location and have limitations on the loan-to-value ratio.

Typical Cost Breakdown

Here’s an example of how these numbers work. According to a recent report by Freddie Mac, the average rate refinance is about $273,500. So, here’s how the costs look at percentages of the loan balance on average using the dollar figures introduced earlier:

  • Application fee: 0%-0.18%
  • Attorney fees: 0.18%-0.36%
  • Credit report: 0.003%-0.03%
  • Discount points: 0%-3%
  • Document preparation fee: 0.018%-0.2%
  • Home appraisal: 0.11%-0.25%
  • Home inspection: 0.11%-0.18%
  • Origination fees: 0.5%-2%
  • Recording fees: 0.009%-0.09%
  • Reconveyance fee: 0.018%-0.023%
  • Title insurance and search: 0.14%-0.33%

Additional Considerations

Here are several other aspects of refinancing a mortgage to contemplate before taking action:

Interest Rates Variations 

Interest is the foundation for how lenders make money on loans. As a result, it’s one of the primary expenses for refinanced mortgages. The rate is a percentage of your principal balance, and your monthly payment goes toward interest first, then the principal. As a result, a higher interest rate means you’re paying more for the cost of the loan and less on the loan itself, increasing the cost and requiring more time for repayment.

Choosing Between Fixed-Rate and Adjustable-Rate Mortgages

Remember, a fixed-rate mortgage offers an interest rate that doesn’t change throughout the loan. This feature offers predictability for monthly payments until you repay the loan. On the other hand, adjustable-rate mortgages (ARMs) have interest rates that shift according to market trends after the initial fixed period. The advantage of ARMs is that your initial rate is usually lower than fixed-rate mortgages, and the adjustable rate afterward could also remain lower, increasing your savings.

Potential Savings Over the Long Term

How long you plan to live in your home is another crucial factor regarding refinancing. The refinancing process entails paying closing costs, which can outweigh the savings the interest rate reduction provides. Therefore, it’s best to estimate how long you plan to stay in your home to determine if you can break even or save money through refinancing. One method is to calculate the break-even point by dividing the total cost of the refinance by your monthly savings.

For example, say you save $100 per month, and the closing costs amount to $5,000. In this case, it would take approximately 50 months (or over four years) before you experience savings on your refinance. If you intend to stay in your home for longer than that, refinancing is worthwhile.

Loan-To-Value Ratio (LTV)

The eligibility of your mortgage for refinancing is influenced by the current value of your home compared to the loan amount. During the refinancing process, an independent party appraises your home to determine its market value. The appraised value is critical since the LTV usually can’t exceed 80%. If your home’s value has declined since you purchased it, you might lack sufficient equity to refinance, or you may need to bring additional funds to cover the difference between the home’s value and the loan amount.

Income Stability and Debt-To-Income Ratio

Other debts besides your mortgage, such as car loans or credit card debt, can impact your ability to refinance or the interest rate you receive. Lenders evaluate your debt-to-income ratio when you apply for a refinance. To calculate this ratio, divide your monthly debt payments by your gross monthly income. Generally, a debt-to-income ratio below 43% is desirable for mortgage or refinance qualification.

In addition, your current income and employment status, will influence the refinancing application. Specifically, changes in your income or employment can affect your refinancing eligibility. For instance, you may qualify for a better rate or more favorable terms if your income recently increased.

Conversely, suppose your income has decreased or you recently changed jobs. In that case, the refinancing process may be more challenging, depending on the duration of your current job or the extent of the income reduction. If you’ve recently started a new job, giving your situation several months to stabilize before attempting to refinance can help you qualify for a loan.

Cash-Out Refinance

Freddie Mac’s most recent report shows that 41.9% of refinances in 2021 were cash-out refinances. A cash-out refinance means liquidating a portion of your equity, putting thousands of dollars in your pocket. Homeowners cash out their equity for numerous purposes, such as improving the home, paying off debt, or starting a business. As a result, this refinance enlarges your mortgage, and you get a lump sum in return.

Strategies to Minimize Refinance Costs

Because refinancing can be expensive, it’s recommended to reduce costs as much as possible. This way, excessive fees won’t ruin the benefits of the refinance. These strategies can help you do so:

Shopping Around for Lenders

The whole lending market is open to you when refinancing. Although refinancing with your current lender might be convenient, you could find better rates and terms by getting quotes from several lenders and comparing the offers. This way, you’ll get the best deal available and save money on fees and interest.

Negotiating Fees and Closing Costs

Negotiating fees and closing costs with the lender is also an option. Many fees have wiggle room on the price, so asking lenders about discounts and waivers can be fruitful. In addition, a preexisting relationship with a lender, such as having a bank account or loan beforehand, allows you to access special deals.

Utilizing Mortgage Points

Lastly, you can purchase mortgage points to reduce your interest rate. Typically, they cost 1% of the loan amount per point. As a result, you can cut your interest rate down by paying several thousand dollars up front, reducing interest payments over time. It’s crucial to calculate when you break even if you do so. For example, say you spend $1,500 to lower your interest rate by 1%, lowering your monthly payment by $50. In this scenario, it will take 30 months to break even.

Hidden Costs to Be Aware Of

In addition, some refinancing costs are less apparent when shopping lenders. Here’s what to keep an eye out for:

  • Loan duration and its impact on costs: Generally, the longer the repayment schedule, the more expensive the loan. Your loan duration affects how long the interest rate builds upon the principal. So, repaying the loan faster means fewer compounding periods, which equates to less interest accrual.
  • Tax implications: Both original and refinanced mortgages provide a tax deduction for paid interest. In addition, purchasing points for a refinance loan creates another tax deduction. Specifically, you’ll divide what you paid over the number of years for the loan. So, paying $1,000 for a mortgage point for a 10-year loan results in a $100 deduction every year.
  • Costs associated with mortgage insurance: Refinancing with a conventional loan can incur mortgage insurance costs if you have less than 20% equity in your home. Specifically, private mortgage insurance (PMI) charges a percentage of your loan amount. These charges can occur at closing and each month as part of your loan payment.

The Bottom Line

Mortgage refinancing can benefit homeowners by allowing them to take advantage of more favorable terms and access equity in their property. However, it’s vital to carefully consider the costs involved in the refinancing process and determine whether the potential savings or benefits outweigh these expenses in the long term. As a result, it’s necessary to understand how numerous factors, including the loan amount, origination fees and discount points, can impact the overall cost of refinancing and evaluate the potential savings. Other considerations include the option of a cash-out refinance, which allows homeowners to access their equity, and using strategies to minimize refinance costs.

Tips for Refinancing a Mortgage

  • It’s a good idea for homeowners to analyze their financial situation and goals before refinancing their mortgage. Fortunately, you can consult with a financial advisor to evaluate your circumstances and make informed decisions that align with your long-term plan. Finding a qualified financial advisor doesn’t have to be hard. SmartAsset’s free tool matches you with up to three vetted financial advisors who serve your area, and you can have a free introductory call with your advisor matches to decide which one you feel is right for you. If you’re ready to find an advisor who can help you achieve your financial goals, get started now.
  • The real estate market fluctuates daily, making it challenging to understand when refinancing is beneficial. You can get an interest rate estimation using SmartAsset’s rate comparison tool to see if the market conditions suit you.

Photo credit: ©iStock/cnythzl, ©iStock/Daenin Arnee, ©iStock/dusanpetkovic

Source: smartasset.com

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Apache is functioning normally

June 1, 2023 by Brett Tams

A few weeks ago, I wrote about how I refinanced my mortgage for the second time in a year. The second refinance wasn’t actually part of my master plan, but I ended up having to refinance in order to remove my private mortgage insurance. And although refinancing our home again proved to be a huge pain, we are now saving $135 per month by no longer paying private mortgage insurance premiums.

Thankfully, we managed to secure a no-cost refinance that only cost us in time and effort. It’s a huge relief that the process is finally over, and I am fairly hopeful that this is the last time we will ever have to refinance.

Refinancing Has Its Perks

Luckily, I am no stranger to the benefits of refinancing. Not only did we refinance our primary residence, but we also refinanced our two rental homes within the past 18 months. We did so in order to take advantage of record low interest rates and to shorten the terms of their loans.

Now that we have refinanced our rental properties, they will be paid off much faster. In fact, our two rental properties are due to be paid off in about 13 years. Once they are completely paid off, we will then have another (somewhat) passive income stream and will be that much closer to our lifetime dream of early retirement.

Since I have refinanced properties so many times, I decided to write about some of the reasons that people choose to refinance. Like me, you may find that refinancing could save tens of thousands of dollars in interest and years of mortgage debt repayment. Unfortunately, it does take some effort to get the process started. However, the time and effort spent could easily be worth it depending on your situation. Here are some reasons that you may want to consider refinancing your home loan.

5 Reasons You May Want to Refinance

Refinance to shorten the term of your loan. If you have a 30-year mortgage, now may be a great time to consider refinancing. With record low interest rates, you may find that a 15-year mortgage is not much more expensive than the 30-year loan payment you have been paying.

Start by entering your information into a mortgage calculator to see what your new payment might be. If your new estimated payment is feasible, consider contacting a mortgage professional. (When we first refinanced our home from a 30-year mortgage at 5 percent to a 15-year mortgage at 3.25 percent, our payment only increased by about $200. Since the increase fit easily into our budget, the decision was a no-brainer.)

Refinance to lower your interest rate. As I mentioned before, interest rates are near a record low. And as I write this, 30-year mortgage rates are hovering above 3 percent and 15-year loans can be secured for an even lower rate. If your home is now financed at a higher interest rate, it may be a great time for you to consider refinancing. You could literally save tens of thousands of dollars just by taking the time to fill out the necessary paperwork and gather the needed documents.

Refinance to lower your payment. Refinancing your mortgage at a lower interest rate could mean drastically reducing your payment and saving tens of thousands of dollars in interest. Lowering your mortgage payment could also free up hundreds of dollars per month that could be saved or invested. Although refinancing to lower your payment could increase the term of your loan, it could make sense in your particular situation.

Refinance from an adjustable-rate mortgage to a fixed-rate loan. If you currently have an adjustable-rate mortgage, now may be the perfect time to refinance into a fixed-rate loan. Interest rates are low now, but they may not stay this low forever. Locking into a low, fixed rate can protect you from rising interest rates in coming years. Additionally, a fixed payment is easier to plan for and budget.

Refinance to cash out home equity. It’s a tempting proposition to cash out your home equity by refinancing your home. It could even be a great financial move in some circumstances. For instance, it may make sense to cash out some of your home equity in order to buy an investment property or start a business. It mostly depends on what you are trying to achieve and if you are someone who can manage your debts responsibly.

Can Refinancing Help You Meet Your Goals?

Before refinancing, consider what your goals really are. Do you want to lower your monthly mortgage payment? Do you want to pay off your mortgage and get out of debt faster? Only you can answer these questions.

It is also important to take all closing costs and fees into consideration. Depending on which new loan you choose, you may have to pay thousands of dollars in fees for your new mortgage. It may take several years to recoup the costs of refinancing, and it is important to identify your breakeven point. If you plan on moving in the near future, it may not make sense to refinance your home loan at all.

Do You Even Qualify For a Refinance?

Due to government-backed programs, you may be able to refinance your home even if you owe more than your home is worth. The Home Affordable Refinance Program, known as HARP, loosens requirements for traditional refinancing. According to MakingHomeAffordable.gov, your loan must meet several requirements in order to qualify:

  • The mortgage must be owned or guaranteed by Freddie Mac or Fannie Mae.
  • The mortgage must have been sold to Fannie Mae or Freddie Mac on or before May 31, 2009.
  • The mortgage cannot have been refinanced under HARP previously unless it is a Fannie Mae loan that was refinanced under HARP from March-May, 2009.
  • The current loan-to-value (LTV) ratio must be greater than 80%.
  • The borrower must be current on the mortgage at the time of the refinance, with a good payment history in the past 12 months.

Consider Refinancing Decisions Carefully

There are many things to consider before refinancing your mortgage. Most importantly, you should weigh the pros and cons of your particular situation and act according to your own best interest. With some thorough research and planning, refinancing your mortgage could turn out to be the best thing for your family and for your pocketbook. Have a look at the table below for the best mortgage rates.

Have you considered refinancing your mortgage? If so, why did you decide to refinance? If not, why haven’t you?

Source: getrichslowly.org

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Apache is functioning normally

May 31, 2023 by Brett Tams

Your debt-to-income ratio—the total of all your monthly expenses divided by your gross monthly income—is one of several factors that impact your mortgage rate, our experts say. Your debt-to-income ratio (DTI) determines the loans you can get and a higher DTI generally means you won’t get access to loans with lower mortgage rates.

“The better programs have thresholds with lower debt-to-income ratios. And better programs translate into better rates,” says Kevin Leibowitz, a mortgage broker at Grayton Mortgage.

Impact of DTI on buying choices

In New York City, co-op boards have their own DTI requirements for buyers, usually 22 to 24 percent. “Co-ops are usually stricter than banks when looking at DTI,” says Deanna Kory, a leading agent at Corcoran. 

Of course lenders are also assessing your financial viability. “Every bank has guidelines with regard to the maximum debt-to-income they allow in order to approve a loan,” says Melissa Cohn, regional vice president at William Raveis Mortgage.

When you’re shopping for a mortgage, a loan officer or mortgage broker will offer you a rate based on your borrowing profile. This includes your credit score, your down payment, whether you’re buying a condo, second home, or investment property, and whether the mortgage is a cash-out refinance. “All these factors are layered on top of each other and it becomes a decision-tree matrix,” Leibowitz says. 

Many lenders will allow for DTI ratios up to 50 percent but the terms available for the loans with a higher DTI are typically worse than those with lower DTI ratios. “Many adjustable and most jumbo lenders cap the maximum DTI at 43 percent in order to qualify,” Cohn says. If you are financing more than 80 percent and applying for private mortgage insurance (PMI), Cohn says the cost of the PMI increases with a higher DTI. 

Put another way—if you have a small down payment, a low credit score, and a high DTI, Leibowitz says, “either the programs are going to disappear or the programs that are available come with worse terms.”

For example, let’s say a condo buyer has a low credit score and a high DTI and they are putting 50 percent down on a $500,000 apartment. That’s not necessarily a bad loan for a lender, Leibowitz says. A buyer is unlikely to default on $250,000 of equity or cash they’ve just put down.

However a higher DTI might rule out access to a loan with a better rate, Leibowitz says. 

How to improve your DTI

One of the best ways to improve your DTI ratio is to limit or pay down any consumer-related debt. This might mean paying off your credit card debt, delaying a big purchase, holding off on a leasing arrangement for a new car, or setting up a loan repayment program for any student debt.

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Source: brickunderground.com

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Apache is functioning normally

May 27, 2023 by Brett Tams

If you own a second home or hold a high balance loan amount, you may want to refinance sooner rather than later. That’s assuming you were thinking of refinancing.

The same goes for those planning to purchase a second home or take out a mortgage with a high balance, which is a loan amount above the baseline conforming limit.

The conforming limit for 2022 is $647,200, so if your loan amount will be north of that, take note.

Fannie Mae and Freddie Mac are raising loan-level price adjustments (LLPAs) for both types of transactions come April 1st.

Depending on the details of your loan scenario, this could drastically increase your closing costs and/or mortgage rate.

Second Home Mortgages and High Balance Loans Going Up in Price

old llpas

In an effort to bolster its support for affordable housing and sustain equitable access to homeownership, the Federal Housing Finance Agency (FHFA) will be raising (LLPAs) for certain transactions.

These LLPAs get passed onto consumers in the form of either more expensive closing costs or higher mortgage rates.

As noted, they pertain to the financing of second homes, whether a purchase or refinance, and high-balance loans, those which exceed the conforming limit.

The idea here is that these types of home loans go toward more affluent individuals. And they also create more risk for Fannie Mae and Freddie Mac, which are backed by taxpayers.

After all, large loan amounts and vacation properties are more likely to default and/or create larger losses for the Enterprises.

And that could jeopardize the mission of Fannie and Freddie, which is mainly to provide affordable financing to first-time home buyers, as well as low- and moderate-income borrowers.

Looked at another way, these new fees will subsidize programs like HomeReady, Home Possible, HFA Preferred, and HFA Advantage, which provide cheaper financing to lower-income borrowers.

Speaking of, fees won’t be going up on those programs, or for first time home buyers in high-cost areas with incomes at/below 100 percent of area median income.

How Much More Expensive Will Mortgage Rates Be in April?

new llpas

Before you get too worried, the cost of these changes may be minimal, depending on the loan scenario in question.

For example, upfront fees for high balance loans will increase anywhere from 0.25% to 0.75%, depending on the loan-to-value (LTV) ratio.

If we’re talking about a loan amount of $750,000 on a primary residence, another .25% in fee is roughly $1,875.

This might move the dial on your 30-year fixed mortgage from 3.25% to 3.375%, or simply increase closing costs.

If that fee is .75% higher due to an LTV of 80%, we’re talking $5,625 in cost, which will more than likely increase your mortgage rate an eighth of a percent or more.

It’s not the end of the world, but it’s yet another thing working against homeowners and home buyers as mortgage rates have started off 2022 higher.

And they tend to peak during spring and early summer, which means financing will be that much more expensive.

The situation is even worse for second home buyers or owners, where pricing adjustments will increase anywhere from 1.125% to a staggering 3.875%.

Using our same loan amount of $750,000, even at a low LTV ratio, the increase in upfront costs could equate to around $10,300.

If we’re talking a high balance loan on a second home at 80% LTV, which isn’t out of the question, it’s an additional cost of about $31,000.

Again, depending on if you let the rate absorb these additional costs, you could be looking at a rate that’s .25% to .50% higher, or more.

Second Home Owners and Those with Large Loan Amounts Should Review Their Mortgages Now

If you believe these changes may affect you, it could be a good time to review your outstanding home loans.

The same goes for prospective home buyers thinking about purchasing an expensive property or a vacation home, which are en vogue due to COVID.

As illustrated above, these higher pricing adjustments have the ability to raise mortgage rates considerably. Or at the very least bump up your closing costs.

With home prices and mortgage rates also seemingly headed higher by spring, it could make sense to accelerate any refinance or home purchase plans to avoid these looming fees.

The FHFA said the new fees won’t go into effect until April 1, 2022 to “minimize market and pipeline disruption,” aka higher pricing for confused customers.

But watch out for mortgage lenders beginning to price in changes earlier on. Simply put, this is yet another reason to make any planned move sooner rather than later.

If you own an investment property, the same types of pricing changes might be on the horizon. So if you’re looking for better terms or cash out, now might be the time.

Source: thetruthaboutmortgage.com

Posted in: Mortgage News, Mortgage Rates, Renting Tagged: 2022, 30-year, 30-year fixed mortgage, About, affordable, affordable housing, All, balance, before, borrowers, buyers, closing, closing costs, Consumers, cost, covid, expensive, Fannie Mae, Fannie Mae and Freddie Mac, Federal Housing Finance Agency, Fees, FHFA, Finance, Financial Wize, FinancialWize, financing, first time home buyers, fixed, Freddie Mac, good, hold, home, home buyers, home loans, home prices, home purchase, homeowners, homeownership, homes, Housing, housing finance, in, Income, investment, investment property, lenders, LLPAs, loan, Loans, low, LOWER, Make, market, minimal, More, Mortgage, mortgage lenders, Mortgage News, MORTGAGE RATE, Mortgage Rates, Mortgages, Move, new, or, percent, Planning, plans, price, Prices, programs, property, Purchase, Raise, rate, Rates, Refinance, refinancing, Review, risk, second, second home, second homes, Spring, summer, time, vacation, vacation home, value, will, working
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